Backgrounder: Middle Class Tax Cut

The Government’s proposed middle class tax cut and accompanying proposals will help make the tax system fairer so that all Canadians have the opportunity to succeed and prosper. The new measures consist of the following:

  • Reducing the second personal income tax rate to 20.5 per cent from 22 per cent. This would take effect on January 1, 2016 and for subsequent taxation years.
  • Introducing a 33-per-cent personal income tax rate on individual taxable income in excess of $200,000, effective for the 2016 and subsequent taxation years.
  • Returning the Tax-Free Savings Account (TFSA) annual contribution limit to $5,500 from $10,000 and reinstating indexation of the TFSA annual contribution limit, effective for the 2016 and subsequent taxation years.

In addition to these proposed tax changes, other amendments to the Income Tax Act, as described below, are proposed as consequential to the introduction of the new 33-per-cent personal income tax rate.

Going forward, the Government will introduce proposals in the budget to create a new Canada Child Benefit. Payments under the new Canada Child Benefit would begin in July 2016. In addition to replacing the Universal Child Care Benefit, which is not tied to income, the proposed Canada Child Benefit would simplify and consolidate existing child benefits while ensuring that help is better targeted to those who need it most. The Government also intends to introduce legislative amendments, at an early opportunity, to repeal income splitting for families with children (not pension income splitting) for the 2016 and subsequent taxation years. 

Personal Income Tax Rate Changes

Reducing the Second Personal Income Tax Rate to 20.5 Per Cent

The Government proposes to reduce the second personal income tax rate to 20.5 per cent from 22 per cent. This reduced rate would take effect on January 1, 2016 and for subsequent taxation years.

About 9 million Canadians are expected to benefit from this measure in 2016. Single individuals who benefit will see an average tax reduction of $330 every year, and couples who benefit will see an average tax reduction of $540 every year. The maximum tax reduction will be $679 per individual and $1,358 per couple.

Introducing a Personal Income Tax Rate of 33 Per Cent

The Government proposes to introduce a new personal income tax rate of 33 per cent. This tax rate would apply to individual taxable income in excess of $200,000. This new rate would take effect on January 1, 2016 and for subsequent taxation years.

As with other bracket thresholds, the $200,000 threshold would be indexed to inflation.

Approximately one per cent of Canadians who file a tax return are expected to pay more tax as a result of the Government’s proposed changes to personal income tax rates.

Table 1 shows the existing and proposed personal income tax rate schedule for 2016.

Table 1
Existing and Proposed Personal Income Tax Rates, 2016
Taxable Income Existing Rate (%) New Rate (%)
Up to $45,282 15.0 15.0
$45,282 - $90,563 22.0 20.5
$90,563 - $140,388 26.0 26.0
$140,388 - $200,000 29.0 29.0
Over $200,000 29.0 33.0

Consequential Changes Due to the New Personal Tax Rate of 33 Per Cent

A number of other income tax rules either use the top personal income tax rate or use rates or formulas that reflect it. The main rules of this nature would be adjusted as part of today’s proposals as described below. The Government will review other income tax rules to determine whether they require adjustment, and any required amendments will be announced at an early opportunity.

Trusts and Estates

Under the current tax rules applicable for 2016, trusts (other than qualified disability trusts) and estates (other than graduated rate estates) pay tax at the top federal marginal tax rate applicable to individuals.

Effective for the 2016 and subsequent taxation years, trusts and estates will remain subject to flat top-rate taxation at the new rate of 33 per cent. Qualified disability trusts and graduated rate estates will remain subject to the progressive personal income tax rate structure, including the 33-per-cent rate on taxable income in excess of $200,000.

Tax on Split Income

Under the income tax rules, the tax on split income applies the highest marginal tax rate to “split income” paid or payable to a minor. In general, split income comprises taxable dividends received directly or indirectly in respect of certain unlisted shares, capital gains from the disposition of such shares to persons dealing not at arm’s length with the minor, and certain partnership or trust income.

Effective for the 2016 and subsequent taxation years, the tax on split income will remain subject to flat top-rate taxation at the new rate of 33 per cent.

Charitable Donations

Individuals who make charitable donations to registered charities and other qualified donees may be eligible to claim a federal Charitable Donation Tax Credit. The Government proposes to amend the Charitable Donation Tax Credit to allow higher-income donors to claim a 33-per-cent tax credit on the portion of donations made from income that is subject to the new 33-per-cent marginal tax rate. This change will be effective for the 2016 and subsequent taxation years.

Annual donations up to and including $200 will continue to receive the 15-per-cent credit rate. Donations in excess of $200:

  • will continue to qualify for the 29-per-cent credit rate, except to the extent that the 33-per-cent credit rate applies; and
  • will receive the 33-per-cent credit rate, on the lesser of the amount of those donations and the donor’s taxable income in excess of $200,000.

For example:

  • If a taxpayer had $220,000 in taxable income and charitable donations of $10,000, a 33-per-cent credit rate would be applied on the full amount of the donation above the first $200 (i.e., $9,800).
  • If instead the individual donated $30,000, the 33-per-cent rate would be applied on $20,000 (15 per cent would apply to the first $200, and 29 per cent would apply to the remaining $9,800).

Investment Income of Private Corporations

Given that corporate tax rates are generally lower than personal tax rates, special refundable taxes are imposed on investment income of private corporations in order to limit the ability of individuals to defer taxation by holding investments in a private corporation. It is proposed that these refundable taxes and the related refund rate be increased effective January 1, 2016 to reflect the proposed new 33-per-cent personal income tax rate. Specifically:

  • the refundable additional Part I tax on investment income of Canadian-controlled private corporations (CCPCs) will be increased by 4 percentage points (to 10.67 per cent from 6.67 per cent);
  • the refundable portion of Part I tax on investment income of CCPCs will be increased by 4 percentage points (to 30.67 per cent from 26.67 per cent);
  • the refundable Part IV tax on portfolio dividends received by private corporations will be increased by 5 percentage points (to 38.33 per cent from 33.33 per cent); and
  • the rate at which refunds are made out of a private corporation’s pool of refundable taxes previously paid (known as “Refundable Dividend Tax on Hand”) when it pays dividends will be increased by 5 percentage points (to 38.33 per cent from 33.33 per cent of dividends paid).

Returning the TFSA Annual Contribution Limit to $5,500 and Reinstating Indexation

The Government proposes to return the Tax-Free Savings Account (TFSA) annual contribution limit to $5,500 from $10,000 effective January 1, 2016, and to reinstate indexation of the annual contribution limit. The TFSA annual contribution limit for 2015 remains $10,000.

In combination with other registered savings plans, a $5,500 TFSA annual contribution limit will permit most individuals to meet their ongoing savings needs in a tax-efficient manner.

The determination of tax payable on over-contributions to a TFSA will, as of January 1, 2016, be based on a $5,500 annual contribution limit for 2016.

Indexation maintains the real value of the TFSA annual contribution limit over time. The TFSA annual contribution limit was set at $5,000 in 2009 and was indexed to inflation using the Consumer Price Index (CPI), rounded to the nearest $500, until 2015. Consistent with the indexation system in place prior to 2015, the TFSA annual contribution limit for 2016 and subsequent years will be based on the $5,000 TFSA annual contribution limit available in 2009, indexed to inflation using the CPI for each year after 2009 and rounded to the nearest $500.

Fiscal Cost

Table 2 shows the net fiscal cost of the proposed tax measures.

Table 2
Fiscal Cost of Proposed Tax Changes
(millions of dollars)
  2015-16 2016-17 2017-18 2018-19 2019-20 2020-21 Total
Personal Income Tax Rate Changes 355 1,430 1,510 1,580 1,645 1,715 8,235
Of which:
Reducing second personal income tax rate to 20.5% from 22%
845 3,435 3,665 3,875 4,085 4,305 20,210
Introducing 33% personal income tax rate on taxable income in excess of $200,0001,2 (490) (2,005) (2,155) (2,295) (2,440) (2,590) (11,975)
Consequential Changes 30 (85) (180) (125) (110) (115) (585)
Of which:
Adjusting the Charitable Donation Tax Credit
30 125 130 135 140 145 705
Revising rates of refundable taxes on investment income of private corporations 0 (210) (310) (260) (250) (260) (1,290)
Returning the TFSA Annual Contribution Limit to $5,500 and Reinstating Indexation (15) (80) (150) (215) (275) (330) (1,065)
Net Fiscal Cost of Proposed New Measures 370 1,265 1,180 1,240 1,260 1,270 6,585
Note: Amounts are reported as costs to the Government, so negative amounts shown in parentheses represent increases in Government revenue.
1 The estimates of the revenue gain from introducing the 33-per-cent rate assume that those affected would respond by reducing their taxable income. The overall impact of tax rate changes on taxable income is captured by a measure known as the elasticity of taxable income. These estimates assume an elasticity of taxable income of 0.4.
2 The revenue estimates for the consequential changes for trusts and the tax on split income are included in the estimates of the revenue impact of the 33-per-cent rate.

Document d’information : Baisse d’impôt pour la classe moyenne

La baisse d’impôt pour la classe moyenne proposée par le gouvernement et les propositions qui l’accompagnent contribueront à rendre le régime fiscal plus équitable pour permettre à tous les Canadiens de réussir et de prospérer. Les nouvelles mesures sont les suivantes :

  • la réduction du deuxième taux d’imposition du revenu des particuliers, qui passerait de 22 % à 20,5 %; cette mesure entrerait en vigueur le 1er janvier 2016;
  • l’établissement d’un taux d’imposition du revenu des particuliers de 33 % sur le revenu imposable des particuliers qui excède 200 000 $, pour les années d’imposition 2016 et suivantes;
  • l’abaissement du plafond de cotisation annuel à un compte d’épargne libre d’impôt (CELI), qui serait ramené de 10 000 $ à 5 500 $, et le rétablissement de l’indexation du plafond de cotisation annuel à un CELI, pour les années d’imposition 2016 et suivantes.

En plus de ces modifications fiscales proposées, d’autres modifications à la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu, décrites ci-dessous, sont proposées pour faire suite à l’établissement du nouveau taux d’imposition du revenu des particuliers de 33 %.

Le gouvernement présentera dans le budget des propositions visant la création d’une nouvelle Allocation canadienne pour enfants. Des paiements au titre de la nouvelle Allocation canadienne pour enfants commenceraient à être effectués en juillet 2016. En plus de remplacer la Prestation universelle pour la garde d’enfants, qui n’est pas liée au revenu, l’Allocation canadienne pour enfants proposée aurait pour effet de simplifier et de consolider les prestations pour enfants en vigueur, tout en veillant à ce que le soutien soit mieux ciblé pour ceux qui en ont le plus besoin. Le gouvernement compte aussi présenter, dès que l’occasion se présentera, des modifications législatives visant l’abrogation du fractionnement du revenu des familles ayant des enfants (pas le fractionnement du revenu de pension) pour les années d’imposition 2016 et suivantes.

Modifications aux taux d’imposition du revenu des particuliers

Réduction du deuxième taux d’imposition du revenu des particuliers, fixé à 20,5 %

Le gouvernement propose de réduire le deuxième taux d’imposition du revenu des particuliers, qui passerait de 22 % à 20,5 %. Ce taux réduit entrerait en vigueur le 1er janvier 2016.

Il est attendu qu’environ neuf millions de Canadiens bénéficieront de cette mesure en 2016. Les particuliers sans conjoint qui en bénéficient se verront accorder un allègement fiscal moyen de 330 $ chaque année, et les couples qui en bénéficient se verront accorder un allègement fiscal moyen de 540 $ chaque année. L’allègement fiscal maximal s’élèvera à 679 $ par particulier et à 1 358 $ par couple.

Établissement d’un taux d’imposition du revenu des particuliers de 33 %

Le gouvernement propose d’établir un nouveau taux d’imposition du revenu des particuliers de 33 %. Ce taux d’imposition s’appliquerait au revenu imposable des particuliers qui excède 200 000 $. Ce nouveau taux entrerait en vigueur le 1er janvier 2016.

Comme les autres seuils des fourchettes d’imposition, le seuil de 200 000 $ serait indexé au taux de l’inflation.

Environ 1 % des Canadiens qui produisent une déclaration de revenus devraient payer plus d’impôt en conséquence des modifications aux taux d’imposition du revenu des particuliers proposées par le gouvernement.

Le tableau 1 illustre le barème des taux d’imposition du revenu des particuliers en vigueur et proposés pour 2016.

Tableau 1
Taux d'imposition du revenu des particuliers en vigueur et proposés pour 2016
Revenu imposable Taux en vigueur (%) Nouveau taux (%)
45 282 $ ou moins 15,0 15,0
45,282 $ – 90 563 $ 22,0 20,5
90 563 $ – 140 388 $ 26,0 26,0
140 388 $ – 200 000 $ 29,0 29,0
Plus de 200 000 $ 29,0 33,0

Modifications corrélatives à l’établissement du nouveau taux d’imposition du revenu des particuliers de 33 %

Plusieurs autres règles relatives à l’impôt sur le revenu ont recours au taux supérieur d’imposition du revenu des particuliers ou à des taux ou formules qui tiennent compte de ce taux. Dans le cadre des propositions annoncées aujourd’hui, les principales règles de cette nature seraient rajustées de la façon décrite ci-dessous. Le gouvernement examinera les autres règles relatives à l’impôt sur le revenu pour déterminer si elles doivent être rajustées, et les modifications nécessaires seront annoncées dès que l’occasion se présentera.

Fiducies et successions

En vertu des règles fiscales en vigueur qui s’appliquent pour 2016, les fiducies (sauf les fiducies admissibles pour personne handicapée) et les successions (sauf les successions assujetties à l’imposition à taux progressifs) sont imposées au taux marginal supérieur d’impôt fédéral pour les particuliers.

Pour les années d’imposition 2016 et suivantes, les fiducies et les successions demeureront assujetties à l’imposition uniforme au taux maximal, soit au nouveau taux de 33 %. Les fiducies admissibles pour personne handicapée et les successions assujetties à l’imposition à taux progressifs demeureront assujetties au régime progressif d’impôt sur le revenu des particuliers, y compris au taux de 33 % applicable au revenu imposable qui excède 200 000 $.

Impôt sur le revenu fractionné

En vertu des règles relatives à l’impôt sur le revenu, le taux d’imposition marginal supérieur est appliqué dans le calcul de l’impôt sur le revenu fractionné au « revenu fractionné » payé ou à payer à un mineur. De façon générale, le revenu fractionné comprend les dividendes imposables reçus directement ou indirectement relativement à des actions non cotées, les gains en capital issus de la disposition de ce type d’actions en faveur d’une personne ayant un lien de dépendance avec le mineur et certains revenus reçus d’une société de personnes ou d’une fiducie.

Pour les années d’imposition 2016 et suivantes, l’impôt sur le revenu fractionné demeurera assujetti à l’imposition uniforme au taux maximal, soit au nouveau taux de 33 %.

Dons de bienfaisance

Les particuliers qui font des dons de bienfaisance à des organismes de bienfaisance enregistrés et à d’autres donataires reconnus peuvent avoir droit au crédit d’impôt fédéral pour dons de bienfaisance. Le gouvernement propose de modifier le crédit d’impôt pour dons de bienfaisance pour permettre aux donateurs ayant un revenu élevé de demander un crédit d’impôt de 33 % sur la portion des dons provenant du revenu qui est assujetti au nouveau taux d’imposition marginal de 33 %. Cette modification sera en vigueur à compter de l’année d’imposition 2016.

Le taux de 15 % pour les dons de bienfaisance continuera de s’appliquer aux dons annuels qui n’excèdent pas 200 $. La partie des dons qui excède 200 $ :

  • continuera de donner droit au taux de crédit de 29 %, sauf lorsque le taux de crédit de 33 % s’applique;
  • donnera droit au taux de crédit de 33 % sur le montant le moins élevé entre le montant de ces dons et le revenu imposable du donateur qui excède 200 000 $.

Par exemple :

  • Si le revenu imposable d’un contribuable s’établissait à 220 000 $ et que ses dons de bienfaisance totalisaient 10 000 $, le taux de 33 % s’appliquerait à l’ensemble de la partie des dons qui excède 200 $ (soit 9 800 $).
  • Par contre, si les dons de bienfaisance du contribuable totalisaient 30 000 $, le taux de 33 % s’appliquerait au montant de 20 000 $ (le taux de 15 % s’appliquerait à la première tranche de 200 $, et le taux de 29 % à la partie restante, soit 9 800 $).

Revenu de placement des sociétés privées

Étant donné que les taux d’imposition des sociétés sont généralement inférieurs aux taux d’imposition des particuliers, des impôts remboursables spéciaux s’appliquent au revenu de placement des sociétés privées afin de limiter la capacité des particuliers de reporter l’imposition en détenant des placements dans une société privée. Il est proposé de hausser ces impôts remboursables, et le taux de remboursement applicable, à compter du 1er janvier 2016 pour tenir compte du nouveau taux d’imposition du revenu des particuliers de 33 % qui est proposé. Plus précisément, les modifications proposées sont les suivantes : 

  • l’impôt supplémentaire de la partie I remboursable qui est prélevé sur le revenu de placement des sociétés privées sous contrôle canadien (SPCC) sera haussé de quatre points de pourcentage (pour passer de 6,67 % à 10,67 %);
  • la partie remboursable de l’impôt de la partie I qui est prélevé sur le revenu de placement des SPCC sera haussée de quatre points de pourcentage (pour passer de 26,67 % à 30,67 %);
  • l’impôt de la partie IV remboursable qui est prélevé sur les dividendes de portefeuille que reçoivent les sociétés privées sera haussé de cinq points de pourcentage (pour passer de 33,33 % à 38,33 %);
  • le taux auquel des remboursements sont effectués à partir des réserves d’impôts remboursables payés précédemment (ces réserves étant appelées « impôt en main remboursable au titre de dividendes ») d’une société privée lorsqu’elle verse des dividendes sera haussé de cinq points de pourcentage (pour passer de 33,33 % à 38,33 % des dividendes versés).

Abaissement du plafond de cotisation annuel à un CELI, ramené à 5 500 $, et rétablissement de l’indexation

Le gouvernement propose d’abaisser le plafond de cotisation annuel à un compte d’épargne libre d’impôt (CELI), qui serait ramené de 10 000 $ à 5 500 $ le 1er janvier 2016, et de rétablir l’indexation du plafond de cotisation annuel. Le plafond de cotisation annuel à un CELI de 10 000 $ pour 2015 est maintenu.

Combiné à d’autres régimes d’épargne enregistrés, un plafond de cotisation annuel à un CELI de 5 500 $ permettra à la plupart des particuliers de répondre à leurs besoins courants en matière d’épargne de manière avantageuse sur le plan fiscal.

Le calcul de l’impôt à payer sur les cotisations excédentaires à un CELI sera fondé, à compter du 1er janvier 2016, sur le plafond de cotisation annuel de 5 500 $ pour 2016.

L’indexation préserve la valeur réelle du plafond de cotisation annuel à un CELI au fil des ans. Le plafond de cotisation annuel à un CELI s’établissait à 5 000 $ en 2009 et était indexé au taux de l’inflation en fonction de l’indice des prix à la consommation (IPC), arrondi au plus proche multiple de 500 $, jusqu’en 2015. Conformément au régime d’indexation instauré avant 2015, le plafond de cotisation annuel à un CELI pour les années 2016 et suivantes sera fondé sur le plafond de cotisation annuel à un CELI de 5 000 $ en vigueur en 2009, indexé au taux de l’inflation en fonction de l’IPC pour chaque année postérieure à 2009 et arrondi au plus proche multiple de 500 $.

Coût financier

Le tableau 2 indique le coût financier net des mesures fiscales proposées.

Tableau 2
Coût financier des modifications fiscales proposées
(en millions de dollars)
      2015-2016 2016-2017 2017-2018 2018-2019 2019-2020 2020-2021 Total
Modifications aux taux d’imposition du revenu des particuliers 355 1 430 1 510 1 580 1 645 1 715 8 235
notamment :
Réduction du deuxième taux d’imposition du revenu des particuliers, qui passerait de 22 % à 20,5 %  
845 3 435 3 665 3 875 4 085 4 305 20 210
Établissement d’un taux d’imposition du revenu des particuliers de 33 % sur le revenu imposable qui excède 200 000 $1,2 (490) (2 005) (2 155) (2 295) (2 440) (2 590) (11 975)
Modifications corrélatives 30 (85) (180) (125) (110) (115) (585)
notamment :
Rajustement du crédit d’impôt pour dons de bienfaisance
30 125 130 135 140 145 705
Révision des taux des impôts remboursables sur le revenu de placement des sociétés privées 0 (210) (310) (260) (250) (260) (1 290)
Abaissement du plafond de cotisation annuel à un CELI pour le ramener à 5 500 $ et rétablissement de l’indexation (15) (80) (150) (215) (275) (330) (1 065)
Coût financier net des nouvelles mesures proposées 370 1 265 1 180 1 240 1 260 1 270 6 585
Remarque : Les montants sont déclarés à titre de coûts pour le gouvernement; les montants négatifs entre parenthèses indiquent des hausses dans les recettes du gouvernement.
1 Les estimations des hausses des recettes provenant de l'établissement du taux de 33 % reposent sur l'hypothèse selon laquelle ceux qui sont touchés réagiraient en réduisant leur revenu imposable. L'incidence globale des modifications aux taux d'imposition sur le revenu imposable est prise en compte dans le cadre d'une mesure appelée l'élasticité du revenu imposable. Ces estimations reposent sur une hypothèse d'élasticité du revenu imposable de 0,4.
2 Les estimations des recettes se rapportant aux modifications corrélatives visant les fiducies et l'impôt sur le revenu fractionné sont comprises dans l'incidence du taux de 33 % sur les recettes.