Minister Morneau Takes Canada's Plan for a Strong Middle Class Plan to Saskatchewan

July 27, 2017 – Regina, Saskatchewan – Department of Finance Canada

The Government of Canada is making smart investments that lead to shared growth and create opportunities and jobs for the middle class and those working hard to join it.

Finance Minister Bill Morneau attended the 38th Annual General Assembly of the Assembly of First Nations (AFN), where he met with National Chief Perry Bellegarde and members of the Chief's Committee on Fiscal Relations to reiterate the Government's commitment to reconciliation and partnership with Indigenous peoples and communities.

The Government has taken important first steps towards reconciliation through the historic investments in a range of critical areas, notably infrastructure and health care. As a result of Budget 2016 and Budget 2017 investments, federal government spending on programs for First Nations, Inuit and Métis in Canada will increase 27 per cent to over $14 billion in 2021–22.

The Minister also visited the University of Regina where he highlighted the Government's support for post-secondary education so that students can be equipped with the skills they need in the emerging economy. Budget 2017 invested an additional $90 million over two years to the Post-Secondary Student Support Program to better assist Indigenous students.

These efforts contribute to the Government's ambitious plan to build a stronger middle class through tax fairness, and through investments in people (tax cuts for the middle class, the Canada Child Benefit, education, and skills training), in our communities (housing, roads, bridges and green infrastructure) and in our economy (innovation, smart cities and digital). The Government is working to create middle class jobs and more opportunities to succeed in the economy of tomorrow.

Quote

"The Government's economic plan is having a real, positive impact on people's lives. In the last twelve months, the Canadian economy has created more than 300,000 new jobs, the majority of them full-time, and our unemployment rate has dropped to 6.5%. As our economy grows, we need to ensure that our success is shared, including with First Nations, Inuit and Métis communities. That's why the Government is determined to make a real difference in the lives of Indigenous Peoples – by closing socio-economic gaps, supporting greater self-determination, and helping Indigenous Peoples get the skills and work experience they need to succeed."

– Bill Morneau, Minister of Finance

Associated Links

Media may contact:

Chloé Luciani-Girouard
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
chloe.luciani-girouard@canada.ca
613-369-5699

Media Relations
Department of Finance Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

General enquiries

Phone: 613-369-3710
Facsimile: 613-369-4065
TTY: 613-369-3230
E-mail: fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Stay Connected

Le ministre Morneau présente à la Saskatchewan le plan du Canada visant à renforcer la classe moyenne

Le 27 juillet 2017 – Regina (Saskatchewan) – Ministère des Finances Canada

Le gouvernement du Canada effectue des investissements judicieux qui mènent à une croissance partagée et créent des possibilités et des emplois pour la classe moyenne et ceux qui travaillent fort pour en faire partie.

Le ministre des Finances, Bill Morneau, a participé à la 38e Assemblée générale annuelle de l'Assemblée des Premières Nations (APN), où il a rencontré le chef national Perry Bellegarde et les membres du comité des chefs sur les relations financières afin de réitérer l'engagement du gouvernement envers la réconciliation et le partenariat avec les peuples et les collectivités autochtones.

Le gouvernement a fait les premiers pas importants en vue de la réconciliation grâce à des investissements historiques dans un ensemble de secteurs critiques, notamment l'infrastructure et les soins de santé. En raison des investissements du budget de 2016 et de 2017, les dépenses du gouvernement fédéral pour les Premières Nations, les Inuits et les Métis au Canada augmenteront de 27 % pour atteindre plus de 14 milliards de dollars en 2021-2022.

Le ministre a aussi visité l'Université de Regina, où il a souligné le soutien du gouvernement pour l'enseignement postsecondaire afin que les étudiantes et les étudiants puissent acquérir les compétences dont ils ont besoin dans l'économie émergente. Le budget de 2017 a investi 90 millions de dollars de plus sur deux ans dans le Programme d'aide aux étudiants de niveau postsecondaire afin de mieux aider les étudiants autochtones.

Ces efforts enrichissent le plan ambitieux du gouvernement visant à renforcer la classe moyenne grâce à l'équité fiscale et grâce à des investissements dans les personnes ( baisses d'impôts pour la classe moyenne, l'Allocation canadienne pour enfants, l'éducation et la formation axée sur les compétences), dans nos collectivités (logement, routes, ponts et infrastructure verte) et dans notre économie (innovation, villes intelligentes et numériques). Le gouvernement s'efforce de créer des emplois pour la classe moyenne et davantage de possibilités de réussir dans l'économie de demain.

Citation

« Le plan économique du gouvernement a une incidence concrète et positive dans la vie des gens. Au cours des douze derniers mois, l'économie canadienne a créé plus de 300 000 nouveaux emplois, dont la majorité est à temps plein, et notre taux de chômage a chuté à 6,5 %. Au fur et à mesure que notre économie croît, nous devons veiller à partager notre réussite, notamment avec les collectivités des Premières Nations, inuites et métisses. C'est pourquoi le gouvernement est déterminé à faire une véritable différence dans la vie des Autochtones – en éliminant les écarts socioéconomiques, en appuyant une plus grande autodétermination et en aidant les Autochtones à acquérir les compétences et l'expérience de travail dont ils ont besoin pour réussir. »

– Bill Morneau, ministre des Finances

Liens connexes

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à :

Chloé Luciani-Girouard
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
chloe.luciani-girouard@canada.ca
613-369-5699

Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

Demandes de renseignements généraux

Téléphone : 613-369-3710
Télécopieur : 613-369-4065
Téléimprimeur : 613-369-3230
Courriel : fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Restez branchés