Minister Morneau Meets With Private Sector Economists

October 5, 2017 – Toronto, Ontario – Department of Finance Canada

Canada has the fastest growing economy among G7 nations, with second-quarter gross domestic product (GDP) growth hitting 4.5 per cent. The Government of Canada is committed to creating the conditions for all Canadians to succeed in a changing economy.

Through consultations and open dialogue with stakeholders across the country, and with the needs of families as our highest priority, the Government is building an economy that works for the middle class, and those working hard to join it.

Today in Toronto, Finance Minister Bill Morneau met with a group of Canada's leading private sector economists to gather their views on the Canadian and global economies.

The private sector economic forecasts have been used as the basis for fiscal planning since 1994. This practice, which is supported by the International Monetary Fund, ensures objectivity in the fiscal forecast.

Quick Facts

  • Canada's underlying economic and fiscal fundamentals remain sound: over the last four quarters, real GDP has grown at an average rate of 3.7 per cent—the strongest four-quarter period of expansion since 2006. The labour market has also been strong, with nearly 400,000 new jobs created in the last year.
  • The Government of Canada has taken significant steps towards helping families regain the confidence needed to help drive the economy forward. This includes cutting taxes for 9 million Canadians, introducing a new Canada Child Benefit, and strengthening the Canada Pension Plan so that future generations of workers can retire with dignity.
  • The Government is committed to sound fiscal management as it continues to make investments to support long-term economic growth and a strong middle class, while preserving Canada's low-debt advantage for current and future generations.

Quote

"The Government is taking a responsible approach to help grow the economy in a way that benefits the middle class and those working hard to join it. We are seeing positive signs that our plan is working and we will continue to invest in Canada's future, while supporting Canadian families today."

- Bill Morneau, Minister of Finance

Associated Links

Media may contact:

Chloé Luciani-Girouard
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
chloe.luciani-girouard@canada.ca
613-369-5699

Media Relations
Department of Finance Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

General enquiries

Phone: 613-369-3710
Facsimile: 613-369-4065
TTY: 613-369-3230
E-mail: fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Stay Connected

Le ministre Morneau rencontre des économistes du secteur privé

Le 5 octobre 2017 – Toronto (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances Canada

Le Canada affiche la croissance la plus rapide des pays du G7, son produit intérieur brut (PIB) ayant enregistré une progression de 4,5 % au deuxième trimestre. Le gouvernement entend réunir les conditions qui permettront à l'ensemble des Canadiennes et des Canadiens de réussir alors que l'économie est en pleine évolution.

En s'appuyant sur des consultations et sur un dialogue ouvert avec des intervenants provenant de l'ensemble du Canada et en faisant des besoins des familles sa priorité absolue, le gouvernement met en place une économie qui fonctionne pour la classe moyenne et pour ceux qui travaillent fort pour en faire partie.

Le ministre des Finances, Bill Morneau, a rencontré aujourd'hui à Toronto un groupe d'éminents économistes canadiens du secteur privé pour connaître leurs points de vue sur l'économie du pays et sur l'économie mondiale.

Depuis 1994, le gouvernement fonde sa planification budgétaire sur les prévisions économiques du secteur privé. Cette pratique, qui est appuyée par le Fonds monétaire international, assure l'objectivité des prévisions budgétaires.

Les faits en bref

  • Les facteurs économiques et budgétaires fondamentaux sous-jacents du Canada demeurent solides. Ainsi, au cours des quatre derniers trimestres, le PIB réel a affiché un taux de croissance moyen de 3,7 % – soit le taux le plus élevé sur quatre trimestres depuis 2006. Par ailleurs, le marché du travail a également enregistré une progression, près de 400 000 emplois ayant été créés.
  • Le gouvernement du Canada a pris d'importantes mesures en vue d'aider les familles à regagner la confiance nécessaire à la progression de notre économie. Ces mesures comprennent une réduction d'impôt pour 9 millions de Canadiens, l'instauration de la nouvelle Allocation canadienne pour enfants, et le renforcement du Régime de pensions du Canada afin que les prochaines générations de travailleurs puissent bénéficier d'une retraite digne.
  • Le gouvernement est résolu à gérer sainement les finances publiques alors qu'il poursuit ses investissements afin de soutenir une croissance économique durable ainsi qu'une classe moyenne forte, tout en préservant l'avantage que présente le faible niveau d'endettement du Canada pour les générations actuelle et future.

Citation

« Le gouvernement applique une approche responsable afin de contribuer à une croissance économique qui bénéficie à la classe moyenne et à ceux qui travaillent fort pour en faire partie. Nous observons des signes indiquant que notre plan fonctionne, et nous continuerons d'investir dans l'avenir du Canada tout en soutenant dès maintenant les familles canadiennes. »

- Bill Morneau, ministre des Finances

Liens connexes

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à :

Chloé Luciani-Girouard
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
chloe.luciani-girouard@canada.ca
613-369-5699

Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

Demandes de renseignements généraux

Téléphone : 613-369-3710
Télécopieur : 613-369-4065
Téléimprimeur : 613-369-3230
Courriel : fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Restez branchés