Government Announces the 2016 Automobile Deduction Limits and Expense Benefit Rates for Business

December 24, 2015 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Bill Morneau today announced the income tax deduction limits and expense benefit rates that will apply in 2016 when using an automobile for business purposes.

Although most of the limits and rates that applied in 2015 will continue to apply in 2016, there are two changes taking effect as of 2016.

The first is that the limit on the deduction of tax-exempt allowances that are paid by employers to employees who use their personal vehicle for business purposes will be reduced by 1 cent to 54 cents per kilometre for the first 5,000 kilometres driven, and to 48 cents per kilometre for each additional kilometre.

For the Northwest Territories, Nunavut and Yukon, the tax-exempt allowance is 4 cents higher, and will be reduced by 1 cent to 58 cents per kilometre for the first 5,000 kilometres driven, and to 52 cents per kilometre for each additional kilometre.

These allowances are intended to reflect the main costs of owning and operating an automobile, such as depreciation, financing, insurance, maintenance and fuel.

The second change in 2016 is that the general prescribed rate that is used to determine the taxable benefit of employees relating to the personal portion of automobile operating expenses paid by their employers will be reduced by 1 cent to 26 cents per kilometre.

For taxpayers who are employed principally in selling or leasing automobiles, the prescribed rate used to determine the employee’s taxable benefit will be reduced by 1 cent to 23 cents per kilometre. The amount of this benefit is intended to reflect the costs of operating an automobile.

The additional benefit of having an employer-provided vehicle available for personal use (i.e., the automobile standby charge) is calculated separately based on capital costs and is also included in the employee’s income.

The following limits from 2015 will remain in place for 2016:

  • The ceiling on the capital cost of passenger vehicles for capital cost allowance (CCA) purposes will remain at $30,000 (plus applicable federal and provincial sales taxes) for purchases after 2015. This ceiling restricts the cost of a vehicle on which CCA may be claimed for business purposes.
  • The maximum allowable interest deduction for amounts borrowed to purchase an automobile will remain at $300 per month for loans related to vehicles acquired after 2015.
  • The limit on deductible leasing costs will remain at $800 per month (plus applicable federal and provincial sales taxes) for leases entered into after 2015. This limit is one of two restrictions on the deduction of automobile lease payments. A separate restriction prorates deductible lease costs where the value of the vehicle exceeds the capital cost ceiling.

Media Contacts

Daniel Lauzon
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance

Stay Connected

Le gouvernement annonce les plafonds de déduction des frais d’automobile et les taux des avantages relatifs à l’utilisation d’une automobile pour les entreprises applicables en 2016

Le 24 décembre 2015 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Bill Morneau, a annoncé aujourd’hui les plafonds de déduction des frais d’automobile et les taux prescrits des avantages relatifs aux frais d’utilisation d’un véhicule automobile aux fins de l’impôt sur le revenu qui s’appliqueront en 2016.

Même si la plupart des plafonds et des taux qui s’appliquaient en 2015 continueront de s’appliquer en 2016, deux changements entreront en vigueur à compter de 2016.

Premier changement : Le plafond de déduction des allocations exonérées d’impôt versées par les employeurs aux employés qui utilisent leur véhicule personnel pour le travail sera réduit de 1 ¢, pour passer à 54 ¢ le kilomètre pour la première tranche de 5 000 kilomètres parcourus, et à 48 ¢ par kilomètre additionnel.

Au Yukon, au Nunavut et dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, le plafond d’exonération, qui est fixé à 4 ¢ de plus, sera également réduit de 1 ¢; il sera de 58 ¢ le kilomètre pour la première tranche de 5 000 kilomètres parcourus et de 52 ¢ par kilomètre additionnel.

Ces montants tiennent compte des principaux éléments contribuant au coût de propriété et d’exploitation d’une automobile, tels que la dépréciation, les frais de financement, l’assurance, l’entretien et le carburant.

Deuxième changement en 2016 : Le taux général prescrit servant à déterminer la valeur de l’avantage imposable qu’un employé reçoit au titre de la partie personnelle des frais de fonctionnement d’une automobile payés par l’employeur sera réduit de 1 ¢, pour passer à 26 ¢ le kilomètre.

Pour les contribuables dont l’emploi principal consiste à vendre ou à louer des automobiles, il a été annoncé que le taux prescrit sera réduit de 1 ¢, pour être porté à 23 ¢ le kilomètre. Ce taux reflète le coût d’exploitation d’une automobile.

L’avantage additionnel lié au droit d’usage d’une automobile (c’est-à-dire au fait, pour un employé, de pouvoir utiliser à des fins personnelles un véhicule fourni par l’employeur) est calculé séparément, en fonction du coût de l'automobile, et il est également inclus dans le revenu de l’employé.

Les plafonds suivants pour 2015 continueront de s’appliquer en 2016 :

  • Le plafond de la valeur amortissable des voitures de tourisme aux fins de la déduction pour amortissement (DPA) restera fixé à 30 000 $ (plus les taxes de vente fédérale et provinciale applicables) pour les achats effectués après 2015. Ce plafond limite le coût d’un véhicule pouvant être déclaré à titre de dépense d’entreprise aux fins de la DPA.
  • Le plafond de déductibilité des frais d’intérêt payés sur les sommes empruntées pour l’achat d’un véhicule automobile restera fixé à 300 $ par mois pour les prêts effectués après 2015.
  • Le plafond de déductibilité des frais de location d’un véhicule automobile restera fixé à 800 $ par mois (plus les taxes de vente fédérale et provinciale applicables) pour les contrats de location-bail conclus après 2015. Cette limite est l’une des deux restrictions s’appliquant à la déduction des frais de location d’une automobile; par ailleurs, lorsque la valeur du véhicule dépasse le plafond de la valeur amortissable, les frais déductibles représentent une proportion des frais de location.

Contacts

Daniel Lauzon
Directeur des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-286-4285

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés