Archived - PM announces tax cuts, increased benefits for families

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

October 30, 2014 – Vaughan, Ontario

Introduction

Prime Minister Stephen Harper today announced new measures to help make life more affordable for Canadian families. He was joined by Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance, Julian Fantino, Minister of Veterans Affairs, Candice Bergen, Minister of State (Social Development), and Stella Ambler, Member of Parliament for Mississauga South. 

The proposed new measures include:

  • The Family Tax Cut, a federal tax credit that will allow a higher-income spouse to transfer up to $50,000 of taxable income to a spouse in a lower tax bracket. The credit will provide tax relief – capped at $2,000 – for couples with children under the age of 18, effective for the 2014 tax year. Income splitting is helping seniors across the country, which is why the Government is now proposing similar relief for families.
  • Increasing the Universal Child Care Benefit (UCCB) for children under age six. As of January 1, 2015, parents will receive a benefit of $160 per month for each child under the age of six – up from $100 per month. In a year, parents will receive up to $1,920 per child.
  • Expanding the UCCB to children aged six through 17. As of January 1, 2015, under the expanded UCCB, parents will receive a benefit of $60 per month for children aged six through 17. In a year, parents will receive up to $720 per child. 
  • Increasing the Child Care Expense Deduction dollar limits by $1,000, effective for the 2015 tax year. The maximum amounts that can be claimed will increase to $8,000 from $7,000 for children under age seven, to $5,000 from $4,000 for children aged seven through 16, and to $11,000 from $10,000 for children who are eligible for the Disability Tax Credit. 

Families can claim the Family Tax Cut in the spring of 2015 when they file their 2014 tax returns. They will begin to receive payments under the enhanced UCCB in July 2015. The July UCCB payment will include up to six months of benefits to cover the period from January through June 2015.

The enhanced UCCB will replace the existing Child Tax Credit for the 2015 and subsequent taxation years.

Quick Facts

  • All families with children will benefit from the new measures introduced by our Government. The average tax relief and benefits for these families will be $1,140 in 2015.
  • Low and middle-income families will receive two-thirds of the overall benefits provided by the package.
  • The Family Tax Cut will eliminate or significantly reduce the difference in the federal tax payable by a one-earner couple relative to a two-earner couple with a similar family income.
  • Earlier this month, the Government announced its intention to double the Children’s Fitness Tax Credit and make it refundable. The maximum amount of expenses that may be claimed under the credit will be doubled from its current limit to $1,000 for the 2014 tax year and subsequent tax years, and the credit will be made refundable effective for the 2015 and subsequent tax years.
  • Canadians at all income levels are benefiting from federal tax relief measures introduced since 2006, with low and middle-income Canadians receiving proportionately greater relief. 
  • Previous tax-relief measures introduced by the Government since 2006 have resulted in a tax reduction of approximately $3,400 in 2014 for an average two-earner family with two children.

Quotes

“Our Government is focused on helping hard-working Canadian families make ends meet, by making important priorities like child care and after-school sports more affordable. Under this plan, every family with children will have more money in their pockets, to spend on their priorities as a family.”

- Prime Minister Stephen Harper

“Our Government is fulfilling its promise to balance the federal budget. We are now in a position to fulfill our promise to help Canadian families balance theirs.”

- Prime Minister Stephen Harper

Related Product

Additional Links

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le PM annonce des baisses d’impôt et de nouveaux avantages pour les familles

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 30 octobre 2014 – Vaughan (Ontario)

Introduction

Le Premier ministre Stephen Harper a aujourd’hui annoncé de nouvelles mesures en vue de rendre la vie plus abordable pour les familles canadiennes. Il était accompagné de Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances, de Julian Fantino, ministre des Anciens Combattants, de Candice Bergen, ministre d’État (Développement social), et de Stella Ambler, députée de Mississauga-Sud. 

Les nouvelles mesures proposées comprennent les mesures suivantes :

  • Baisse d’impôt pour les familles, un crédit d’impôt fédéral qui permettra à une personne ayant un revenu plus élevé de transférer jusqu’à 50 000 dollars de revenu imposable à son conjoint dans une tranche d’imposition inférieure. Ce crédit permettra aux couples ayant des enfants de moins de 18 ans de profiter d’un allègement fiscal – jusqu’à concurrence de 2 000 dollars – à compter de l’année d’imposition 2014. Le fractionnement du revenu aide déjà des personnes âgées aux quatre coins du pays, et c’est pourquoi le gouvernement propose maintenant un allègement analogue pour les familles.
  • Augmentation de la Prestation universelle pour la garde d’enfants (PUGE) pour les enfants de moins de six ans. À compter du 1er janvier 2015, les parents toucheront une prestation de 160 dollars par mois – au lieu de 100 dollars par mois – pour chaque enfant de moins de six ans. Au cours d’une année, les parents recevront jusqu’à 1 920 dollars par enfant.
  • Élargissement de la PUGE aux enfants de 6 à 17 ans. À compter du 1er janvier 2015, avec la PUGE élargie, les parents toucheront une prestation de 60 dollars par mois pour les enfants de 6 à 17 ans. Au cours d’une année, les parents recevront jusqu’à 720 dollars par enfant. 
  • Augmentation de 1 000 dollars des montants maximums relatifs à la déduction pour frais de garde d’enfants à compter de l’année d’imposition 2015. Les montants maximums pouvant être réclamés passeront de 7 000 dollars à 8 000 dollars pour les enfants de moins de 7 ans, de 4 000 dollars à 5 000 dollars pour les enfants de 7 ans à 16 ans, et de 10 000 dollars à 11 000 dollars pour les enfants admissibles au crédit d’impôt pour personnes handicapées. 

Les familles pourront se prévaloir de la Baisse d’impôt pour les familles  au printemps 2015, lorsqu’elles produiront leur déclaration de revenus pour l’année 2014. Elles commenceront à toucher la PUGE bonifiée au mois de juillet 2015. Le montant de la PUGE qui sera versé au mois de juillet couvrira jusqu’à six mois de prestations, pour la période allant de janvier à juin 2015. 

La PUGE bonifiée remplacera le Crédit d’impôt pour enfants pour l’année d’imposition 2015 et les années subséquentes.

Faits saillants

  • Toutes les familles avec enfants profiteront des nouvelles mesures mises en place par notre gouvernement. En 2015, les allègements fiscaux et les prestations versées à ces familles totaliseront 1 140 dollars, en moyenne.
  • Les familles à revenu faible et moyen toucheront les deux tiers des montants prévus dans cet ensemble de mesures.
  • La Baisse d’impôt pour les familles  permettra d’éliminer ou de réduire considérablement la différence entre l’impôt fédéral que doit verser un ménage à revenu unique comparativement à un ménage à deux revenus ayant un revenu familial semblable.
  • Plus tôt au cours du mois, le gouvernement a annoncé son intention de doubler le crédit d’impôt pour la condition physique des enfants et d’en faire un crédit remboursable. Le montant maximum de dépenses pouvant être réclamé en vertu du crédit s’élèvera dorénavant à 1 000 dollars, soit le double de la limite actuelle, pour l’année d’imposition 2014 et les années d’imposition subséquentes, et le crédit sera remboursable à compter de l’année 2015 et des années d’imposition subséquentes.
  • Les Canadiens de tous les niveaux de revenu profitent des mesures d’allègement fiscal du gouvernement fédéral mises en place depuis 2006. Les Canadiens à revenu faible et moyen font l'objet des allègements proportionnels les plus importants. 
  • Les allègements fiscaux précédents mis en place par le gouvernement depuis 2006 totalisent une baisse d’impôt d’environ 3 400 dollars en 2014 pour les familles moyennes ayant deux enfants et deux revenus.

Citations

« Notre gouvernement est déterminé à aider les familles canadiennes qui travaillent fort pour joindre les deux bouts, en rendant plus abordables d’importantes priorités comme la garde d’enfants et les activités sportives après les classes. Grâce à ce plan, toutes les familles ayant des enfants auront plus d’argent dans leurs poches, qui pourra servir à leurs priorités familiales. »

- Le Premier ministre Stephen Harper

« Notre gouvernement tient sa promesse d’équilibrer le budget fédéral. Nous sommes maintenant aussi en mesure de tenir notre promesse d’aider les familles canadiennes à équilibrer le leur. »

- Le Premier ministre Stephen Harper

Produit connexe

Lien connexes

Restez branchés