Minister Morneau Takes Canada's Plan for a Strong Middle Class Plan to PEI

July 26, 2017 – Malpeque, PEI – Department of Finance Canada

The Government of Canada is making smart investments that lead to shared growth and create opportunities and jobs for the middle class and those working hard to join it.

The Government's ambitious plan will build a stronger middle class through investments in people (a tax cut for the middle class, the Canada Child Benefit, education, and skills training), in our communities (housing, roads, bridges and green infrastructure) and in our economy (innovation, smart cities and digital). The Government is working to create middle class jobs and more opportunities to succeed in the economy of tomorrow.

While visiting Prince Edward Island, Minister Morneau visited Crasdale Farms in Hunter River, where he spoke about the Government's plan to position Canada's agriculture and agri-food sector to take full advantage of innovative new approaches, helping create new jobs and contributing to economic growth.

The fishing industry is an important part of the Canadian culture and economy and small craft harbours are crucial to the fishing industry. In Budget 2016, the Government invested $149 million over two years for small craft harbour infrastructure improvements and Budget 2017 provided an additional $5 million.

Minister Morneau also visited a local wharf in Stanley Bridge where he spoke about the importance of the fishing industry to Canada's culture and economy, as well as the Government's ongoing efforts to support innovative approaches, protecting marine ecosystems so that the industry remains sustainable, and creating jobs.

Minister Morneau met with his provincial counterpart, the Hon. Allen F. Roach, the Minister of Finance for Prince Edward Island on the sidelines of his visit.

Minister Morneau also spoke about new action to improve the fairness of Canada's tax system, closing tax loopholes and amending existing rules so that people in similar circumstances pay similar amounts of tax.  This work includes the launch of a public consultation paper last week in Ottawa, relating to tax planning strategies involving the use of private corporations; strategies that can result in high-income individuals gaining tax advantages that are not available to other Canadians.

Quote

"The Government of Canada is committed to building a strong middle class and growing the economy over the long term. Our plan is having a real, positive impact on people's lives. In the past year, more than 300,000 jobs have been created and the unemployment rate has fallen to its lowest point in nearly a decade.  We have every reason to capitalize on this momentum, and to ensure that Canada's future for our children and grandchildren is a bright one."

- Bill Morneau, Minister of Finance

Associated Links

Media may contact:

Chloé Luciani-Girouard
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
chloe.luciani-girouard@canada.ca
613-369-5699

Media Relations
Department of Finance Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

General enquiries

Phone: 613-369-3710
Facsimile: 613-369-4065
TTY: 613-369-3230
E-mail: fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Stay Connected

Le ministre Morneau présente le plan du Canada visant à renforcer la classe moyenne à l'Île-du-Prince-Edouard

Le 26 juillet 2017 – Malpeque (Î.-P.-É.) – Ministère des Finances Canada

Le gouvernement du Canada effectue des investissements judicieux qui mènent à une croissance partagée et créent des possibilités et des emplois pour la classe moyenne et ceux qui travaillent fort pour en faire partie.

Le plan ambitieux du gouvernement renforcera la classe moyenne grâce à des investissements dans les personnes (une baisse d'impôt pour la classe moyenne, l'Allocation canadienne pour enfants, l'éducation et la formation axée sur les compétences), dans nos collectivités (logement, routes, ponts et infrastructure verte) et dans notre économie (innovation, villes intelligentes et numériques). Le gouvernement s'efforce de créer des emplois pour la classe moyenne et davantage de possibilités de réussir dans l'économie de demain.

Pendant son passage à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard, le ministre Morneau a visité les fermes Crasdale à Hunter River, où il a parlé du plan du gouvernement visant à donner au secteur agricole et agroalimentaire du Canada les moyens de tirer le maximum de nouvelles approches novatrices et à contribuer à créer de nouveaux emplois et à assurer la croissance économique.

L'industrie de la pêche constitue une partie importante de la culture et de l'économie canadiennes, et les ports pour petits bateaux sont essentiels à l'industrie de la pêche. Dans le budget de 2016, le gouvernement avait investi 149 millions de dollars sur deux ans pour des améliorations à l'infrastructure des ports pour petits bateaux. Dans le budget de 2017, il a prévu 5 millions de dollars supplémentaires.

Le ministre Morneau a également visité un quai local à Stanley Bridge. Il a alors parlé de l'importance de l'industrie de la pêche pour la culture et l'économie canadiennes. Il a aussi évoqué les efforts en cours du gouvernement qui visent à appuyer des approches novatrices et à protéger les écosystèmes marins de telle sorte que l'industrie demeure viable et que l'on y crée des emplois.

En marge de sa visite, le ministre Morneau a rencontré son homologue provincial, l'honorable Allen F. Roach, ministre des Finances de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard.

Le ministre Morneau a aussi parlé de nouvelles mesures pour améliorer l'équité du régime fiscal du Canada, éliminer les échappatoires fiscales et modifier les règles existantes de telle sorte que les personnes aux circonstances semblables paient des montants d'impôt semblables. Ces efforts comprennent le dévoilement d'un document de consultation publique, la semaine passée à Ottawa, lié aux stratégies de planification fiscale au moyen de sociétés privées; stratégies qui peuvent faire en sorte que des particuliers à revenu élevé profitent d'avantages fiscaux auxquels les autres Canadiennes et Canadiens n'ont pas accès.

Citation

« Le gouvernement du Canada est déterminé à bâtir une classe moyenne forte et à assurer la croissance de l'économie de façon durable. Notre plan a une incidence réelle et positive sur la vie des gens. Au cours de la dernière année, plus de 300 000 emplois ont été créés et le taux de chômage a baissé pour atteindre son plus bas niveau en presque 10 ans. Nous avons toutes les raisons de poursuivre sur cette lancée et de nous assurer que l'avenir du Canada est brillant pour nos enfants et nos petits-enfants. »

- Bill Morneau, ministre des Finances

Liens connexes

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à :

Chloé Luciani-Girouard
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
chloe.luciani-girouard@canada.ca
613-369-5699

Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

Demandes de renseignements généraux

Téléphone : 613-369-3710
Télécopieur : 613-369-4065
Téléimprimeur : 613-369-3230
Courriel : fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Restez branchés