Jobs, Strong Economic Growth and Smart Investments Lead to Better Results

September 19, 2017 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance Canada

The Government of Canada is making investments that are creating jobs, growing the economy, and providing more opportunities for the middle class and those working hard to join it.

The Government's ambitious plan is working: 400,000 jobs have been created over the last year—the majority of them full-time. With the strongest real gross domestic product (GDP) growth seen in a decade, Canada now has the fastest-growing economy in the G7 countries.

The Department of Finance Canada today released the Annual Financial Report of the Government of Canada for 2016–17. The Government posted a budgetary deficit of $17.8 billion for the fiscal year that ended on March 31, 2017—markedly less than the $23.0 billion projected in Budget 2017, and $11.6 billion less than originally projected in Budget 2016.

The Government is committed to sound fiscal management as it continues to make investments to support long-term economic growth and a strong middle class, while preserving Canada's low-debt advantage for current and future generations.

Quick Facts

  • Revenues decreased by $2.0 billion, or 0.7 per cent, from 2015–16. Program expenses increased by $16.2 billion, or 6.0 per cent, reflecting increases in major transfers to persons, major transfers to other levels of government and other transfer payments. Public debt charges were down $1.3 billion, or 5.2 per cent, reflecting a lower average effective interest rate on the stock of interest-bearing debt.
  • The federal debt (the difference between total liabilities and total assets) stood at $631.9 billion at March 31, 2017. The federal debt-to-GDP ratio was 31.2 per cent—0.3 percentage points lower than projected in Budget 2017, and a full percentage point lower than originally projected in Budget 2016.
  • As reported by the International Monetary Fund (IMF), Canada's total government net debt-to-GDP ratio, which includes the net debt of the federal, provincial/territorial and local governments, as well as the net assets held in the Canada Pension Plan and Québec Pension Plan, stood at 27.6 per cent in 2016. This is the lowest level among G7 countries, which the IMF expects will record an average net debt of 83.0 per cent of GDP for the same year.
  • For the 19th consecutive year, the Government has received an unmodified audit opinion from the Auditor General of Canada on the consolidated financial statements.

Related Products

Media may contact:

Chloé Luciani-Girouard
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
chloe.luciani-girouard@canada.ca
613-369-5699

Media Relations
Department of Finance Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

General enquiries

Phone: 613-369-3710
Facsimile: 613-369-4065
TTY: 613-369-3230
E-mail: fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Stay Connected

L'emploi, la forte croissance économique et des investissements judicieux se traduisent par de meilleurs résultats

Le 19 septembre 2017 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances Canada

Le gouvernement du Canada effectue des investissements qui créent des emplois, stimulent l’économie et ouvrent des possibilités pour la classe moyenne et ceux qui travaillent fort pour en faire partie.

Le plan ambitieux du gouvernement fonctionne. En effet, au cours de la dernière année, 400 000 emplois ont été créés, la majorité étant des postes à plein temps. En enregistrant la progression la plus forte de son produit intérieur brut (PIB) réel depuis une décennie, le Canada affiche désormais la croissance la plus rapide des pays du G7.

Le ministère des Finances du Canada a rendu public aujourd’hui le Rapport financier annuel du gouvernement du Canada de 2016-2017. Pour l’exercice qui s’est terminé le 31 mars 2017, le déficit budgétaire s’établit à 17,8 milliards de dollars, soit un niveau bien en deçà des 23,0 milliards prévus dans le budget de 2017 et des 11,6 milliards prévus dans le budget de 2016.

Le gouvernement est résolu à gérer sainement les finances publiques alors qu’il poursuit ses investissements afin de soutenir une croissance économique durable ainsi qu’une classe moyenne forte, tout en préservant l’avantage que présente le faible niveau d’endettement du Canada pour les générations actuelles et futures.

Les faits en bref

  • Les revenus ont diminué de 2,0 milliards de dollars (0,7 %) par rapport à 2015–2016. Les charges de programmes ont augmenté de 16,2 milliards (6,0 %), en raison de l’augmentation des principaux paiements de transfert aux particuliers, des principaux paiements de transfert à d’autres paliers de gouvernement et des autres paiements de transfert. Les frais de la dette publique ont diminué de 1,3 milliard (5,2 %), en raison de la baisse du taux d’intérêt effectif moyen sur l’encours de la dette portant intérêt.
  • La dette fédérale (soit la différence entre le total des passifs et le total des actifs) s’établissait à 631,9 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2017. Le ratio de la dette fédérale au PIB était de 31,2 %, soit 0,3 point de pourcentage de moins que les prévisions établies dans le budget de 2017 et un point de pourcentage entier de moins que ce qui avait été prévu initialement dans le budget de 2016.
  • Comme l’a signalé le Fonds monétaire international (FMI), le ratio de la dette nette au PIB de l’ensemble des administrations publiques du Canada, qui inclut la dette nette des administrations fédérale, provinciales, territoriales et locales ainsi que les actifs nets détenus par le Régime de pensions du Canada et le Régime de rentes du Québec, s’établissait à 27,6 % en 2016. Il s’agit du niveau le plus faible parmi les pays du G7, qui, d’après les prévisions du FMI, devraient afficher une dette nette moyenne de 83,0 % du PIB pour cette même année.
  • Pour la 19e année consécutive, le gouvernement a reçu une opinion non modifiée du vérificateur général du Canada sur ses états financiers consolidés.

Produits connexes

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à :

Chloé Luciani-Girouard
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
chloe.luciani-girouard@canada.ca
613-369-5699

Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

Demandes de renseignements généraux

Téléphone : 613-369-3710
Télécopieur : 613-369-4065
Téléimprimeur : 613-369-3230
Courriel : fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Restez branchés