Minister Morneau Announces New Appointments to Canada Pension Plan Investment Board

February 13, 2017 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance Canada

The Government of Canada is committed to an open, transparent and merit-based selection process for Governor in Council appointments that serve Canadians' interests.

In keeping with this commitment, Finance Minister Bill Morneau today announced the appointment of Ms. Ashleigh Everett and Mr. John Montalbano to the Board of Directors of the Canada Pension Plan Investment Board (CPPIB). The appointments are for three years.

Quote

"I would like to congratulate Ashleigh Everett and John Montalbano on their appointments to the CPPIB. Their experience will be a valuable asset to the CPPIB as it carries out its important role of investing Canada Pension Plan funds in the best interests of plan members. With this rock solid investment structure as its foundation, the CPP provides a safe, secure and predictable benefit for millions of Canadians."

- Bill Morneau, Minister of Finance

Quick Facts

  • The CPPIB is a professional investment management organization that operates at arm's length from governments to invest the funds of the CPP on behalf of its 19 million Canadian contributors and beneficiaries.
  • The CPPIB is acclaimed by international bodies such as the World Bank as a model of an independent, transparent and accountable public pension fund management organization.
  • Over the past 10 years, the CPPIB has delivered a 10-year average nominal rate of return of 6.8 per cent on existing CPP assets, which is above the 6.1 per cent nominal rate of return identified by the Chief Actuary to ensure the sustainability of the CPP.

Related Product

Associated Links

Media may contact:

Annie Donolo
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
annie.donolo@canada.ca
613-769-7187

Media Relations
Department of Finance Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

General enquiries

Phone: 613-369-3710
Facsimile: 613-369-4065
TTY: 613-369-3230
E-mail: fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Stay Connected


Biographical Notes

Ms. Ashleigh Everett

Ms. Everett is President, Corporate Secretary and Director of Royal Canadian Securities Limited, the holding company of: Royal Canadian Properties Limited, a property development company; Domo Gasoline Corporation, a gasoline retailer in Western Canada; and L'Eau-1 Inc., a water purification company. She serves on the Board of Directors of Manitoba Telecom Services, as Chair of the Governance and Nominating Committee and a member of the Human Resources and Compensation Committee. She previously served on the Board of Directors of The Bank of Nova Scotia, as Chair of the Corporate Governance and Pension Committee, and a member of its Executive and Risk Committee and Human Resources Committee. She is currently a member of the Premier's Enterprise Team for the Province of Manitoba. Ms. Everett has a Bachelor of Arts from Queen's University and a Master of Business Administration from the University of Western Ontario.

Mr. John Montalbano

Mr. Montalbano served as Chief Executive Officer of RBC Global Asset Management from 2008 to 2015, and previously as President of Phillips, Hager & North Investment Management. He serves as Director on a number of corporate boards, including those of Canalyst Financial Modeling Corporation, Wize Monkey Inc., Direct2Artist Technologies Inc. and Eupraxia Pharmaceuticals Inc. He has previously served as Vice Chairman of RBC Wealth Management and as a Director on the corporate boards of BlueBay Asset Management LLP, RBC Global Asset Management Inc., Tologix Software Inc., Sky Investment Counsel Inc. and Phillips, Hager & North Investment Management Ltd. Mr. Montalbano has a Bachelor of Commerce from the University of British Columbia and is a Chartered Financial Analyst.

Le ministre Morneau annonce de nouvelles nominations à l'Office d'investissement du régime de pensions du Canada

Le 13 février 2017 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances Canada

Le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à adopter un processus de sélection ouvert, transparent et fondé sur le mérite pour les nominations par le gouverneur en conseil afin de servir les intérêts des Canadiennes et des Canadiens.

Afin de respecter cet engagement, le ministre des Finances, Bill Morneau, a annoncé aujourd'hui la nomination de Mme Ashleigh Everett et de M. John Montalbano au conseil d'administration de l'Office d'investissement du régime de pensions du Canada (OIRPC). Les nominations sont assorties d'un mandat de trois ans.

Citation

« Je tiens à féliciter Ashleigh Everett et John Montalbano pour leur nomination à l'OIRPC. Leur expérience constituera un atout précieux pour l'OIRPC alors que l'organisme s'acquitte de son rôle important qui consiste à investir les fonds du Régime de pensions du Canada (RPC) dans le meilleur intérêt des membres du Régime. Grâce à la solide structure de placements sur laquelle il repose, le RPC offre des prestations sûres et prévisibles à des millions de Canadiens. »

- Bill Morneau, ministre des Finances

Les faits en bref

  • L'OIRPC est un organisme professionnel de gestion de placements qui fonctionne sans lien de dépendance avec les gouvernements et dont le mandat est d'investir les fonds du Régime de pensions du Canada (RPC) pour le compte de ses 19 millions de cotisants et de bénéficiaires canadiens.
  • L'OIRPC est qualifié par des organismes internationaux tels que la Banque mondiale comme un modèle d'organisation de gestion de caisse de retraite publique indépendante, transparente et responsable.
  • Au cours des dix dernières années, l'OIRPC a affiché un taux de rendement nominal moyen sur dix ans de 6,8 % sur les actifs du RPC existants, ce qui est supérieur au taux de rendement nominal de 6,1 % établi par l'actuaire en chef pour assurer la viabilité du RPC.

Produit connexe

Liens connexes

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à :

Annie Donolo
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
annie.donolo@canada.ca
613-769-7187

Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

Demandes de renseignements généraux

Téléphone : 613-369-3710
Télécopieur : 613-369-4065
Téléimprimeur : 613-369-3230
Courriel : fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Restez branchés


Notices biographiques

Mme Ashleigh Everett

Mme Everett est présidente, secrétaire générale et administratrice de Royal Canadian Securities Limited, la société de portefeuille des trois entités suivantes : Royal Canadian Properties Limited, une société de promotion immobilière; Domo Gasoline Corporation, un détaillant d'essence de l'Ouest canadien; L'Eau-1 Inc., une entreprise de purification d'eau. Elle siège au conseil d'administration de Manitoba Telecom Services, où elle occupe le poste de présidente du Comité de la gouvernance d'entreprise et de la mise en candidature et est membre du Comité des ressources humaines et de la rémunération. Elle siégeait auparavant au conseil d'administration de la Banque de Nouvelle-Écosse à titre de présidente du Comité de gouvernance et du régime de retraite, et était membre du Comité de direction et d'évaluation des risques et du Comité des ressources humaines de cette même banque. Elle est actuellement membre du Premier's Enterprise Team de la province du Manitoba. Mme Everett est titulaire d'un baccalauréat ès arts de l'Université Queen's et d'une maîtrise en administration des affaires de l'Université de Western Ontario.

M. John Montalbano

M. Montalbano a occupé le poste de chef de la direction de RBC Gestion mondiale d'actifs, de 2008 à 2015, et celui de président de Phillips, Hager & North Investment Management auparavant. Il siège comme administrateur à un certain nombre de comités d'entreprise, y compris ceux de la Canalyst Financial Modeling Corporation, de Wize Monkey Inc., de Direct2Artist Technologies Inc. et de Eupraxia Pharmaceuticals Inc. Il a occupé le poste de vice‑président de RBC Gestion de patrimoine et celui d'administrateur des conseils d'administration de BlueBay Asset Management LLP, de RBC Gestion mondiale d'actifs Inc., de Tologix Software Inc., de Sky Investment Counsel Inc. et de Phillips, Hager & North Investment Management Ltd. M. Montalbano est titulaire d'un baccalauréat en commerce de l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique et détient le titre d'analyste financier agréé.