Finance Minister Bill Morneau Welcomes United States Secretary of the Treasury Steven Mnuchin on First Visit to Canada

June 9, 2017 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance Canada

Canada and the United States have one of the strongest partnerships between any two nations—one that is built on common geography, history and culture, and mutual respect. The Canada-U.S. relationship is a model for the world: it is balanced and fair, and it supports growth, innovation, and well-paying jobs for the middle class in both countries.

Today, Finance Minister Bill Morneau welcomed his counterpart, U.S. Treasury Secretary Steven Mnuchin, on his first visit to Canada as Secretary. Building on previous face-to-face meetings in Washington and abroad, the two had a very productive discussion about shared priorities that will create jobs and deepen the economic relationship between our two countries.

Earlier today, Secretary Mnuchin joined Minister Morneau at a roundtable discussion with Canadian Cabinet Ministers and other parliamentarians, where they discussed ways to enhance collaboration and discussion on shared priorities, including the upcoming negotiations on the North American Free Trade Agreement, the ongoing negotiations on softwood lumber, maintaining the security of our shared border, enhancing our trade corridors, investing in infrastructure, the importance of services trade, strengthening anti-money laundering and anti-terrorist financing regimes, and addressing issues related to cyber security. Canadian Ministers also reiterated Canada’s commitment to taking action on climate change and promoting clean economic growth, and discussed highly integrated industries, including steel, which bring jobs and benefits to both countries.

Later, Secretary Mnuchin joined Minister Morneau at a roundtable hosted by the Business Council of Canada on the strong Canada-U.S. economic relationship, including the important goal of empowering women to build a more diverse and thriving economy.

Minister Morneau also held a bilateral discussion with Secretary Mnuchin on a range of economic issues of mutual interest to both countries, including the importance of fair, free and open trade. Millions of people on both sides of the border depend on the strength of the Canada-United States partnership. Minister Morneau and Secretary Mnuchin reaffirmed their commitment to open dialogue and collaboration to achieve their shared objective of strengthening the middle class in both Canada and the United States.

Quote

“Canada’s plan for long-term prosperity and a strong middle class puts partnerships like the one we enjoy with the United States front and centre. Together, we benefit from relatively seamless, integrated economies that support millions of Canadian and American jobs. I want to thank Secretary Mnuchin for his visit, and for his commitment to keeping the Canada-U.S. relationship strong.”

- Bill Morneau, Minister of Finance

Quick Facts

  • Canada and the United States share a longstanding relationship, through people-to-people ties and a strong trading and investment relationship:
    • Nearly 9 million American jobs are dependent on trade and investment with Canada.
    • Canada and the U.S. have the largest, two-way, balanced trading relationship in the world, reaching nearly $882 billion in 2016.
    • Every day, more than $2.4 billion worth of goods and services and 400,000 people cross the Canada-U.S. border.
    • Canada is the number one market for most U.S. states, and is among the top three customers for 48 of them. 
    • Canada and the U.S. benefit from a highly integrated manufacturing sector, with products crossing the border several times before final assembly and sale in both countries.
    • Capital flows are balanced, with the U.S. stock of direct investment totalling half of all foreign direct investment (FDI) in Canada and Canadian direct investment one of the main sources of FDI into the United States. In 2016, Canadian stock investment in the U.S. was over $474 billion, accounting for 45% of Canadian investment abroad.

Roundtable Discussion: List of Attendees

  • U.S. Treasury Secretary Steven Mnuchin
  • Elizabeth Moore Aubin, Chargé d’Affaires of the U.S. Embassy to Canada
  • Minister of Finance Bill Morneau
  • Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness Ralph Goodale
  • Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development Navdeep Bains
  • Minister of Small Business and Tourism Bardish Chagger
  • Minister of Foreign Affairs Chrystia Freeland
  • Minister of Transport Marc Garneau
  • Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Foreign Affairs (Canada-U.S. Relations) Andrew Leslie
  • Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Finance Ginette Petitpas Taylor
  • Ambassador to the U.S. David MacNaughton
  • Member of Parliament Wayne Easter

Related Products

Media may contact:

Annie Donolo
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
annie.donolo@canada.ca
613-769-7187

Media Relations
Department of Finance Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

General enquiries

Phone: 613-369-3710
Facsimile: 613-369-4065
TTY: 613-369-3230
E-mail: fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Stay Connected

Le ministre des Finances, Bill Morneau, accueille le secrétaire du Trésor des États-Unis, Steven Mnuchin, à l'occasion de sa première visite au Canada

Le 9 juin 2017 - Ottawa (Ontario) - Ministère des Finances Canada

Le Canada et les États-Unis ont tissé l'un des partenariats les plus solides qui existent entre deux pays – un partenariat qui est fondé sur une géographie, une histoire et une culture communes et un respect mutuel. La relation entre le Canada et les États-Unis représente un modèle pour le monde entier : elle est équilibrée et équitable, et elle favorise la croissance, l'innovation et des emplois bien rémunérés pour la classe moyenne dans les deux pays.

Aujourd'hui, le ministre des Finances, Bill Morneau, a accueilli son homologue des États-Unis, le secrétaire du Trésor, Steven Mnuchin, à l'occasion de sa première visite au Canada en tant que secrétaire. Poursuivant la dynamique des réunions en personne précédentes qu'ils avaient tenues à Washington et dans d'autres pays, les deux ministres ont eu une discussion très fructueuse sur les priorités communes qui permettront de créer des emplois et d'approfondir la relation économique entre les deux pays.

Plus tôt aujourd'hui, le secrétaire Mnuchin s'est joint au ministre Morneau à l'occasion d'une discussion en table ronde avec des ministres fédéraux canadiens et d'autres parlementaires. Les participants ont discuté de moyens de renforcer la collaboration et les discussions concernant les priorités communes, notamment les négociations à venir sur l'Accord de libre-échange nord-américain, les négociations en cours sur le bois d'œuvre résineux, le maintien de la sécurité à notre frontière commune, l'amélioration de nos corridors commerciaux, l'investissement dans l'infrastructure, l'importance du commerce des services, le renforcement des régimes de lutte contre le blanchiment d'argent et le financement d'activités terroristes, et la résolution de questions liées à la cybersécurité. Les ministres du Canada ont également réitéré l'engagement du Canada à prendre des mesures pour lutter contre les changements climatiques et promouvoir une croissance économique propre. Ils ont aussi discuté de secteurs fortement intégrés, notamment celui de l'acier, qui génèrent des emplois et des avantages pour les deux pays.

Plus tard dans la journée, le secrétaire Mnuchin s'est joint au ministre Morneau à l'occasion d'une autre table ronde, organisée par le Conseil canadien des affaires, sur la solide relation économique entre le Canada et les États-Unis, y compris l'important objectif de donner aux femmes les moyens de contribuer à une économie plus diversifiée et plus prospère.

Le ministre Morneau a également tenu une discussion bilatérale avec le secrétaire Mnuchin à propos d'un éventail de questions économiques d'intérêt mutuel pour les deux pays, y compris l'importance du commerce équitable, libre et ouvert. Des millions de personnes des deux côtés de la frontière dépendent de la vigueur du partenariat entre le Canada et les États-Unis. Le ministre Morneau et le secrétaire Mnuchin ont affirmé de nouveau leur engagement à maintenir un dialogue ouvert et de collaborer en vue d'atteindre l'objectif commun consistant à renforcer la classe moyenne au Canada et aux États-Unis.

Citation

« Le plan du Canada pour une prospérité durable et une classe moyenne forte place les partenariats comme celui dont nous bénéficions avec les États-Unis au cœur de nos priorités. Ensemble, nous tirons parti d'économies nationales bien intégrées, qui soutiennent des millions d'emplois dans les deux pays. Je tiens à remercier le secrétaire Mnuchin de sa visite et de son engagement de maintenir une relation canado-américaine forte. »

Bill Morneau, ministre des Finances

Les faits en bref

  • Le Canada et les États-Unis entretiennent une relation de longue date, au moyen de liens personnels et d'une relation solide en matière de commerce et d'investissement :
    • Près de 9 millions d'emplois américains dépendent des liens commerciaux et d'investissement avec le Canada.
    • Le Canada et les États-Unis ont la plus importante relation commerciale bilatérale équilibrée de la planète, les échanges entre les deux pays se chiffrant à près de 882 milliards de dollars canadiens en 2016.
    • Plus de 400 000 personnes, et des biens et des services totalisant plus de 2,4 milliards de dollars, traversent la frontière canado-américaine chaque jour.
    • Le Canada constitue le premier marché en importance pour une majorité d'États américains, il se classe parmi les trois premiers clients de 48 d'entre eux. 
    • Le Canada et les États-Unis tirent parti d'un secteur de la fabrication fortement intégré, et certains produits traversent la frontière plusieurs fois avant l'assemblage final et la vente dans les deux pays.
    • Les flux de capitaux entre les deux pays sont équilibrés : au Canada, le stock d'investissements directs américains représente la moitié du total des investissements directs étrangers, alors qu'aux États-Unis, les investissements directs canadiens constituent l'une des principales sources d'investissements directs étrangers. En 2016, le stock d'investissements canadiens aux États-Unis s'établissait à plus de 474 milliards de dollars, ce qui représentait 45 % des investissements canadiens à l'étranger.

Liste des participants à la table ronde

  • Le secrétaire du Trésor des États-Unis, Steven Mnuchin
  • La chargée d'affaires de l'ambassade des États-Unis au Canada, Elizabeth Moore Aubin
  • Le ministre des Finances, Bill Morneau
  • Le ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile, Ralph Goodale
  • Le ministre de l'Innovation, des Sciences et du Développement économique, Navdeep Bains
  • La ministre de la Petite Entreprise et du Tourisme, Bardish Chagger
  • La ministre des Affaires étrangères, Chrystia Freeland
  • Le ministre des Transports, Marc Garneau
  • Le secrétaire parlementaire de la ministre des Affaires étrangères (Relations canado-américaines), Andrew Leslie
  • La secrétaire parlementaire du ministre des Finances, Ginette Petitpas Taylor
  • L'ambassadeur du Canada aux États-Unis, David MacNaughton
  • Le député fédéral Wayne Easter

Produits connexes

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à :

Annie Donolo
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
annie.donolo@canada.ca
613-769-7187

Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

Demandes de renseignements généraux

Téléphone : 613-369-3710
Télécopieur : 613-369-4065
Téléimprimeur : 613-369-3230
Courriel : fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Restez branchés