Government of Canada Welcomes British Columbia’s Support for a Stronger Canada Pension Plan

October 4, 2016 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance Canada

Middle class Canadians are working harder than ever, but many are worried that they won’t have enough put away for their retirement. One in four families approaching retirement—1.1 million families—are at risk of not saving enough. That’s why the Government of Canada is committed to helping Canadians achieve their goal of a safe, secure and dignified retirement, and has worked with the provinces and territories to strengthen the Canada Pension Plan (CPP).

Minister of Finance Bill Morneau and Minister of Families, Children and Social Development Jean-Yves Duclos today welcomed British Columbia’s support for CPP enhancement, paving the way for implementation of the historic agreement that will ensure future generations of Canadians can count on a more generous public pension system in their retirement years. 

All nine CPP participating provinces have now confirmed their support for the agreement concluded on June 20, 2016 in Vancouver.

The Government of Canada is moving forward with legislation to enact the CPP enhancement. Yesterday, it tabled a Notice of Ways and Means Motion for the tax measures that are part of the agreement in principle on CPP enhancement, and Ministers Morneau and Duclos will introduce legislation in Parliament very shortly to implement the full agreement.

Quotes

“Once fully in place, an enhanced CPP will put up to 50% more into the pockets of retirees, enabling them to focus on the important things in their lives, like creating valuable memories with their loved ones. I would like to thank Minister Michael de Jong once again for his leadership in helping us come to an historic agreement on a stronger CPP last June, and for his Government’s full support of enhancing retirement security for Canadians.”

- Bill Morneau, Minister of Finance

“Helping Canadians achieve a safe, secure and dignified retirement is a central part of the Government of Canada’s plan to help the middle class and those working hard to join it. A stronger Canada Pension Plan is a core promise we made to Canadians, and we are very proud of the collaboration with provincial colleagues to improve the retirement income security of current and future generations.”

- Jean-Yves Duclos, Minister of Families, Children and Social Development

Related Products

Associated Links

Media Contacts

Annie Donolo
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-769-7187

Media Relations
Department of Finance Canada
613-369-4000

Mathieu Filion
Director of Communications
Office of the Hon. Jean-Yves Duclos, P.C., M.P.
Minister of Families, Children and Social Development
819-654-5546

Media Relations Office
Employment and Social Development Canada
819-994-5559
media@hrsdc-rhdcc.gc.ca

Stay Connected

Le gouvernement du Canada accueille favorablement l’appui de la Colombie-Britannique à un Régime de pensions du Canada plus solide

Le 4 octobre 2016 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances Canada

Les Canadiennes et les Canadiens de la classe moyenne travaillent plus fort que jamais, mais un grand nombre d’entre eux s’inquiètent de ne pas avoir épargné suffisamment pour la retraite. En effet, une famille sur quatre qui approche l’âge de la retraite, soit 1,1 million de familles, risque de ne pas épargner suffisamment. C’est pourquoi le gouvernement du Canada s’est engagé à aider les Canadiens à atteindre leur objectif de bénéficier d’une retraite sûre et digne, en collaborant avec les provinces et les territoires au renforcement du Régime de pensions du Canada (RPC).

Le ministre des Finances, Bill Morneau, et le ministre de la Famille, des Enfants et du Développement social, Jean-Yves Duclos, ont accueilli favorablement aujourd’hui l’appui de la Colombie-Britannique à la bonification du RPC. Cette décision permettra la mise en œuvre de l’accord historique sur le RPC afin que les générations futures de Canadiens puissent compter sur un régime de retraite public plus généreux au moment de la retraite.

Les neuf provinces qui participent au RPC ont toutes confirmé leur appui à l’accord conclu le 20 juin 2016 à Vancouver.

Le gouvernement du Canada procédera donc au dépôt d’un projet de loi visant à mettre en œuvre la bonification du RPC. À cet effet, il a déposé hier un avis de motion de voies et moyens visant les mesures fiscales qui font partie de l’accord de principe sur la bonification du RPC, et les ministres Morneau et Duclos déposeront le projet de loi au Parlement très bientôt afin de mettre en œuvre l’accord intégral.

Citations

« Une fois entièrement mise en œuvre, la bonification du RPC fera en sorte que les retraités disposeront de 50 % plus d’argent, ce qui leur permettra de mettre l’accent sur ce qui est le plus important pour eux, comme passer de précieux moments avec leurs proches. J’aimerais remercier de nouveau le ministre Michael de Jong pour le leadership dont il a fait preuve pour nous aider à parvenir à un accord historique sur le RPC bonifié en juin dernier et pour le plein appui de son gouvernement en vue d’améliorer la sécurité du revenu de retraite des Canadiens. »

- Bill Morneau, ministre des Finances

 « Les mesures visant à aider les Canadiens à bénéficier d’une retraite sûre et digne font partie intégrante du plan du gouvernement du Canada destiné à aider la classe moyenne et ceux qui travaillent fort pour en faire partie. Le renforcement du Régime de pensions du Canada est une promesse centrale que nous avions faite aux Canadiens, et nous sommes très fiers de la collaboration établie avec nos collègues provinciaux en vue d’améliorer la sécurité du revenu de retraite des générations actuelles et futures. »

- Jean-Yves Duclos, ministre de la Famille, des Enfants et du Développement social

Produits connexes

Liens connexes

Contacts

Annie Donolo
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-769-7187

Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances Canada
613-369-4000

Mathieu Filion
Directeur des communications
Cabinet de l’honorable Jean-Yves Duclos, C.P., député
Ministre de la Famille, des Enfants et du Développement social
819-654-5546

Bureau des relations avec les médias
Emploi et Développement social Canada
819-994-5559
media@hrsdc-rhdcc.gc.ca

Restez branchés