Readout: Minister of Finance Meets With United States Secretary of the Treasury at G7 Meetings in Italy

May 12, 2017 – Bari, Italy – Department of Finance Canada

The Honourable Bill Morneau, Canada's Minister of Finance, met today with Steven Mnuchin, Secretary of the Treasury of the United States of America, on the margins of the G7 Finance Ministers Meetings in Bari, Italy. They discussed a range of issues regarding the economic ties of Canada and the U.S.

In recognition of both countries' common focus to create jobs and foster economic growth for the middle class, Minister Morneau emphasized how the secure and efficient flow of goods, services, capital and people across the Canada-U.S. border is vital to the livelihoods of millions of Americans and Canadians.

Canada and the U.S. enjoy one of the closest relationships between any two countries in the world, with the North American Free Trade Agreement serving as the backbone of our trade relationship. This trade partnership is held up as an international model to follow. It is balanced and fair, and supports growth, innovation and well-paying middle class jobs in both countries.

Canada and the U.S. continue to engage in productive discussion. Minister Morneau and Secretary Mnuchin spoke about the importance of preserving and strengthening the Canada-U.S. trade relationship, and reinforced its role in raising the standard of living of middle class families in both countries. Minister Morneau defended Canada's position on open trade and recent trade issues such as softwood lumber. To that end, the Government of Canada disagrees strongly with the baseless duties applied to Canadian softwood lumber products, and remains committed to working with the U.S. Administration to achieve a durable long-term solution.

The Minister and Secretary concluded their meeting by acknowledging the longstanding and unique economic partnership Canada and the United States enjoy, and committed to maintaining strong cooperation and an open dialogue to further develop this important relationship.

Quick Facts

  • Canada-United States bilateral trade in goods and services reached nearly $882 billion in 2016. 
  • Canada and the United States benefit from robust trade and investment ties and integrated economies that support millions of Canadian and U.S. jobs. Nearly 9 million American jobs depend on trade and investment with Canada.
  • Nearly 400,000 people and over $2 billion worth of goods and services cross the Canada-United States border every day. 

Media may contact:

Annie Donolo
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
annie.donolo@canada.ca
613-769-7187

Media Relations
Department of Finance Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

General enquiries

Phone: 613-369-3710
Facsimile: 613-369-4065
TTY: 613-369-3230
E-mail: fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Stay Connected

Document d'information : Le ministre des Finances rencontre le secrétaire du Trésor des États-Unis dans le cadre des réunions du G7 en Italie

Le 12 mai 2017 – Bari, Italie – Ministère des Finances Canada

L'honorable Bill Morneau, ministre des Finances du Canada, a rencontré aujourd'hui Steven Mnuchin, secrétaire du Trésor des États-Unis d'Amérique, en marge des réunions des ministres des Finances du G7 tenues à Bari, en Italie. Ils ont discuté d'un éventail de questions concernant les liens économiques entre le Canada et les États-Unis.

Reconnaissant la priorité commune des deux pays de créer des emplois et de favoriser la croissance économique pour la classe moyenne, le ministre Morneau a insisté sur le fait que la circulation sécuritaire et efficiente des biens, des services, des capitaux et des personnes à la frontière canado-américaine est essentielle pour des millions d'Américains et de Canadiens.

Le Canada et les États-Unis entretiennent des relations qui sont parmi les plus étroites entre deux pays dans le monde, et l'Accord de libre-échange nord-américain constitue le pilier de leurs liens commerciaux. Ce partenariat commercial est reconnu comme un modèle à suivre à l'échelle internationale. Il est équilibré et équitable et soutient la croissance, l'innovation et des emplois bien rémunérés pour la classe moyenne dans les deux pays.

Le Canada et les États-Unis maintiennent un dialogue productif. Le ministre Morneau et le secrétaire Mnuchin ont traité de l'importance de préserver et de renforcer la relation commerciale entre le Canada et les États-Unis, et ils ont souligné son rôle dans l'amélioration du niveau de vie des familles de la classe moyenne des deux pays. Le ministre Morneau a défendu la position du Canada sur l'ouverture des échanges commerciaux et les récents différends tels que la question du bois d'œuvre résineux. À cette fin, le gouvernement du Canada est fortement en désaccord avec les droits non fondés appliqués aux produits canadiens du bois d'œuvre résineux et demeure engagé à collaborer avec l'administration américaine pour parvenir à une solution à long terme qui soit durable.

Le ministre et le secrétaire ont conclu leur rencontre en reconnaissant le partenariat économique sans égal et de longue date qu'entretiennent le Canada et les États-Unis, et ils se sont engagés à maintenir une collaboration étroite et un dialogue ouvert afin de développer davantage cette relation importante.

Les faits en bref

  • En 2016, le commerce bilatéral de biens et de services entre le Canada et les États-Unis s'est chiffré à près de 882 milliards de dollars.
  • Le Canada et les États-Unis bénéficient de solides liens commerciaux et d'investissement et d'économies intégrées qui soutiennent des millions d'emplois dans les deux pays. Près de 9 millions d'emplois américains dépendent des liens commerciaux et d'investissement avec le Canada.
  • Près de 400 000 personnes, et des biens et des services totalisant plus de 2 milliards de dollars, traversent la frontière canado-américaine chaque jour.

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à :

Annie Donolo
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
annie.donolo@canada.ca
613-769-7187

Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

Demandes de renseignements généraux

Téléphone : 613-369-3710
Télécopieur : 613-369-4065
Téléimprimeur : 613-369-3230
Courriel : fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Restez branchés