Department of Finance Canada Launches Consultations to Review the Federal Financial Sector Framework

August 26, 2016 - Ottawa, Ontario - Department of Finance Canada

Confidence in a strong and well-functioning financial sector is a must when it comes to ensuring an economy that works for the middle class and those working hard to join it. Canadians expect their government to review and monitor the financial sector so that it remains stable and efficient and meets their evolving needs.

Building on Budget 2016's commitment to extend the sunset date for federal financial sector legislation and regulations by two years, the Department of Finance Canada today announced the launch of the first of a two-stage consultation process on the federal financial sector legislative and regulatory framework.

While Canada has a highly regarded and well-functioning financial sector, it is an industry that is continuously evolving to meet the changing needs of its clients and find new ways to provide financial services to Canadians. In this context, it is important to consult with Canadians on the legislative and regulatory framework that governs the sector.

The consultations will help maintain and advance a financial sector legislative and regulatory framework that supports:

  • Stability—the financial sector is safe and sound, and resilient in the face of stress.
  • Efficiency—the financial sector provides competitively priced products and services and passes efficiency gains to customers, accommodates innovation, and effectively contributes to economic growth.
  • Utility—the financial sector meets the needs of an array of consumers, including businesses, individuals and families, and is committed to protecting the interests of consumers.

Individuals or organizations interested in submitting their views are invited to review the consultation document at the link below. Submissions will inform the development of a policy paper for the second stage of the consultation process in 2017.

Written comments should be forwarded by November 15, 2016 to LegislativeReview-ExamenLegislatif@canada.ca or to:

Financial Institutions Division
Financial Sector Policy Branch
Department of Finance Canada
90 Elgin Street
Ottawa, Canada
K1A 0G5

Consultation Document

Related Product

Contacts

Annie Donolo
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5697

Media Relations
Department of Finance Canada
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Le ministère des Finances Canada lance des consultations afin d'examiner le cadre fédéral régissant le secteur financier

Le 26 août 2016 - Ottawa (Ontario) - Ministère des Finances Canada

La confiance à l'égard de la solidité et de l'efficacité du financier est essentielle en vue d'assurer que l'économie fonctionne pour la classe moyenne et ceux qui travaillent fort pour en faire partie. Les Canadiennes et les Canadiens s'attendent à ce que leur gouvernement examine et surveille le secteur financier afin qu'il demeure stable et efficient et qu'il réponde à l'évolution de leurs besoins.

Prenant appui sur l'engagement énoncé dans le budget de 2016 de reporter de deux ans la date fixée par la disposition de temporarisation actuelle relativement à la législation et aux règlements fédéraux concernant le secteur financier, le ministère des Finances Canada a annoncé aujourd'hui le lancement de la première de deux étapes d'un processus de consultation au sujet du cadre législatif et réglementaire fédéral régissant le secteur financier.

Bien que le secteur financier du Canada soit hautement reconnu et efficace, il ne cesse d'évoluer afin de répondre aux besoins changeants de ses clients et de trouver de nouvelles façons d'offrir des services financiers aux Canadiens. Dans ce contexte, il est important de consulter les Canadiens au sujet du cadre législatif et réglementaire qui régit ce secteur.

Les consultations contribueront au maintien et à l'amélioration du cadre législatif et réglementaire régissant le secteur financier, lequel cadre soutient :

  • la stabilité – le secteur financier est sûr, solide et résilient en dépit des tensions.
  • l'efficience – le secteur financier offre des produits et des services à des prix concurrentiels et transfère les gains d'efficience aux clients, favorise l'innovation et contribue de fait à la croissance économique.
  • l'utilité – le secteur financier répond aux besoins d'un éventail de consommateurs, notamment les entreprises, les particuliers et les familles, et s'est engagé à protéger les intérêts des consommateurs.

Les particuliers et les organisations qui souhaitent transmettre leurs opinions sont invités à examiner le document de consultation dont le lien se trouve ci-dessous. Les commentaires reçus serviront de base à l'élaboration d'un document d'orientation en vue de la deuxième étape du processus de consultation qui aura lieu en 2017.

Les commentaires doivent être transmis par écrit d'ici le 15 novembre 2016 à l'adresse LegislativeReview-ExamenLegislatif@canada.ca, ou par la poste à l'adresse suivante :

Division des institutions financières
Direction de la politique du secteur financier
Ministère des Finances Canada
90, rue Elgin
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0G5

Document de consultation

Produit connexe

Contacts

Annie Donolo
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5697

Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances Canada
613-369-4000

Restez branchés