Archived - Government Announces 2015 Automobile Deduction Limits and Expense Benefit Rates for Business

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

December 23, 2014 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver today announced the automobile expense deduction limits and the prescribed rates for the automobile operating expense benefit for income tax purposes that will apply in 2015.

The only change for 2015 is an increase to the limit on the deduction of tax-exempt allowances paid by employers to employees that use their personal vehicle for business purposes. All other limits and rates will remain the same as in 2014.

Quick Facts

New for 2015:

  • The limit on the deduction of tax-exempt allowances paid by employers to employees that use their personal vehicle for business purposes for 2015 will be increased by 1 cent to 55 cents per kilometre for the first 5,000 kilometres driven and to 49 cents for each additional kilometre. For the Northwest Territories, Nunavut and Yukon, the tax-exempt allowance is set 4 cents higher, and will also increase by 1 cent to 59 cents for the first 5,000 kilometres driven and to 53 cents for each additional kilometre. The allowance amounts reflect the key cost components of owning and operating an automobile, such as depreciation, financing, insurance, maintenance and fuel costs.

Same as in 2014:

  • The ceiling on the capital cost of passenger vehicles for capital cost allowance (CCA) purposes will remain at $30,000 (plus applicable federal and provincial sales taxes) for purchases after 2014. This ceiling restricts the cost of a vehicle on which CCA may be claimed for business purposes.
  • The maximum allowable interest deduction for amounts borrowed to purchase an automobile will remain at $300 per month for loans related to vehicles acquired after 2014.
  • The limit on deductible leasing costs will remain at $800 per month (plus applicable federal and provincial sales taxes) for leases entered into after 2014. This limit is one of two restrictions on the deduction of automobile lease payments. A separate restriction prorates deductible lease costs where the value of the vehicle exceeds the capital cost ceiling.
  • The general prescribed rate used to determine the taxable benefit relating to the personal portion of automobile operating expenses paid by employers will remain at 27 cents per kilometre for 2015. For taxpayers employed principally in selling or leasing automobiles, the prescribed rate will remain at 24 cents per kilometre. The amount of the benefit reflects the costs of operating an automobile. The additional benefit of having an employer-provided vehicle available for personal use (i.e., the automobile standby charge) is calculated separately based on capital costs and is also included in the employee’s income.

The Government reviews these limits and rates annually, and announces any planned changes prior to the end of the calendar year. This practice ensures that businesses are aware of any changes to the limits and rates before the beginning of the year in which they apply.

Media Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le gouvernement annonce les plafonds de déduction des frais d'automobile et les taux des avantages relatifs à l'utilisation d'une automobile pour les entreprises applicables en 2015

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 23 décembre 2014 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a annoncé aujourd’hui les plafonds de déduction des frais d’automobile et les taux prescrits des avantages relatifs aux frais d’utilisation d’un véhicule automobile aux fins de l’impôt sur le revenu qui s’appliqueront en 2015.

À cet égard, le seul changement apporté en 2015 consiste en une augmentation du plafond de déduction des allocations non imposables versées par l’employeur aux employés qui utilisent leur propre véhicule à des fins professionnelles. Les autres plafonds et les autres taux demeureront les mêmes qu’en 2014.

Les faits en bref

Nouveautés pour 2015

  • Le plafond de déduction des allocations exonérées d’impôt versées par les employeurs aux employés qui utilisent leur véhicule personnel pour le travail sera majoré de 1 ¢ en 2015 pour passer à 55 ¢ le kilomètre pour la première tranche de 5 000 kilomètres parcourus et à 49 ¢ par kilomètre additionnel. Au Yukon, au Nunavut et dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, le plafond d’exonération, qui est fixé à 4 ¢ de plus, sera également majoré de 1 ¢; il sera de 59 ¢ le kilomètre pour la première tranche de 5 000 kilomètres parcourus et de 53 ¢ par kilomètre additionnel. Ces montants tiennent compte des principaux éléments contribuant au coût de propriété et d’exploitation d’une automobile, tels que la dépréciation, les frais de financement, l’assurance, l’entretien et le carburant.

Inchangés par rapport à 2014

  • Le plafond de la valeur amortissable des voitures de tourisme aux fins de la déduction pour amortissement (DPA) restera fixé à 30 000 $ (plus les taxes de vente fédérale et provinciale applicables) pour les achats effectués après 2014. Ce plafond limite le coût d’un véhicule pouvant être déclaré à titre de dépense d’entreprise aux fins de la DPA.
  • Le plafond de déductibilité des frais d’intérêt payés sur les sommes empruntées pour l’achat d’un véhicule automobile restera fixé à 300 $ par mois pour les prêts effectués après 2014.
  • Le plafond de déductibilité des frais de location d’un véhicule automobile restera fixé à 800 $ par mois (plus les taxes de vente fédérale et provinciale applicables) pour les contrats de location-bail conclus après 2014. Cette limite est l’une des deux restrictions s’appliquant à la déduction des frais de location d’une automobile; par ailleurs, lorsque la valeur du véhicule dépasse le plafond de la valeur amortissable, les frais déductibles représentent une proportion des frais de location.
  • Le taux général prescrit servant à déterminer l’avantage imposable qu’un employé reçoit à l’égard de la proportion des frais de fonctionnement d’une automobile payés par l’employeur qui servent à l’usage personnel de l’employé s’établira encore à 27 ¢ le kilomètre pour 2015. Pour les contribuables dont la principale occupation est de vendre ou de louer des automobiles, le taux prescrit restera aussi le même, soit 24 ¢ le kilomètre. Ces taux reflètent les coûts d’utilisation d’une automobile. L’avantage additionnel lié au droit d’usage d’une automobile (c’est-à-dire au fait, pour un employé, de pouvoir utiliser à des fins personnelles un véhicule fourni par l’employeur) est calculé séparément, en fonction de la valeur amortissable, et il est également inclus dans le revenu de l’employé.

Le gouvernement examine annuellement ces taux et ces plafonds et annonce toute modification avant la fin de l’année civile, afin que les entreprises en soient informées avant le début de l’année au cours de laquelle ils entreront en vigueur.

Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés