Government of Canada Celebrates Bank Note Marking 150 Years of Confederation and Holds Infrastructure Roundtable

May 23, 2017 – Toronto, Ontario – Department of Finance Canada

The Government of Canada knows that our economy and country are stronger because of our diversity and because of the contributions from fearless, inspiring Canadians.

Today, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Finance Ginette Petitpas Taylor met with students at Leaside High School to celebrate the new Canada 150 commemorative $10 bank note, which will feature inspiring Canadians Agnes Macphail and James Gladstone or Akay-na-muka, alongside Sir John A. Macdonald, Canada's first Prime Minister, and Sir George-Étienne Cartier, a Father of Confederation. Parliamentary Secretary Petitpas Taylor was joined by the Chief Operating Officer of the Bank of Canada, Filipe Dinis, and Member of Parliament Rob Oliphant.

Upon circulation next week, the commemorative note will mark the first time that a Canadian woman and an Indigenous Canadian are depicted as portrait subjects on a Bank of Canada bank note.

Starting on June 1, the Bank of Canada will issue 40 million of these commemorative bank notes and distribute them through financial institutions to be broadly available across Canada by July 1.

Earlier today, Parliamentary Secretary Petitpas Taylor held a roundtable discussion at the Northern Dancer Pavilion of the Canadian Film Centre on Budget 2017, the Government's ambitious plan to support middle class Canadians at every stage of their lives, transform our neighbourhoods and communities, and give every Canadian a real and fair chance at success.

Quotes

"As we celebrate Canada 150, we are reminded of what makes us who we are—we are strong because of our diversity and not in spite of it. On behalf of the Government of Canada, I thank Governor Poloz and the Bank of Canada for their contribution to this truly national celebration. I was also pleased to discuss the Government's plans to make our cities more dynamic and competitive, and to drive economic growth. Meeting with Canadians during roundtables reaffirms my belief that our plan to strengthen the middle class is having a positive impact and will drive Canada's economy forward."

- Ginette Petitpas Taylor, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Finance

"The Bank of Canada is proud to have produced this special note commemorating Canada's 150th anniversary. We have only ever produced three other such bank notes in our 82-year history. This bank note is unique and reminds us of how much we have to celebrate as Canadians as we look forward to charting our shared future."

- Filipe Dinis, Chief Operating Officer, Bank of Canada

Related Products

Media may contact:

Marion Pilon-Cousineau
Office of the Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Finance
Marion.Pilon-Cousineau@Canada.ca
613-369-5696

Media Relations
Department of Finance Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

General enquiries

Phone: 613-369-3710
Facsimile: 613-369-4065
TTY: 613-369-3230
E-mail: fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Stay Connected

Le gouvernement du Canada fait la promotion du billet de banque qui célèbre le 150e anniversaire de la Confédération et tient une table ronde sur l'infrastructure

Le 23 mai 2017 – Toronto (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances Canada

Le gouvernement du Canada sait que notre économie et notre pays sont plus forts grâce à notre diversité et à la contribution de Canadiennes et de Canadiens courageux et inspirants.

Aujourd'hui, la secrétaire parlementaire du ministre des Finances, Ginette Petitpas Taylor, a rencontré des élèves à l'école secondaire Leaside pour faire la promotion du nouveau billet de banque de 10 $ qui célèbre le 150e anniversaire du Canada. Des Canadiens inspirants figureront sur ce billet de banque, dont Agnes Macphail et James Gladstone ou Akay-na-muka, ainsi que Sir John A. Macdonald, le premier premier ministre du Canada, et Sir George-Étienne Cartier, un des Pères de la Confédération. La secrétaire parlementaire Petitpas Taylor était accompagnée pour l'occasion du chef de l'exploitation de la Banque du Canada, Filipe Dinis, et du député fédéral Rob Oliphant.

Lorsqu'il sera mis en circulation la semaine prochaine, le billet commémoratif marquera la première fois que les portraits d'une femme canadienne et d'un Canadien d'origine autochtone ornent un billet de la Banque du Canada.

À compter du 1er juin 2017, la Banque émettra 40 millions de ces billets commémoratifs, qui seront distribués par l'entremise des institutions financières afin d'être disponibles dans l'ensemble du pays d'ici le 1er juillet.

Plus tôt aujourd'hui, la secrétaire parlementaire Petitpas Taylor a tenu une discussion en table ronde au pavillon Northern Dancer du Canadian Film Centre portant sur le budget de 2017, qui représente le plan ambitieux du gouvernement visant à soutenir les Canadiens de la classe moyenne à chaque étape de leur vie, à transformer les quartiers et les communautés au pays, et à donner à chaque Canadien des chances réelles et égales de réussir.

Citations

« Le 150e anniversaire du Canada nous rappelle ce qui fait de nous qui nous sommes – nous sommes forts en raison de notre diversité et non malgré elle. Au nom du gouvernement du Canada, je remercie le gouverneur Poloz et la Banque du Canada pour leur contribution à cette célébration véritablement nationale. J'ai aussi eu le plaisir de discuter des plans du gouvernement visant à rendre nos villes plus dynamiques et plus concurrentielles, et à stimuler la croissance économique. La rencontre avec des Canadiens lors de tables rondes réaffirme ma conviction selon laquelle notre plan visant à renforcer la classe moyenne a des effets positifs et donnera un élan à l'économie du Canada. »

- Ginette Petitpas Taylor, secrétaire parlementaire du ministre des Finances

« La Banque du Canada est fière d'avoir produit ce billet spécial qui souligne le 150e anniversaire du Canada. Nous n'avons produit que trois autres billets de banque du genre au cours de nos 82 années d'histoire. Ce billet de banque est unique et nous rappelle combien nous avons à célébrer en tant que Canadiens alors que nous nous préparons à façonner notre avenir commun. »

- Filipe Dinis, chef de l'exploitation, Banque du Canada

Produits connexes

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à :

Marion Pilon-Cousineau
Bureau de la secrétaire parlementaire du ministre des Finances
Marion.Pilon-Cousineau@Canada.ca
613-369-5696

Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

Demandes de renseignements généraux

Téléphone : 613-369-3710
Télécopieur : 613-369-4065
Téléimprimeur : 613-369-3230
Courriel : fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Restez branchés