Department of Finance Canada Launches Second Stage of Consultations on Federal Financial Sector Framework

August 11, 2017 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance Canada

The Government of Canada is committed to supporting a well-functioning financial services sector that will grow the economy, strengthen the middle class and create good, well-paying jobs.

Today, the Department of Finance Canada launched the second stage of consultations on the renewal of the federal financial sector legislative and regulatory framework prior to the statutory sunset date of March 29, 2019.

Recognizing that the foundational elements of the current framework are sound, the Department is seeking views on potential policy measures to support a competitive and innovative sector, to modernize the legislative framework, and to safeguard a stable and resilient sector.

The second consultation paper, released today, takes into account the comments and recommendations received from stakeholders through the first stage of consultations, the trends and emerging issues that are actively reshaping the sector, as well as the needs of its users. It builds on the consultation paper released on August 26, 2016, which laid out the landscape of Canada's financial sector and identified key trends that may influence it moving forward.

Interested individuals or organizations are invited to review the consultation document at the link below. Submissions should be submitted by September 29, 2017. The Department of Finance may share these submissions with federal financial sector regulatory agencies to facilitate their review.

Consultation Document

Related Product

Media may contact:

Chloé Luciani-Girouard
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
chloe.luciani-girouard@canada.ca
613-369-5699

Media Relations
Department of Finance Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

General enquiries

Phone: 613-369-3710
Facsimile: 613-369-4065
TTY: 613-369-3230
E-mail: fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Stay Connected

Le ministère des Finances du Canada amorce la deuxième étape des consultations sur le cadre fédéral régissant le secteur financier

Le 11 août 2017 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances Canada

Le gouvernement du Canada est déterminé à soutenir un secteur des services financiers qui fonctionne bien et qui alimente la croissance de l'économie, renforce la classe moyenne et crée de bons emplois bien rémunérés.

Aujourd'hui, le ministère des Finances du Canada a amorcé la deuxième étape des consultations en vue du renouvellement du cadre législatif et réglementaire fédéral régissant le secteur financier avant la date limite du 29 mars 2019 fixée dans la loi par des dispositions de temporisation.

Reconnaissant que les éléments fondamentaux du cadre actuel sont solides, le Ministère sollicite des avis sur des mesures stratégiques possibles visant à favoriser la compétitivité et l'innovation au sein du secteur financier, à moderniser le cadre législatif et à protéger la stabilité et la résilience du secteur.

Le deuxième document de consultation, publié aujourd'hui, tient compte des recommandations et des commentaires reçus des intervenants dans la première étape des consultations. Il prend aussi en considération les tendances et les enjeux émergents qui façonnent le secteur, ainsi que les besoins des utilisateurs. Le document s'appuie sur le document de consultation publié le 26 août 2016, qui présentait le contexte du secteur financier canadien et énumérait les principales tendances qui pourraient influer sur le secteur.

Les particuliers et les organisations intéressés sont invités à examiner le document de consultation dont le lien se trouve ci-dessous. Toutes les observations doivent être transmises d'ici le 29 septembre 2017. Le ministère des Finances pourrait communiquer ces observations aux organismes fédéraux de réglementation du secteur financier dans le but d'en faciliter l'examen.

Document de consultation

Produit connexe

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à :

Chloé Luciani-Girouard
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
chloe.luciani-girouard@canada.ca
613-369-5699

Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

Demandes de renseignements généraux

Téléphone : 613-369-3710
Télécopieur : 613-369-4065
Téléimprimeur : 613-369-3230
Courriel : fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Restez branchés