Archived - Harper Government Delivers Increased Tax Cuts and Benefits to Families

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

New measures announced in 2014 will leave more money in the hands of Canadian families in 2015

December 30, 2014 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver today highlighted new tax cuts and increased benefits that would help hard-working Canadian families make ends meet, by making important priorities like child care and after-school sports more affordable in 2015.

Quick Facts

  • All families with children under the age of 18 will benefit from tax cuts and increased benefits announced in 2014 that will help make life more affordable. Under the proposed changes:
    • the Universal Child Care Benefit (UCCB) for children under the age of 6 would increase to $160 per month per child—up from $100 per month—as of January 1, 2015;
    • the UCCB would be expanded to include a new benefit of $60 per month for children aged 6 through 17 as of January 1, 2015;  
    • the Child Care Expense Deduction dollar limits would increase by $1,000 as of the 2015 taxation year; and 
    • the Family Tax Cut, a new federal non-refundable tax credit, would provide up to $2,000 in tax relief to couples with children under the age of 18 as of the 2014 taxation year; the credit would be claimable on income tax returns filed in the spring of 2015.
  • Enhanced payments for the UCCB would begin to be reflected in monthly payments to recipients in July 2015. The July 2015 payment would include up to six months of benefits to cover the January to June 2015 period.
  • The enhanced UCCB would replace the existing Child Tax Credit for the 2015 and subsequent taxation years. By replacing the Child Tax Credit with the enhanced UCCB, all families with incomes too low to be taxable, and who cannot take advantage of the Child Tax Credit, would benefit.
  • Parents will also be able to take advantage of the new $1,000 maximum limit for the Children’s Fitness Tax Credit—double the previous limit—when they file their income tax returns for the 2014 taxation year. In addition, as of the 2015 taxation year, the Children’s Fitness Tax Credit will become refundable, benefiting families with incomes too low to be taxable.


“Across Canada, families are working hard. That is why our Government has introduced new measures that will make raising a family more affordable. Under our plan, every family with children will benefit, with more money to spend on the things that matter most to them like after-school and sports activities and saving up for a university education.”

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

Additional Links

Media Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance

Stéphanie Rubec
Media Relations
Department of Finance

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le gouvernement Harper met en œuvre des baisses d’impôt et des prestations bonifiées pour les familles

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Les nouvelles mesures annoncées en 2014 permettront aux familles canadiennes de conserver une plus grande part de leur argent en 2015

Le 30 décembre 2014 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a mis en relief aujourd’hui les nouvelles baisses d’impôt et les prestations bonifiées qui aideront les familles canadiennes qui travaillent fort à joindre les deux bouts, en rendant plus abordables en 2015 des priorités importantes telles que les services de garde d’enfants et les activités sportives parascolaires.

Les faits en bref

  • Toutes les familles qui ont des enfants âgés de moins de 18 ans profiteront des baisses d’impôt et des prestations bonifiées annoncées en 2014 qui rendront le coût de la vie plus abordable pour ces familles. Aux termes des modifications proposées :
    • la Prestation universelle pour la garde d’enfants (PUGE) destinée aux enfants de moins de 6 ans passerait de 100 $ à 160 $ par mois par enfant à compter du 1er janvier 2015;
    • la PUGE serait élargie et comprendrait une nouvelle prestation de 60 $ par mois pour les enfants âgés de 6 à 17 ans à compter du 1er janvier 2015;  
    • les plafonds de la déduction pour frais de garde d’enfants seraient haussés de 1 000 $ à compter de l’année d’imposition 2015;
    • la baisse d’impôt pour les familles, un nouveau crédit d’impôt fédéral non remboursable, accorderait un allègement fiscal pouvant atteindre 2 000 $ pour les couples ayant des enfants âgés de moins de 18 ans à compter de l’année d’imposition 2014; le crédit d’impôt pourrait être demandé dans les déclarations de revenus produites au printemps de 2015.
  • Les bonifications apportées à la PUGE commenceraient à être intégrées aux versements mensuels aux bénéficiaires en juillet 2015. Le paiement de juillet 2015 comprendrait jusqu’à six mois de prestations englobant la période de janvier à juin 2015.
  • La PUGE bonifiée remplacerait le crédit d’impôt pour enfants à compter de l’année d’imposition 2015. Ce remplacement permettrait aux familles dont les revenus sont trop faibles pour payer de l’impôt sur le revenu – et qui ne peuvent pas bénéficier du crédit d’impôt pour enfants – de recevoir un avantage fiscal.
  • Les parents pourront aussi tirer parti du nouveau plafond de 1 000 $ du montant pouvant être demandé au titre du crédit d’impôt pour la condition physique des enfants – soit le double du montant antérieur – lorsqu’ils produiront leurs déclarations de revenus pour l’année d’imposition 2014. De plus, à compter de l’année d’imposition 2015, le crédit d’impôt pour la condition physique des enfants deviendra remboursable, ce qui permettra aux familles dont le revenu est trop faible pour être imposable d’en bénéficier.

Citation

« Partout au Canada, les familles travaillent fort. C’est pourquoi notre gouvernement a présenté de nouvelles mesures qui feront qu’il sera plus abordable d’élever une famille. Toutes les familles ayant des enfants bénéficieront de notre plan, en disposant de plus d’argent à consacrer aux choses qui leur importent le plus, telles que les activités sportives parascolaires ou l’épargne en vue d’études universitaires. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

Liens connexes

Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés