Statement by the Minister of Finance on Historic Agreement to Strengthen the Canada Pension Plan

“Since June 20 in Vancouver, nine provincial Finance Ministers have signed on to an historic agreement in principle that will ensure future generations of Canadians can retire more comfortably.

“Since the Vancouver meeting all signatories have been working in good faith to confirm the approval of their respective Governments by July 15, a date chosen by consensus so that the work of implementing the enhancements could begin without delay.

“While all other signatories will meet this target, the Province of British Columbia has indicated that it needs more time to do so. The process remains on track for the Government to table federal legislation in the fall, as planned.

“Minister de Jong of British Columbia played an important role throughout these negotiations and has reaffirmed his support of the agreement-in-principle signed in Vancouver. I thank my counterparts and colleagues from coast-to-coast-to-coast for their important and substantive contributions to a strengthened Canada Pension Plan (CPP), and for always keeping the best interests of Canadians front and centre. I look forward to continuing the renewed spirit of collaboration that has defined our work over the last several months.”

Media Contacts

Annie Donolo
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5696

Media Relations
Department of Finance Canada
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Déclaration du ministre des Finances au sujet de l'accord historique visant à renforcer le Régime de pensions du Canada

« Depuis le 20 juin dernier, à Vancouver, neuf ministres des Finances provinciaux ont signé un accord de principe historique qui permettra aux générations futures de Canadiennes et de Canadiens de prendre une retraite plus confortable.

« Depuis la réunion de Vancouver, tous les signataires ont travaillé de bonne foi pour obtenir l’approbation de leur gouvernement respectif d’ici le 15 juillet, date qui avait été fixée par consensus afin que le travail de mise en œuvre de la bonification puisse commencer sans délai.

« Alors que tous les autres signataires atteindront cet objectif, la Province de la Colombie-Britannique a indiqué qu’elle aura besoin de plus de temps. Le processus demeure sur la bonne voie pour que le gouvernement dépose un projet de loi fédéral à l’automne, comme prévu.

« Le ministre de Jong de la Colombie-Britannique a joué un rôle important au cours de ces négociations, et il a réaffirmé qu’il appuyait l’accord de principe signé à Vancouver. Je remercie mes homologues et mes collègues d’un bout à l’autre du pays d’avoir apporté une contribution énorme et essentielle au renforcement du Régime de pensions du Canada (RPC), et d’avoir toujours agi dans l’intérêt des Canadiens. Je me réjouis à la perspective de maintenir ce nouvel esprit de collaboration qui a marqué le travail que nous avons accompli au cours des derniers mois. »

Contacts

Annie Donolo
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances Canada
613-369-4000

Restez branchés