Parliamentary Secretary Takes Budget 2016 Message to Canada’s North

April 1, 2016 – Iqaluit, Nunavut – Department of Finance

François-Philippe Champagne, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Finance, today met with Nunavut Tunngavik Inc. and Nunavut Premier Peter Taptuna in Iqaluit to discuss measures in the Government of Canada’s 2016 budget, Growing the Middle Class, that will benefit Northerners and renew the relationship with Canada’s Indigenous peoples. The Parliamentary Secretary will also be meeting with the Baffin Regional Chamber of Commerce during his visit.

To ensure that economic growth is shared by all Canadians, Budget 2016 takes renewed steps to give all Canadians the same opportunities to succeed, no matter who they are, or where they come from. This includes unprecedented investments in Indigenous peoples—totalling $8.4 billion over five years—in areas that include education, infrastructure and skills training.

Budget 2016 provides up to $177.7 million over two years, starting in 2016–17, to provinces and territories in order to address urgent housing needs. Funding includes $76.7 million to Nunavut and further investments for the three other Inuit regions.

Budget 2016 also proposes an increase to the Northern Residents Deduction, increased funding for Nutrition North Canada, and a new Canada Child Benefit that is simpler, tax-free, better targeted, and much more generous than the current federal child benefit system. The new Canada Child Benefit will put more money in the pockets of 9 out of 10 Canadian families, and lift hundreds of thousands of children out of poverty.

The Parliamentary Secretary also discussed the Government’s historic plan to invest more than $120 billion in infrastructure over the next 10 years—investments that will create a more modern and cleaner economy, a more inclusive society, and a country better positioned to compete globally.

Quotes

“Strong families and communities are vital to Canada’s economic success. It is important that Canada’s North and Indigenous peoples share in Canada’s economic growth and prosperity. Growing the Middle Class takes important steps towards renewing our relationship with Indigenous peoples and breaking down the barriers that have for too long held back individuals and communities from reaching their full potential.”

- François-Philippe Champagne, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Finance

“Budget 2016 provides Canada with a new direction and affirms our government’s commitment to the people of the North.”

- Hunter Tootoo, Minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard

Related Products

Media Contacts

Annie Donolo
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5697

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Le secrétaire parlementaire porte le message budgétaire de 2016 dans le Nord canadien

Le 1er avril 2016 – Iqaluit (Nunavut) – Ministère des Finances

Le secrétaire parlementaire du ministre des Finances, François-Philippe Champagne, a rencontré aujourd’hui à Iqaluit des représentants de la société Nunavut Tunngavik Inc. ainsi que le premier ministre du Nunavut, Peter Taptuna, pour parler des mesures prévues dans le budget de 2016 du gouvernement du Canada, intitulé Assurer la croissance de la classe moyenne. Il a souligné les mesures qui seraient avantageuses pour les habitants du Nord et qui permettraient de renouveler la relation avec les peuples autochtones du Canada. Dans le cadre de sa visite, le secrétaire parlementaire rencontrera aussi les membres de la Chambre de commerce régionale de Baffin.

Pour que la croissance économique soit partagée par l’ensemble de la population canadienne, le budget de 2016 contient des mesures renouvelées afin d’offrir les mêmes possibilités de réussite à toutes les Canadiennes et à tous les Canadiens, peu importe qui ils sont et d’où ils viennent. Ces mesures comprennent des investissements sans précédent à l’intention des peuples autochtones, totalisant 8,4 milliards de dollars sur cinq ans, dans des domaines tels que l’éducation, l’infrastructure et la formation axée sur les compétences.

Le budget de 2016 accorde jusqu’à 177,7 millions de dollars sur deux ans, à compter de 2016-2017, aux provinces et aux territoires dans le but de répondre aux besoins urgents en matière de logement. Ce financement comprend 76,7 millions de dollars destinés au Nunavut et des investissements additionnels dans les trois autres régions inuites.

Le budget de 2016 propose aussi d’augmenter la déduction pour les habitants de régions éloignées, d’accroître le financement du programme Nutrition Nord Canada et d’instaurer une nouvelle Allocation canadienne pour enfants qui est plus simple, libre d’impôt, mieux ciblée et beaucoup plus généreuse que le système actuel de prestations fédérales pour enfants. La nouvelle Allocation canadienne pour enfants permettra à neuf familles sur dix de disposer de plus d’argent et aidera à sortir des centaines de milliers d’enfants de la pauvreté.

Le secrétaire parlementaire a également discuté du plan historique du gouvernement qui consiste à investir plus de 120 milliards de dollars dans l’infrastructure au cours des dix prochaines années. Ces investissements créeront une économie plus moderne et plus propre, une société plus inclusive et un pays mieux placé pour soutenir la concurrence à l’échelle mondiale.

Citations

« Des familles et des collectivités fortes sont essentielles au succès économique du Canada. Il est important que les habitants du Nord et les peuples autochtones du Canada profitent de la croissance économique et de la prospérité du pays. Assurer la croissance de la classe moyenne franchit des étapes importantes en vue de renouveler notre relation avec les peuples autochtones et d’éliminer les obstacles qui, depuis trop longtemps, empêchent les personnes et les collectivités de réaliser leur plein potentiel. »

- François-Philippe Champagne, secrétaire parlementaire du ministre des Finances

« Le budget de 2016 donne au Canada une nouvelle orientation et témoigne de l’engagement de notre gouvernement envers les résidents du Nord. »

- Hunter Tootoo, ministre des Pêches, des Océans et de la Garde côtière canadienne

Produits connexes

Contacts

Annie Donolo
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5697

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés