Department of Finance Canada Releases Annual Report on Federal Tax Expenditures

February 23, 2017 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance Canada

The Government of Canada's commitment to fairness for the middle class includes ensuring a modern and efficient tax system that is simple and properly targeted.

To this end, and in keeping with the Government's commitment to openness and transparency, the Department of Finance Canada today released the 2017 Report on Federal Tax Expenditures—Concepts, Estimates and Evaluations.

This report provides estimates of the fiscal cost of federal tax measures designed to ensure the proper functioning of the federal tax system and support the priorities of the Government. In addition, the report presents background information on each tax expenditure, including a description, objectives, historical information, and references to related federal spending programs.

This year's edition also includes three analytical papers:

  • An evaluation of the Children's Fitness Tax Credit and Children's Arts Tax Credit, inefficient measures which were eliminated in favour of a new, simpler, more generous and better-targeted Canada Child Benefit;
  • An evaluation of the Goods and Services Tax Credit; and
  • A statistical analysis of federal tax expenditures from 1991 to 2015.

The Government remains committed to ensuring the tax system—including federal tax expenditures—is efficient, responsible and fair. This is why work continues on a review of the tax system as a whole, with a view to eliminating poorly targeted and inefficient tax measures and providing fairness for middle class families.

The release of today's report coincides with the tabling of the Main Estimates in the House of Commons by the President of the Treasury Board, providing Members of Parliament with comprehensive information about federal tax expenditures.

Quick Facts

  • The Government's Report on Federal Tax Expenditures—Concepts, Estimates and Evaluations is an annual publication that provides important information on the objectives, design and cost of federal tax expenditures.
  • The Government of Canada first reported on federal tax expenditures in 1979. It has published estimates of tax expenditures for personal and corporate income taxes, as well as for the Goods and Services Tax, since 1994.
  • Tax expenditure reporting is considered an international best practice to foster government budgetary and fiscal transparency.
  • International organizations have recognized the quality of Canada's reporting on federal tax expenditures, notably with respect to the number of tax measures and years for which cost information is presented, the detailed methodological information provided, and the publication of evaluations and analytical papers.

Related Product

Media may contact:

Annie Donolo
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
annie.donolo@canada.ca
613-769-7187

Media Relations
Department of Finance Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

General enquiries

Phone: 613-369-3710
Facsimile: 613-369-4065
TTY: 613-369-3230
E-mail: fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Stay Connected

Le ministère des Finances du Canada publie le rapport annuel sur les dépenses fiscales fédérales

Le 23 février 2017 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances Canada

L'engagement du gouvernement du Canada envers l'équité pour la classe moyenne comprend le fait de veiller à ce que le régime fiscal soit moderne, efficient, simple et adéquatement ciblé.

À cette fin, et conformément à l'engagement que le gouvernement a pris à l'égard de l'ouverture et de la transparence, le ministère des Finances du Canada a publié aujourd'hui l'édition de 2017 du Rapport sur les dépenses fiscales fédérales – Concepts, estimations et évaluations.

Ce rapport présente des estimations du coût financier des mesures fiscales fédérales visant à assurer le bon fonctionnement du régime fiscal fédéral et à soutenir les priorités du gouvernement. De plus, le rapport présente des renseignements contextuels sur chaque dépense fiscale, y compris une description, les objectifs, de l'information historique et des renvois à des programmes connexes de dépenses du gouvernement fédéral.

L'édition de cette année comprend également trois documents d'analyse :

  • une évaluation du crédit d'impôt pour la condition physique des enfants et du crédit d'impôt pour les activités artistiques des enfants, des mesures inefficientes qui ont été éliminées en faveur d'une nouvelle Allocation canadienne pour enfants qui est plus simple, plus généreuse et mieux ciblée;
  • une évaluation du crédit pour la taxe sur les produits et services;
  • une analyse statistique des dépenses fiscales fédérales de 1991 à 2015.

Le gouvernement demeure déterminé à veiller à ce que le régime fiscal, y compris les dépenses fiscales fédérales, soit efficient, responsable et équitable. C'est la raison pour laquelle les travaux se poursuivent afin d'examiner le régime fiscal de façon globale, en vue d'éliminer les mesures fiscales mal ciblées et inefficientes et d'assurer l'équité pour les familles de la classe moyenne.

La publication aujourd'hui de ce rapport coïncide avec le dépôt du Budget principal des dépenses par le président du Conseil du Trésor à la Chambre des communes, de manière à fournir aux parlementaires des renseignements exhaustifs au sujet des dépenses fiscales fédérales.

Les faits en bref

  • Le Rapport sur les dépenses fiscales fédérales – Concepts, estimations et évaluations est publié annuellement et fournit des renseignements importants sur les objectifs, la conception et le coût des dépenses fiscales fédérales.
  • Le gouvernement du Canada a rendu compte des dépenses fiscales fédérales pour la première fois en 1979. Il publie depuis 1994 des estimations des dépenses fiscales liées à l'impôt sur le revenu des particuliers, à l'impôt sur le revenu des sociétés et à la taxe sur les produits et services.
  • La publication de rapports sur les dépenses fiscales est considérée comme une pratique exemplaire à l'échelle internationale qui favorise la transparence budgétaire et fiscale des gouvernements.
  • La qualité des rapports du gouvernement du Canada sur les dépenses fiscales fédérales est reconnue par des organisations internationales, en raison notamment du nombre de mesures fiscales et d'années pour lesquelles l'information relative aux coûts est présentée, des données méthodologiques détaillées qui sont fournies et de la publication d'évaluations et de documents d'analyse.

Produit connexe

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à :

Annie Donolo
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
annie.donolo@canada.ca
613-769-7187

Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

Demandes de renseignements généraux

Téléphone : 613-369-3710
Télécopieur : 613-369-4065
Téléimprimeur : 613-369-3230
Courriel : fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Restez branchés