Archived - Minister Morneau Reaffirms the Importance of Fairness and Trade in Improving Global Economic Growth at G7 Meetings in Italy

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

May 13, 2017 – Bari, Italy – Department of Finance Canada

Canada's greatest strength is the diversity of its people and a spirit of openness to the world, allowing the Canadian economy to benefit directly from international trade and investment to create good, well-paying jobs for middle class Canadians.

At the G7 Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors Meetings in Bari, Italy, Finance Minister Bill Morneau advocated Canada's progressive approach to trade and demonstrated how it is creating growth that strengthens the middle class.

The G7 meetings provided an excellent opportunity for the Minister to reaffirm Canada's position as a key political and commercial partner, and the importance of open trade and policy coordination in improving the pace of global economic growth and dealing with shared challenges. The Minister also highlighted Canada's traditional leadership in supporting sustainable development and poverty reduction, advancing women's economic empowerment, and tackling international tax evasion and avoidance.

Minister Morneau had the opportunity to meet bilaterally with the President of the World Bank as well as his G7 counterparts from Japan, Italy and the U.S. During his meeting with U.S. Treasury Secretary Steven Mnuchin, Minister Morneau reaffirmed Canada's commitment to a strong and mutually beneficial bilateral relationship and discussed the recent positions taken by the U.S. administration on trade issues with Canada.

Quote

"Canada is open to the world—welcoming new ideas, creative ways of thinking, and a diversity of cultures. It's a big part of what makes Canada a great place to invest, grow a business, and raise a family. The Government will continue to make our country stronger by deepening our engagement with countries around the world, ensuring fairness for the middle class, and investing in key partnerships, which will ensure Canada's success in the global economy of tomorrow."

- Bill Morneau, Minister of Finance

Associated Links

Media may contact:

Annie Donolo
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
annie.donolo@canada.ca
613-769-7187

Media Relations
Department of Finance Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

General enquiries

Phone: 613-369-3710
Facsimile: 613-369-4065
TTY: 613-369-3230
E-mail: fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Stay Connected

Le ministre Morneau réitère l'importance de l'équité et du commerce dans l'amélioration de la croissance économique mondiale aux réunions du G7 en Italie

Le 13 mai 2017 – Bari, Italie – Ministère des Finances Canada

La plus grande force du Canada réside dans la diversité de sa population et son esprit d'ouverture sur le monde. Ces éléments permettent à l'économie canadienne de profiter directement des échanges commerciaux et des investissements internationaux afin de créer de bons emplois bien rémunérés pour les Canadiens de la classe moyenne.

Dans le cadre des réunions des ministres des Finances et des gouverneurs des banques centrales du G7 tenues à Bari, en Italie, le ministre des Finances, Bill Morneau, a vanté l'approche progressiste du Canada en matière de commerce et a exposé de quelle manière cette approche génère une croissance qui renforce la classe moyenne.

Les réunions du G7 constituaient une excellente occasion pour le ministre de réaffirmer la position de partenaire politique et commercial clé du Canada, et l'importance de l'ouverture commerciale et de la coordination des politiques pour améliorer le rythme de la croissance économique mondiale et relever les défis communs. Le ministre a également souligné le leadership traditionnellement exercé par le Canada en ce qui concerne l'appui au développement durable et à la réduction de la pauvreté, la progression de l'émancipation économique des femmes, et la lutte contre l'évasion fiscale et l'évitement fiscal à l'échelle internationale.

Le ministre Morneau a eu l'occasion de participer à des rencontres bilatérales avec le président de la Banque mondiale ainsi qu'avec ses homologues du Japon, de l'Italie et des États-Unis, qui font partie du G7. Au cours de sa rencontre avec le secrétaire du Trésor des États-Unis, Steven Mnuchin, le ministre Morneau a réaffirmé l'engagement du Canada envers une relation bilatérale solide et mutuellement avantageuse et a discuté des positions récentes de l'administration américaine sur des questions liées au commerce avec le Canada.

Citation

« Le Canada est ouvert sur le monde; il est favorable aux nouvelles idées et aux façons de penser originales, et l'on y trouve une diversité de cultures. C'est l'un des principaux facteurs qui font du Canada un excellent endroit où investir, développer une entreprise ou élever une famille. Le gouvernement continuera de renforcer notre pays en approfondissant sa collaboration avec d'autres pays du monde entier, en assurant l'équité pour la classe moyenne et en investissant dans ses principaux partenariats, ce qui assurera la réussite du Canada au sein de l'économie mondiale de demain. »

- Bill Morneau, ministre des Finances

Liens connexes

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à :

Annie Donolo
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
annie.donolo@canada.ca
613-769-7187

Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

Demandes de renseignements généraux

Téléphone : 613-369-3710
Télécopieur : 613-369-4065
Téléimprimeur : 613-369-3230
Courriel : fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Restez branchés