Department of Finance Canada Launches Deposit Insurance Review Consultations

September 16, 2016 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance Canada

The Government is committed to maintaining a well-functioning deposit insurance framework, which promotes public confidence in the financial system and financial stability for middle class Canadians and their families.

The Canadian financial system is among the strongest and most resilient in the world, and continues to be effective at protecting depositors. Even so, the global banking landscape has changed over time, with the most significant changes occurring after the 2008 financial crisis. This includes changes to deposit products offered by financial institutions.

The Department of Finance Canada today launched a consultation process on the deposit insurance framework to ensure it continues to meet the evolving marketplace in the Canadian financial sector. The consultation process will help determine if the scope of products targeted requires adjustments. The consultation will further ensure that the deposit insurance framework will continue to serve Canadians most effectively.

Individuals or organizations interested in submitting their views are invited to review the consultation document at the link below.

Written comments should be forwarded by November 30, 2016 to DepositInsuranceReview-ExamenDuCadreDAssuranceDepots@canada.ca or to:

Financial Systems Division
Financial Sector Policy Branch
Department of Finance Canada
90 Elgin Street
Ottawa, Canada
K1A 0G5

Consultation Document

Media Contacts

Annie Donolo
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-769-7187

Media Relations
Department of Finance Canada
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Le ministère des Finances du Canada lance des consultations sur l’examen du cadre d’assurance-dépôts

Le 16 septembre 2016 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances Canada

Le gouvernement est déterminé à maintenir le bon fonctionnement du cadre d’assurance-dépôts, lequel contribue à la confiance du public à l’égard du système financier ainsi qu’à la stabilité financière pour les Canadiennes et les Canadiens de la classe moyenne et leur famille.

Le système financier canadien compte parmi les plus solides et les plus résilients au monde, et il continue de protéger efficacement les déposants. Malgré tout, le contexte bancaire mondial a évolué au fil du temps, principalement  après la crise financière de 2008. Ces changements  concernent notamment les produits de dépôt offerts par les institutions financières.

Le ministère des Finances du Canada a lancé aujourd’hui un processus de consultation qui porte sur le cadre d’assurance-dépôts, afin de veiller à ce que celui-ci continue de répondre aux besoins en constante évolution du marché au sein du secteur financier canadien. Le processus de consultation aidera à déterminer si la portée des produits ciblés nécessite des rajustements. Les consultations feront en sorte que le cadre d’assurance-dépôts continuera de servir les Canadiens de la manière la plus efficace.

Les particuliers et les organisations qui souhaitent transmettre leurs opinions sont invités à examiner le document de consultation dont le lien se trouve ci-dessous.

Les commentaires écrits doivent être envoyés au plus tard le 30 novembre 2016 à l’adresse DepositInsuranceReview-ExamenDuCadreDAssuranceDepots@canada.ca ou par la poste à l’adresse suivante :

Division des systèmes financiers
Direction de la politique du secteur financier
Ministère des Finances Canada
90, rue Elgin
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0G5

Document de consultation

Contacts

Annie Donolo
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-769-7187

Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances Canada
613-369-4000

Restez branchés