Minister Morneau Announces New Appointment to Canada Pension Plan Investment Board

May 18, 2017 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance Canada

The Government of Canada is committed to an open, transparent and merit-based selection process for Governor in Council appointments that serve the interests of Canadians.

In keeping with this commitment, Finance Minister Bill Morneau today announced the appointment of Mary Phibbs to the Board of Directors of the Canada Pension Plan Investment Board (CPPIB). The appointment is for three years.

Ms. Phibbs is a chartered accountant who brings with her more than 30 years of experience in financial services, as well as extensive experience in senior roles in the financial sector.

Quote

"The Canada Pension Plan (CPP) has a central role in supporting Canada's overall retirement income system, which helps Canadians achieve their goal of a safer, secure and dignified retirement. Ms. Phibbs' experience will be a valuable asset to the CPPIB as it carries out its important role of investing CPP funds, and I congratulate her on this appointment."

- Bill Morneau, Minister of Finance

Quick Facts

  • The CPPIB is a professional investment management organization that operates at arm's length from governments to invest the funds of the CPP on behalf of its 19 million Canadian contributors and beneficiaries.
  • The CPPIB is recognized internationally as a leading example of sound pension plan management, whose governance model has received wide international recognition, including from the International Monetary Fund, the World Bank, the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, and the United States Congress.
  • Over the past 10 years, the CPPIB has delivered a 10-year average net nominal rate of return of 6.8 per cent on existing CPP assets, which is above the 6.0 per cent net nominal rate of return identified by the Chief Actuary to ensure the sustainability of the CPP.

Related Product

Associated Links

Media may contact:

Annie Donolo
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
annie.donolo@canada.ca
613-769-7187

Media Relations
Department of Finance Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

General enquiries

Phone: 613-369-3710
Facsimile: 613-369-4065
TTY: 613-369-3230
E-mail: fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Stay Connected


Biographical Notes

Mary Phibbs

Ms. Phibbs is a Chartered Accountant with over 30 years' experience in financial services. She is currently a Non-Executive Director of Morgan Stanley & Co International Group and Novae Group plc. She was previously a Non-Executive Director of NewDay Group Limited, Nottingham Building Society, Friends Life Group plc, Stewart Title Limited, The Charity Bank Limited and at Northern Rock plc during its period of public ownership. Ms. Phibbs also held senior positions at Standard Chartered Bank plc, ANZ Banking Group, National Australia Bank, Commonwealth Bank of Australia and Allied Irish Banks plc, among others. Ms. Phibbs holds a bachelor of science (honours) from the University of Surrey, is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales, and is a Fellow of Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand.

Le ministre Morneau annonce une nouvelle nomination à l'Office d'investissement du régime de pensions du Canada

Le 18 mai 2017 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances Canada

Le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à utiliser un processus de sélection ouvert, transparent et fondé sur le mérite pour les nominations par le gouverneur en conseil afin de servir les intérêts des Canadiennes et des Canadiens.

Conformément à cet engagement, le ministre des Finances, Bill Morneau, a annoncé aujourd'hui la nomination de Mary Phibbs au conseil d'administration de l'Office d'investissement du régime de pensions du Canada (OIRPC). Cette nomination est assortie d'un mandat de trois ans.

Mme Phibbs est une comptable agréée qui a accumulé plus de 30 années d'expérience dans le domaine des services financiers, ainsi qu'une vaste expérience dans des postes de direction dans le secteur financier.

Citation

« Le Régime de pensions du Canada joue un rôle central en vue de soutenir le système global de revenu de retraite du Canada, ce qui aide les Canadiens à atteindre leur objectif de bénéficier d'une retraite plus sûre et digne. L'expérience de Mme Phibbs constituera un atout précieux pour l'OIRPC alors qu'il remplit son rôle important qui consiste à investir les fonds du Régime. Je la félicite de cette nomination. »

- Bill Morneau, ministre des Finances

Les faits en bref

  • L'OIRPC est un organisme professionnel de gestion de placements qui fonctionne sans lien de dépendance avec les gouvernements et dont le mandat est d'investir les fonds du Régime de pensions du Canada (RPC) pour le compte de ses 20 millions de cotisants et de bénéficiaires canadiens.
  • L'OIRPC est reconnu comme un modèle à l'échelle internationale pour sa saine gestion du régime de pensions. Son modèle de gouvernance a été reconnu notamment par le Fonds monétaire international, la Banque mondiale, l'Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques et le Congrès des États–Unis.
  • Au cours des 10 dernières années, l'OIRPC affiche un taux de rendement moyen sur 10 ans de 5,1 % sur les actifs actuels du RPC, ce qui est supérieur au taux de rendement moyen de 3,9 % prévu par l'actuaire en chef pour assurer la viabilité du RPC.

Produit connexe

Liens connexes

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à :

Annie Donolo
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
annie.donolo@canada.ca
613-769-7187

Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

Demandes de renseignements généraux

Téléphone : 613-369-3710
Télécopieur : 613-369-4065
Téléimprimeur : 613-369-3230
Courriel : fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Restez branchés


Notice biographique

Mary Phibbs

Mme Phibbs est une comptable agréée qui compte plus de 30 années d'expérience dans le domaine des services financiers. Elle est actuellement administratrice externe à Morgan Stanley & Co International Group et au Novae Group plc. Elle était auparavant administratrice externe aux conseils des sociétés NewDay Group Limited, Nottingham Building Society, Friends Life Group plc, Stewart Title Limited, The Charity Bank Limited, et Northern Rock plc au cours de la période pendant laquelle cette société était détenue en propriété publique. Mme Phibbs a également détenu des postes de direction aux sociétés Standard Chartered Bank plc, ANZ Banking Group, National Australia Bank, Commonwealth Bank of Australia et Allied Irish Banks plc, entre autres. Mme Phibbs possède un baccalauréat ès sciences (avec spécialisation) de l'Université de Surrey, est fellow des instituts des comptables agréés de l'Angleterre et du pays de Galles, et est fellow des comptables agréés de l'Australie et de la Nouvelle-Zélande.