Archived - PM announces intention to double the Children's Fitness Tax Credit

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Whitby, Ontario – 9 October 2014

Introduction

Prime Minister Stephen Harper today announced our Government’s intention to double the Children’s Fitness Tax Credit (CFTC) and make it refundable. The maximum amount of expenses that may be claimed under the credit will be doubled from its current limit to $1,000 for the 2014 tax year and subsequent tax years, and the credit will be made refundable effective for the 2015 and subsequent tax years. He was joined by Colin Carrie, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of the Environment and Member of Parliament for Oshawa, and Erin O’Toole, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of International Trade and Member of Parliament for Durham.

The CFTC was introduced by our Government in Budget 2006 to help promote physical fitness among children by making it more affordable for Canadian families to register their kids in fitness activities. When fully implemented, the proposed enhancements to the CFTC that are being announced today will fulfill a commitment made by our Government in 2011. The enhancements will deliver additional tax relief to about 850,000 families who enrol their children in eligible fitness activities.

Parents will be able to take advantage of the new $1,000 maximum limit in the spring of 2015 when they file their tax returns for 2014. The credit will be made refundable as of the 2015 tax year, increasing benefits to low-income families claiming it for that year and subsequent years.

Our Government tabled a Ways and Means Motion in the House of Commons today which provides additional information on the proposed enhancements.

Quick Facts

  • The CFTC currently provides 1.4 million families with total tax relief of approximately $115 million per year. Claims must be supported by tax receipts.
  • Your child must have been under 16 years of age (or under 18 years of age if eligible for the disability amount) at the beginning of the year in which the eligible fitness expenses were paid.
  • Eligible activities include strenuous games such as hockey or soccer, activities such as golf lessons, horseback riding, sailing, and bowling, as well as others that require a similar level of physical activity. Fees charged for extracurricular programs that take place in school may be eligible.
  • The proposed enhancements to the CFTC are in addition to the many measures that our Government has introduced since 2006 to support Canadian families, including the Universal Child Care Benefit and the Children’s Arts Tax Credit.
  • Families are major beneficiaries of the substantial tax relief that our Government is providing to all Canadians, such as the 2-percentage-point reduction in the Goods and Services Tax, broad-based personal income tax reductions and the new Tax-Free Savings Account, which helps Canadians meet lifetime savings needs.

Quote

“Parents know that regular exercise is a key part of their children’s development and gets them started on a lifetime of healthy, active living. Our Government recognizes the impact that expenses for sports activities can have on families, particularly those with lower incomes. That is why we are following through on our promise to enhance this tax credit by doubling the maximum amount and making it refundable.”

Prime Minister Stephen Harper

Related Products

Additional Links

Media Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5696

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Enhancing the Children's Fitness Tax Credit

Our Government intends to enhance the Children’s Fitness Tax Credit (CFTC) by increasing the maximum amount that may be claimed under the credit to $1,000 from $500, and by making the credit refundable. The doubling of the maximum amount will be effective for the 2014 tax year and subsequent tax years, and the credit will be made refundable effective for the 2015 and subsequent tax years.

These proposed enhancements, which fulfill a commitment made by the Government in 2011, will provide tax relief for Canadian families of about $25 million in fiscal year 2014-2015, and $35 million annually thereafter. The CFTC currently provides tax relief to 1.4 million families who enrol their children in eligible fitness activities. When fully implemented, these enhancements will deliver additional tax relief to about 850,000 families.

Doubling the CFTC Amount

Our Government proposes to double the amount that can be claimed for the Children’s Fitness Tax Credit to $1,000 from $500, effective for the 2014 and subsequent tax years.

The example below illustrates how doubling the credit will benefit a family.

Example – Doubling the CFTC amount

A couple with one child has $950 in eligible expenses in 2014 – including $300 for the child’s fall football program plus $650 for the child’s winter hockey program. Under the current Children’s Fitness Tax Credit, the couple’s tax liability is reduced by $75 (15 per cent of the maximum credit amount of $500). Under the proposed doubling of the credit, their tax liability would be reduced by about $142 (15 per cent of $950).

Making the CFTC Refundable

Our Government proposes to make the Children’s Fitness Tax Credit refundable, effective for the 2015 tax year and subsequent tax years. Making the credit refundable will increase benefits to low-income families claiming the credit.

The example below illustrates how making the credit refundable will benefit a family.

Example – Making the CFTC refundable

A couple has two children in a soccer program at a cost of $240 per child in 2015. The family’s income is too low for them to have net tax liability. Since the original non-refundable Children’s Fitness Tax Credit can only be used to reduce tax owing, the credit, as it currently stands is of no benefit to them. By making the credit refundable as proposed, the couple will be better off by $72 ($36 per child based on 15 per cent of $240). The family’s tax refund would include this $72.

Origin of the Children’s Fitness Tax Credit

The Children’s Fitness Tax Credit was introduced in Budget 2006 by the Honourable Jim Flaherty, who was Minister of Finance at the time. The credit became effective in 2007, and was designed according to the recommendations of the Expert Panel for the Children’s Fitness Tax Credit. In 2011, our Government committed, upon return to budget balance, to doubling the maximum amount that can be claimed under this credit and to making the credit refundable.

Eligibility for the Children’s Fitness Tax Credit

Eligible activities include strenuous games such as hockey or soccer, activities such as golf lessons, horseback riding, sailing, and bowling, as well as others that require a similar level of physical activity. Fees charged for extracurricular programs that take place in school may be eligible.

For more information on the Children’s Fitness Tax Credit please visit the Canada Revenue Agency website.

Archivé - Le PM annonce son intention de doubler le crédit d’impôt pour la condition physique des enfants

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Whitby (Ontario) – 9 octobre 2014

Introduction

Le Premier ministre Stephen Harper a annoncé aujourd’hui l’intention de notre gouvernement de doubler le crédit d’impôt pour la condition physique des enfants (CICPE) et d’en faire un crédit remboursable. Le montant maximal des frais pouvant être réclamés au titre de ce crédit augmentera du double, passant de sa limite actuelle à 1000 $ à compter de l’année d’imposition 2014, et le crédit deviendra remboursable à compter de l’année d’imposition 2015. Le Premier ministre était accompagné de Colin Carrie, secrétaire parlementaire de la ministre de l’Environnement et député d’Oshawa, et d’Erin O’Toole, secrétaire parlementaire du ministre du Commerce international et député de Durham.

Le CICPE a été introduit par notre gouvernement dans le budget 2006, pour aider à favoriser la bonne forme physique chez les enfants en rendant plus abordable pour les familles canadiennes l’inscription de leurs enfants à des activités physiques. Lorsqu’elles seront pleinement mises en œuvre, les bonifications proposées du CICPE annoncées aujourd’hui donneront suite à une promesse faite par notre gouvernement en 2011 et permettront d’alléger le fardeau fiscal d’environ 850 000 familles qui inscrivent leurs enfants à des activités physiques admissibles.

Les parents pourront profiter du nouveau plafond de 1 000 $ dès le printemps 2015, lorsqu’ils rempliront leur déclaration d’impôt pour 2014. Le crédit sera remboursable à partir de l’année d’imposition 2015, ce qui augmentera les retombées pour les familles à faible revenu qui demandent le crédit pour cette année-là et pour les années subséquentes.

Notre gouvernement a déposé aujourd’hui à la Chambre des communes une motion de voies et moyens, qui contient davantage d’information au sujet des bonifications proposées.

Faits saillants

  • Le CICPE allège actuellement le fardeau fiscal de 1,4 million de familles d’environ 115 millions de dollars par an. Le montant réclamé doit être justifié au moyen de reçus pour fins d’impôt.
  • Pour être admissible, un enfant doit avoir moins de 16 ans (ou moins de 18 ans dans le cas du montant pour personnes handicapées) au début de l’année au cours de laquelle les frais pour des activités physiques ont été payés.
  • Les activités admissibles sont notamment les sports exigeants comme le hockey ou le soccer, des activités comme des leçons de golf, l’équitation, la voile et les quilles, et d’autres activités exigeant un niveau d’activité physique analogue. Les frais facturés dans le cadre de programmes parascolaires donnés à l’école peuvent être admissibles.
  • Les bonifications proposées du CICPE s’ajoutent aux nombreuses mesures prises par notre gouvernement depuis 2006 pour appuyer les familles canadiennes, dont la Prestation universelle pour la garde d’enfants et le crédit d’impôt pour les activités artistiques des enfants.
  • Les familles sont les principaux bénéficiaires des importants allégements fiscaux fournis par notre gouvernement à tous les Canadiens, comme la réduction de 2 points de pourcentage de la taxe sur les produits et services, les réductions de portée générale de l'impôt sur le revenu des particuliers, et la création du nouveau compte d’épargne libre d’impôt, qui aide les Canadiens à répondre à leurs besoins en matière d’épargne.

Citation

« Les parents savent que faire de l’exercice régulièrement contribue beaucoup au développement de leurs enfants et les prépare à toute une vie active, en bonne santé. Notre gouvernement reconnaît l’impact que les activités sportives peuvent avoir sur les familles, surtout celles qui gagnent moins. C’est pourquoi nous tenons notre promesse de bonifier ce crédit d’impôt en doublant le montant maximal et en faisant de ce crédit un crédit remboursable. »

Prime Minister Stephen Harper

Produits connexes

Liens connexes

Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés

Bonification du crédit d'impôt pour la condition physique des enfants

Notre gouvernement a l'intention de bonifier le crédit d'impôt pour la condition physique des enfants (CICPE) en faisant passer le montant maximal pouvant être réclamé au titre de ce crédit, de 500 $ à 1000 $, et en faisant de ce crédit un crédit remboursable. Le montant maximal doublé sera en vigueur à compter de l'année d'imposition 2014, et le crédit d'impôt sera remboursable à compter de l'année d'imposition 2015.

Ces bonifications proposées, qui donnent suite à un engagement pris par le gouvernement en 2011, se traduiront pour les familles canadiennes par un allégement fiscal d'environ 25 millions de dollars pour l'année financière 2014-2015, et de 35 millions de dollars par an par la suite. Le CICPE réduit actuellement l'impôt de 1,4 million de familles qui inscrivent leurs enfants à des activités physiques admissibles. Lorsqu'elles seront pleinement mises en œuvre, ces bonifications permettront d'alléger davantage le fardeau fiscal d'environ 850 000 familles.

Doubler le montant du CICPE

Notre gouvernement propose de doubler le montant pouvant être réclamé au titre du crédit d'impôt pour la condition physique des enfants, pour le faire passer de 500 $ à 1000 $, à compter de l'année d'imposition 2014.

L'exemple qui suit illustre quelles seront les retombées du crédit doublé, pour une famille.

Exemple – Montant doublé du CICPE

Un couple avec un enfant a 950 $ en frais admissibles pour 2014 – dont 300 $ pour le programme de football d'automne de l'enfant plus 650 $ pour son programme de hockey d'hiver. Avec le crédit d'impôt pour la condition physique des enfants actuellement en place, la somme due en impôt par ce couple est réduite de 75 $ (15 p. 100 du montant maximal du crédit de 500 $). Avec le crédit doublé proposé, elle serait réduite d'environ 142 $ (15 p. 100 de 950 $).

Rendre le CICPE remboursable

Notre gouvernement propose de rendre le crédit d'impôt pour la condition physique des enfants remboursable à partir de l'année d'imposition 2015 et pour les années d'imposition subséquentes. Ce crédit remboursable sera plus intéressant pour les familles à faible revenu qui réclameront ce crédit.

L'exemple qui suit illustre en quoi un crédit remboursable profitera à une famille.

Exemple – Rendre le CICPE remboursable

Un couple a inscrit deux enfants à un programme de soccer en 2015, à raison de 240 $ par enfant. La famille ne gagne pas suffisamment pour avoir à payer de l'impôt net. Comme le crédit d'impôt pour la condition physique des enfants ne peut que servir à réduire l'impôt dû, le crédit, sous sa forme actuelle, ne leur procure aucun bénéfice. Avec le crédit remboursable proposé, le couple recevra 72 $ de plus (36 $ par enfant, sur la base de 15 p. 100 de 240 $). Le remboursement d'impôt de la famille inclurait ce 72 $.

Origine du crédit d'impôt pour la condition physique des enfants

Le crédit d'impôt pour la condition physique des enfants a été introduit dans le budget 2006 par l'honorable Jim Flaherty, qui était ministre des Finances à l'époque. Le crédit est entré en vigueur en 2007 et il a été conçu en fonction des recommandations du Groupe d'experts sur le crédit d'impôt pour la condition physique des enfants. En 2011, notre gouvernement s'est engagé à doubler le montant maximal pouvant être réclamé au titre de ce crédit et à en faire un crédit remboursable, dès le retour à l'équilibre budgétaire.

Admissibilité au crédit d'impôt pour la condition physique des enfants

Les activités admissibles sont notamment les sports exigeants comme le hockey ou le soccer, des activités comme des leçons de golf, l'équitation, la voile et les quilles, et d'autres activités exigeant un niveau d'activité physique analogue. Les frais facturés dans le cadre de programmes parascolaires donnés à l'école peuvent être admissibles.

Pour en savoir davantage au sujet du crédit d'impôt pour la condition physique des enfants, veuillez consulter le site Web de l'Agence du revenu du Canada.