Backgrounder: The Fiscal Stabilization Program

The federal Fiscal Stabilization Program provides protection to provinces in the event of extraordinary year-over-year declines in revenues.

How the Fiscal Stabilization Program Works

The Fiscal Stabilization Program is authorized by the Federal-Provincial Fiscal Arrangements Act and falls under the responsibility of the Minister of Finance. It enables the federal government to provide financial assistance to any province faced with a year-over-year decline in its non-resource revenues greater than 5 per cent.

Provinces must apply for payments under the program, and each claim is subject to analysis and verification by the federal government. A province may submit a claim to the Minister of Finance as late as 18 months after the end of the fiscal year in question, but may also submit a claim for an advance payment on account based on as few as five months of data for the fiscal year in question.

There are two constraints on eligibility for payments:

  1. The program compensates for year-over-year revenue declines due to economic downturns, not for declines due to provincial decisions to reduce taxes; policy changes made by the province in the rate or in the structure of provincial taxes are factored out when measuring revenue declines.
  2. A decline in resource revenues is taken into account only if—and to the extent that—the annual decline exceeds 50 per cent.

How Much Can a Province Receive?

The maximum payment to a province that makes a claim for a given fiscal year is $60 per person.

Provinces may also request an interest-free loan for any amounts in excess of the $60 per person limit, to be recovered over a five-year period. However, the decision of whether to provide such a loan is at the sole discretion of the Minister of Finance.

How Much Have Provinces Been Paid in the Past?

Since 1967, the federal government has provided payments totalling over $2 billion to the provinces through the Fiscal Stabilization Program. For example, the first province to qualify was British Columbia, which made a claim for payments under the program for 1982–83 in June 1983. British Columbia was paid $174 million in instalments over a three-year period as the data required to assess its claim became available.

Stabilization Claims by Qualifying Year
($ million)
Province 1982–83 1986–87 1990–91 1991–92 1992–93 1993–94 Total
N.L. - - - 31 - - 31
P.E.I. - - - 5 8 - 13
N.S. - - - 55 - - 55
N.B. - - - - 30 6 36
Que. - - - 103 72 - 175
Ont. - - 227 284 567 - 1,079
Man. - - - 43 - - 43
Sask. - - - - - - 0
Alta. - 419 - - - - 419
B.C. 174 - - - - - 174
Total 174 419 227 522 677 6 2,025

For additional information on federal transfer payments, see the Department of Finance website.

Document d’information : Le Programme de stabilisation fiscale

Le programme de stabilisation fédéral offre aux provinces une protection financière dans l’éventualité d’une baisse extraordinaire de leurs revenus d’un exercice sur l’autre.

Fonctionnement du programme de stabilisation

Le programme de stabilisation est autorisé par la Loi sur les arrangements fiscaux entre le gouvernement fédéral et les provinces et relève du ministre des Finances du Canada. Il permet au gouvernement fédéral de fournir une aide financière à toute province qui subit une baisse de ses revenus non liés aux ressources de plus de 5 % d’un exercice sur l’autre.

Les provinces doivent présenter une demande de paiement dans le cadre du programme, et chaque demande fait l’objet d’une analyse et d’une vérification fédérales. Une province peut présenter une demande au ministre des Finances aussi tard que 18 mois après la fin de l’exercice visé, mais elle peut aussi présenter une demande de paiement anticipé fondé sur aussi peu que cinq mois de données de l’exercice.

L’admissibilité aux paiements est assujettie à deux restrictions :

  1. Le programme compense les baisses de revenus d’un exercice sur l’autre attribuables à des ralentissements de l’économie, et non les baisses attribuables à des décisions provinciales d’accorder des allègements fiscaux. Les effets de changements de politiques effectués par la province relativement aux taux ou à la structure de son régime fiscal sont exclus du calcul des baisses de revenus.
  2. Une baisse des revenus tirés des ressources naturelles n’est prise en compte que si – et dans la mesure où – la baisse annuelle est supérieure à 50 %.

Quelle est la somme qu’une province peut recevoir?

Le paiement maximal versé à une province qui présente une demande visant un exercice donné se chiffre à 60 $ par habitant.

Les provinces peuvent aussi demander un prêt sans intérêt de tout montant dépassant la limite de 60 $ par personne, qui doit être recouvré sur une période de cinq ans. La décision de consentir ou non un tel prêt relève toutefois de l’entière discrétion du ministre des Finances.

Quelles sommes a-t-on versées aux provinces dans le passé?

Depuis 1967, dans le cadre du programme de stabilisation, le gouvernement fédéral a versé aux provinces des paiements totalisant plus de 2 milliards de dollars. La première province admissible a été la Colombie-Britannique, qui, en juin 1983, a présenté une demande de paiement au titre du programme pour l’exercice 1982-1983. La Colombie-Britannique a alors reçu un paiement total de 174 millions de dollars, réparti sur trois ans, à mesure que les données nécessaires à l’évaluation de sa demande devenaient disponibles.

Demandes de paiements de stabilisation par exercice d'admissibilité
(M$)
Province 1982-1983 1986-1987 1990-1991 1991-1992 1992-1993 1993-1994 Total
T.-N.-L. - - - 31 - - 31
Î.-P.-É. - - - 5 8 - 13
N.-É. - - - 55 - - 55
N.-B. - - - - 30 6 36
Qc - - - 103 72 - 175
Ont. - - 227 284 567 - 1 079
Man. - - - 43 - - 43
Sask. - - - - - - 0
Alb. - 419 - - - - 419
C.-B. 174 - - - - - 174
Total 174 419 227 522 677 6 2 025

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les paiements de transfert fédéraux, veuillez consulter le site Web du ministère des Finances.