Archived - PM announces measure to support jobs and growth in the LNG industry

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

February 19, 2015 - Surrey, British Columbia

Introduction

Prime Minister Stephen Harper today announced the Government's intent to support the creation of new and well-paying jobs in the emerging liquefied natural gas (LNG) industry. He was joined by James Moore, Minister of Industry, Alice Wong, Minister of State (Seniors), Wai Young, Member of Parliament for Vancouver South, and Bob Zimmer, Member of Parliament for Prince George–Peace River.

In order to ensure that Canadian natural gas can reach new and growing international markets, and make it accessible for new domestic uses, the Government intends to establish a capital cost allowance rate of 30 per cent for equipment used in natural gas liquefaction and 10 per cent for buildings at a facility that liquefies natural gas. This tax relief will be available for capital assets acquired after February 19, 2015, and before 2025. 

Canada has an important opportunity to build on its record of developing natural resources in a responsible manner while securing long-term prosperity for Canadian families. Canada benefits from large reserves of natural gas but has limited capacity to supply it to emerging international and domestic markets where demand is growing. 

This measure will allow companies investing in new facilities that liquefy natural gas to create jobs and economic growth, while recovering their investment more quickly. It will also encourage investment in facilities that liquefy natural gas to supply emerging international and domestic markets.

Quick Facts

  • The supply of LNG to both domestic and international markets represents an important new market for Canadian natural gas production.
  • The International Energy Agency expects global LNG trade to rise by 40 per cent between 2013 and 2019.
  • Over the International Energy Agency's projection period, growth in natural gas demand in Asia is expected to represent half of the world's incremental needs.
  • In domestic markets, LNG is increasingly used in remote power generation and the high-horsepower engines used in trucking, shipping, rail, drilling rigs and pressure pumping services.
  • LNG has the potential to significantly reduce greenhouse gas emissions internationally when it replaces coal for power generation and replaces diesel in many domestic applications.

Quotes

"Our Government is committed to providing the right conditions so that industries and businesses can succeed and compete in the global economy, by lowering taxes, cutting red tape and encouraging entrepreneurship.  Today's announcement builds on our low tax plan for jobs and growth, strengthening the already strong case for business investment in Canada." – Prime Minister Stephen Harper

"Through our ambitious trade agenda, we are opening new markets for Canadian businesses and developing the infrastructure to transport Canadian products to new markets, which is essential for Canada's future prosperity and security." – Prime Minister Stephen Harper

Related Products

Media Contacts

PMO Press Office: 613-957-5555

Stéphanie Rubec
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Archivé - Le PM annonce des mesures pour appuyer les emplois et la croissance dans l'industrie du GNL

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 19 février 2015 - Surrey (Colombie-Britannique)

Introduction

Le Premier ministre Stephen Harper a aujourd'hui annoncé l'intention du gouvernement d'appuyer la création de nouveaux emplois bien rémunérés dans l'industrie du gaz naturel liquéfié (GNL) émergente. Il était accompagné de James Moore, ministre de l'Industrie, Alice Wong, ministre d'État (Aînés), Wai Young, députée de Vancouver-Sud, et Bob Zimmer, député de Prince George-Peace River.

Afin d'assurer que le gaz naturel canadien puisse se rendre dans les nouveaux marchés internationaux en croissance et faciliter sa commercialisation pour de nouvelles utilisations sur le marché intérieur, le gouvernement propose d'établir un taux de déduction pour amortissement de 30 pour cent pour le matériel utilisé dans la liquéfaction du gaz naturel et de 10 pour cent pour les bâtiments se trouvant dans les installations de liquéfaction de gaz naturel. Cet allègement fiscal s'appliquera relativement aux immobilisations acquises après le 19 février 2015 et avant 2025.

Il s'agit d'une occasion importante pour le Canada de continuer à miser sur ses initiatives en matière de développement responsable des ressources naturelles, tout en assurant la prospérité économique à long terme des familles canadiennes. Le Canada a l'avantage d'avoir d'importantes réserves de gaz naturel, mais a une capacité limitée pour le fournir aux marchés internationaux et intérieurs émergents dans lesquels la demande augmente.

La mesure annoncée aujourd'hui permettra aux sociétés investissant dans de nouvelles installations de liquéfaction de gaz naturel de récupérer leur coût d'investissement plus rapidement,  tout en créant des emplois et en soutenant la croissance économique. Cette mesure favorisera également l'investissement dans des installations de liquéfaction de gaz naturel aux fins d'approvisionner les marchés internationaux et intérieurs émergents.      

Faits saillants

  • L'approvisionnement en GNL aux marchés intérieurs et internationaux représente un nouveau marché important pour la production canadienne de gaz naturel.
  • L'Agence internationale de l'énergie prévoit que le commerce mondial de GNL augmentera de 40% entre 2013 et 2019.    
  • Au cours de la période de projection de l'Agence internationale de l'énergie, on s'attend à ce que la demande en gaz naturel en Asie s'accroisse pour représenter la moitié de la demande mondiale croissante.
  • Concernant les marchés intérieurs, le GNL est de plus en plus utilisé dans la production d'énergie dans les régions éloignées, dans l'alimentation de moteurs à grande puissance utilisés dans le domaine du camionnage, de la navigation maritime, du transport ferroviaire et du forage, ainsi que dans le pompage à pression.
  • Le GNL pourrait réduire de façon importante les émissions de gaz à effet de serre à l'échelle internationale en remplaçant l'utilisation du charbon dans la production d'énergie et, au pays, en remplaçant celle du diesel dans les applications.

Citations

« Le gouvernement a pris l'engagement de mettre en place les conditions propices à la réussite des entreprises et à leur compétitivité dans l'économie mondiale en réduisant les impôts, en éliminant les formalités administratives et en appuyant l'entreprenariat. La mesure annoncée aujourd'hui s'ajoute à ce plan axé sur les impôts bas visant la croissance et bonifiera les incitatifs existants qui favorisent l'investissement au Canada. » – Le Premier Ministre Stephen Harper

« En poursuivant notre ambitieux programme commercial, nous sommes en train d'ouvrir de nouveaux marchés pour les entreprises canadiennes et de développer l'infrastructure pour le transport des produits canadiens vers de nouveaux marchés, ce qui est essentiel pour la prospérité et la sécurité futures du Canada. » – Le Premier Ministre Stephen Harper

Produits connexes

Contacts

Service de presse du CPM : 613-957-5555

Stéphanie Rubec
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des finances
613-369-4000