Canada and Mexico, Partners for Prosperity

September 14, 2017 – Mexico City, Mexico – Department of Finance Canada

Canada and Mexico enjoy one of the most productive relationships in the world, underpinned by strong people-to-people ties and a mutually beneficial trading relationship under the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA), which has helped to strengthen the middle class. Sharing more than a continent, the two partners share a common commitment to creating prosperity and making life better for their citizens.

Canada's Finance Minister, Bill Morneau, joined Mexico's Secretary of Finance, José Antonio Meade, in Mexico City today for discussions about shared priorities that will create jobs and deepen the relationship between our two countries. Part of these discussions involved strengthening NAFTA, which is being modernized by Canada, Mexico and the United States.

In his address to the Canada-Mexico Chamber of Commerce, Minister Morneau spoke about the benefits NAFTA has brought to people throughout North America, as well as the long history of cooperation between Canada and Mexico when it comes to trade, labour mobility, tourism and travel, education and cultural exchange, as well as empowering women and Indigenous Peoples.

Minister Morneau also met with representatives from government, business and the financial sector to strengthen relationships and discuss new opportunities for Canadians and exporters.

Minister Morneau highlighted the importance of fair, free and open trade, and Canada's plan to strengthen the global economy so that the benefits of growth are widely shared by the world's middle class and those working hard to join it.

Quote

"Canada and Mexico understand how important it is to have a productive and respectful relationship—one that allows for greater trade and mobility of people in support of stronger, more inclusive and more innovation-driven growth. As Canada continues down its path toward long-term growth for the middle class, investment, innovation and increasing global ties, we will hold our strong bilateral relationship with Mexico as an example of the shared prosperity we can achieve by working together for the benefit of our people."

- Bill Morneau, Minister of Finance

Quick Facts

For more than 70 years, Canada and Mexico have shared a vibrant relationship characterized by deep people-to-people ties, rich cultural connections and growing trade and investment. Our two countries work closely together in areas such as trade and investment, security, competitiveness and the environment to create a more integrated, sustainable and globally competitive North American economy:

  • As a result of NAFTA, Canada's commercial relationship with Mexico is strong and growing. Just last year, we reached a milestone with bilateral merchandise trade totalling C$40.8 billion.
  • Through the annual Canada-Mexico Partnership, we are encouraging even more collaboration between our public and private sectors in areas such as: energy; agri-business; labour mobility; human capital; trade, investment and innovation; environment; mining; and forestry.
  • These efforts have resulted in Canadian direct investment in Mexico totalling roughly $17 billion (stock) in 2016, while Mexican direct investment in Canada is nearly $2 billion (stock).

Related Product

Media may contact:

Chloé Luciani-Girouard
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
chloe.luciani-girouard@canada.ca
613-369-5699

Media Relations
Department of Finance Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

General Enquiries

Phone: 613-369-3710
Facsimile: 613-369-4065
TTY: 613-369-3230
E-mail: fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Stay Connected

Le Canada et le Mexique : Partenaires dans la prospérité

Le 14 septembre 2017 – Mexico, Mexique – Ministère des Finances Canada

Le Canada et le Mexique entretiennent l'une des relations les plus productives dans le monde, fondée sur des liens personnels solides et sur une relation commerciale mutuellement avantageuse dans le cadre de l'Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALENA), qui a aidé à renforcer la classe moyenne. En plus d'un continent, les deux partenaires partagent un engagement à assurer la prospérité de leurs citoyens et à améliorer leur qualité de vie.

Le ministre des Finances du Canada, Bill Morneau, s'est joint au ministre des Finances du Mexique, José Antonio Meade, à Mexico aujourd'hui pour tenir des discussions à propos des priorités communes qui mèneront à la création d'emplois et permettront d'approfondir la relation entre les deux pays. Ces discussions ont notamment porté sur le renforcement de l'ALENA, qui est en train d'être modernisé par le Canada, le Mexique et les États-Unis.

Dans une allocution à la Chambre de commerce canado-mexicaine, le ministre Morneau a parlé des avantages que l'ALENA a apportés aux gens d'un bout à l'autre de l'Amérique du Nord, ainsi que des longs antécédents de collaboration entre le Canada et le Mexique dans les domaines du commerce, de la mobilité de la main-d'œuvre, du tourisme et des voyages, de l'éducation et des échanges culturels, ainsi que de l'habilitation des femmes et des Autochtones.

Le ministre Morneau a également rencontré des représentants du gouvernement, du milieu des affaires et du secteur financier afin de renforcer les relations et de discuter de nouvelles possibilités pour les Canadiens et les exportateurs.

Le ministre Morneau a souligné l'importance du commerce équitable, libre et ouvert, de même que le plan du Canada pour renforcer l'économie mondiale de telle sorte que les avantages de la croissance soient partagés à grande échelle par la classe moyenne de la planète et ceux qui travaillent fort pour en faire partie.

Citation

« Le Canada et le Mexique comprennent combien il est important d'entretenir une relation productive et respectueuse – une relation qui favorise l'augmentation du commerce et de la mobilité des personnes pour soutenir une croissance plus forte, plus inclusive et plus axée sur l'innovation. Au fur et à mesure que le Canada continue sur la voie de la croissance à long terme pour la classe moyenne, l'investissement, l'innovation et le resserrement des liens à l'échelle mondiale, nous citerons notre relation bilatérale solide avec le Mexique comme un exemple de la prospérité partagée que nous pouvons atteindre en travaillant ensemble au profit de nos populations. »

- Bill Morneau, ministre des Finances

Les faits en bref

Depuis plus de 70 ans, le Canada et le Mexique partagent une relation dynamique caractérisée par des liens personnels profonds, des liens culturels riches et la croissance du commerce et de l'investissement. Les deux pays travaillent en étroite collaboration dans des domaines comme le commerce et l'investissement, la sécurité, la compétitivité et l'environnement afin de créer une économie nord-américaine plus intégrée, durable et mondialement compétitive :

  • Grâce à l'ALENA, la relation commerciale du Canada avec le Mexique est solide et croissante. L'année dernière, nos échanges bilatéraux de marchandises ont franchi un seuil important, atteignant 40,8 milliards de dollars canadiens au total.
  • Au moyen de la rencontre annuelle du Partenariat Canada-Mexique, nous encourageons une plus grande collaboration entre les secteurs public et privé des deux pays dans des domaines comme l'énergie, l'agroentreprise, la mobilité de la main-d'œuvre, le capital humain, le commerce, l'investissement et l'innovation, l'environnement, l'exploitation minière et la foresterie.
  • Ces efforts ont mené à un stock d'investissements canadiens directs au Mexique totalisant environ 17 milliards de dollars en 2016, et un stock d'investissements mexicains directs au Canada de près de 2 milliards de dollars.

Produit connexe

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à :

Chloé Luciani-Girouard
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
chloe.luciani-girouard@canada.ca
613-369-5699

Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

Demandes de renseignements généraux

Téléphone : 613-369-3710
Télécopieur : 613-369-4065
Téléimprimeur : 613-369-3230
Courriel : fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Restez branchés