Archived - Federally Registered Pooled Registered Pension Plans Now Available

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

New federal retirement savings option available to businesses and individuals working in federally regulated industries as well as residents of the territories

October 7, 2014 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Minister of State (Finance) Kevin Sorenson today announced that the five insurance companies that have federal Pooled Registered Pension Plan (PRPP) licences (Sun Life, Great West Life, Manulife, Standard Life and Industrial-Alliance) have been registered with the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions and the Canada Revenue Agency. This was the final step necessary for the plan administrators to make federal PRPPs available to Canadians.

Quick Facts

  • PRPPs establish large-scale, broad-based, voluntary pension arrangements available to employees—with or without a participating employer—as well as the self-employed.
  • They will be low cost. By pooling pension savings, the cost of administering the pension funds will be spread over a larger group of people, allowing plan members to benefit from lower investment management costs.
  • Most of the administrative and legal burdens associated with a PRPP will be borne by a qualified, licensed, third-party administrator. Under the PRPP program, the onus of this fiduciary duty is transferred to a professional plan administrator.
  • PRPPs are straightforward in their design, will help small businesses and are intended to be largely harmonized across provinces. They will fit seamlessly into the existing system of tax rules and contribution limits for Registered Pension Plans and Registered Retirement Savings Plans.

Quotes

“Today concludes the final administrative step in making federal PRPPs available to Canadians. This is a major milestone in providing an attractive new retirement savings option for those millions of Canadians—roughly 60 per cent—who do not have access to a workplace pension plan. It is also a significant achievement in the Government’s ongoing efforts to strengthen Canada’s retirement income system. I would like to encourage those provinces that haven’t implemented PRPP frameworks to do so expeditiously for the benefit of Canadians.”

- Kevin Sorenson, Minister of State (Finance)

“We commend the federal government for implementing a solution to help employers bridge existing gaps in the retirement system while maintaining existing employer-sponsored retirement plans, and are pleased to introduce our own PRPP to help more Canadians save.”

- Jeff Aarssen, Senior Vice-President of Group Retirement Services for Great West Life, London Life and Canada Life

“The PRPP is a very beneficial solution for eligible Canadians who did not have access to a group pension plan. We want to offer them tools to help them prepare better for retirement. It made perfect sense to enhance our offer by adding this new plan.”

- Renée Laflamme, Vice-President, Group Savings and Retirement, Industrial Alliance Insurance and Financial Services Inc

“Canadians without access to a workplace savings plan now have an easy, low-cost way to save for the future. With simplicity and affordability in mind, Manulife has created a cutting-edge federal PRPP with an innovative eApplication that can set up a contract in minutes. We also manage most of the ongoing administrative work, taking the burden off of advisors and employers.”

- Marc Avaria, Vice President, Group Small Business, Manulife

“Today marks an important step towards helping more Canadians save for a secure financial future, and Standard Life is proud to be part of it. Now that the federal PRPP and Quebec’s voluntary retirement savings plan are in place, we hope other Finance Ministers will soon adopt the PRPP framework that was agreed to a few years ago.”

- Charles Guay, President and CEO, Standard Life Canada

“We are excited to be a part of this important milestone in Canadian pension history. We are committed to providing Canadians with lifetime financial security, and this legislation is pivotal in providing access to a low-cost pension for the three to five million Canadians who do not currently have a workplace retirement savings plan.”

- Tom Reid, Senior Vice-President, Group Retirement Services, Sun Life Financial Canada

“The Canadian life and health insurance industry welcomes today’s announcement that five insurance companies have been licensed to provide PRPPs and believes it demonstrates the willingness of our industry to provide Canadians with an excellent vehicle to save for retirement. Because of our existing platforms in serving other pension plans, we can hit the ground running to provide top-quality, low-cost PRPP services to Canadians, particularly small and medium-sized businesses.”

- Frank Swedlove, President, Canadian Life and Health Insurance Association

“Today’s announcement is good news for Canadians looking for options to save for their retirement. It brings pooled retirement pension plans one step closer to becoming reality across the country, provided that provincial governments move quickly to allow financial institutions to offer them. In fact, CFIB recently signed an agreement with Standard Life in Quebec, which is the first province to adopt them, so that our small business members can provide their employees with access to these voluntary plans.”

- Dan Kelly, President, Canadian Federation of Independent Business

Media Contacts

Meagan Murdoch
Communications
Office of the Minister of State (Finance)
613-369-5659

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Archivé - Les régimes de pension agréés collectifs fédéraux sont maintenant disponibles

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Une nouvelle option fédérale d’épargne-retraite est mise à la disposition des entreprises et des particuliers qui travaillent dans les industries sous réglementation fédérale ainsi que des résidents des territoires

Le 7 octobre 2014 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre d’État (Finances), Kevin Sorenson, a annoncé aujourd’hui que les cinq sociétés d’assurances qui détiennent un permis d’administrer un régime de pension agréé collectif (RPAC) fédéral (la Sun Life, la Great-West, la Manuvie, la Standard Life et l’Industrielle-Alliance) sont maintenant inscrites auprès du Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières et de l’Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC). Pour les administrateurs de régime, il s’agissait de la dernière étape à franchir avant de pouvoir offrir les RPAC fédéraux aux Canadiennes et aux Canadiens.

Les faits en bref

  • Les RPAC sont des régimes de retraite de grande envergure et à participation volontaire offerts à un grand nombre d’employés – avec ou sans la participation de l’employeur – et de travailleurs indépendants.
  • Les régimes seront à faible coût. La mise en commun de l’épargne-retraite fait en sorte que les coûts d’administration des fonds des régimes seront répartis entre un plus grand nombre de personnes, de manière à ce que les participants puissent profiter de coûts de gestion des placements moins élevés.
  • Un administrateur tiers admissible qui sera titulaire d’un permis assumera en grande partie le fardeau administratif et juridique associé à un RPAC. De plus, dans le programme des RPAC, l’exercice de l’obligation fiduciaire est transféré à un administrateur professionnel de régime.
  • Les RPAC ont une conception simple, aideront les petites entreprises et devraient être largement harmonisés d’une province et d’un territoire à l’autre. Ils s’intégreront facilement dans le régime existant de règles fiscales et de plafonds de cotisation s’appliquant aux régimes de pension agréés et aux régimes enregistrés d’épargne-retraite.

Citations

« C’est aujourd’hui que se conclut la dernière étape administrative en vue de permettre l’offre de RPAC fédéraux aux Canadiens. Il s’agit d’un important jalon dans le processus d’offrir une nouvelle option d’épargne-retraite attrayante aux millions de Canadiens – soit environ 60 % de la population – qui n’ont pas accès à un régime de pension en milieu de travail. C’est également un résultat important des efforts continus du gouvernement en vue de renforcer le système canadien de revenu de retraite. J’encourage les provinces qui n’ont pas mis en œuvre un cadre des RPAC à le faire sans tarder dans l’intérêt des Canadiens. »

- Kevin Sorenson, ministre d’État (Finances)

« Nous félicitons le gouvernement fédéral d’avoir mis en œuvre une solution qui aidera les employeurs à combler les lacunes existantes du système de revenu de retraite tout en maintenant les régimes de retraite d’employeur actuels, et nous sommes heureux d’établir notre propre RPAC pour aider un plus grand nombre de Canadiens à épargner. »

- Jeff Aarssen, vice-président principal, Services de retraite collectifs de la Great-West, de la London Life et de la Canada-Vie

« Le RPAC constitue une solution très avantageuse pour les Canadiens admissibles qui n’avaient pas accès à un régime de retraite collectif. Nous désirons offrir à ces particuliers les outils qui leur permettront de mieux se préparer en vue de leur retraite. Il était tout à fait logique de bonifier notre offre de services en y ajoutant ce nouveau régime. »

- Renée Laflamme, vice-présidente, Épargne et retraite collectives, Industrielle Alliance, Assurance et services financiers inc.

« Les Canadiens qui n’ont pas accès à un régime d’épargne-retraite au travail disposent maintenant d’un instrument simple et peu coûteux leur permettant d’épargner pour l’avenir. Soucieuse d’offrir une solution simple et abordable, la Manuvie a élaboré un RPAC fédéral avant-gardiste assorti d’un processus de souscription électronique novateur qui permet de conclure un contrat en quelques minutes. De plus, la Manuvie s’occupe de la plupart des tâches administratives, ce qui simplifie la vie des conseillers et des employeurs. »

- Marc Avaria, vice-président, Groupes de petite taille, Manuvie

« L’annonce d’aujourd’hui marque une étape importante en ce qui concerne les efforts qui sont faits pour aider davantage de Canadiens à économiser en vue d’assurer un avenir financier solide, et Standard Life est fière d’y être associée. Avec la mise en place du RPAC par le gouvernement fédéral et du régime volontaire d'épargne-retraite par celui du Québec, nous espérons que d’autres ministres des Finances adopteront bientôt le cadre des RPAC pour lequel une entente avait été conclue il y a quelques années. »

- Charles Guay, président et chef de la direction, Standard Life Canada

« Nous sommes emballés d’être du nombre des participants alors qu’un important jalon de l’histoire canadienne des régimes de pension est franchi. Nous nous engageons à offrir aux Canadiens une sécurité financière pour la vie, et cette législation joue un rôle essentiel en donnant accès à des régimes à faible coût aux 3 à 5 millions de Canadiens qui n’ont présentement pas accès à un régime de pension en milieu de travail. »

- Tom Reid, vice-président principal, Régimes collectifs de retraite, Financière Sun Life Canada

« L’industrie canadienne des assurances de personnes se réjouit d’apprendre que cinq sociétés d’assurances ont été autorisées à offrir des RPAC, comme il a été annoncé aujourd’hui. Cela témoigne de la volonté de l’industrie de mettre à la disposition des Canadiens un excellent outil d’épargne-retraite. Grâce aux plateformes que nous avons créées pour administrer d’autres régimes de retraite, nous sommes tout à fait prêts à fournir aux Canadiens, et en particulier aux petites et moyennes entreprises, des services de qualité optimale relativement aux RPAC, et ce, à un faible coût. »

- Frank Swedlove, président, Association canadienne des compagnies d’assurances de personnes

« L’annonce d’aujourd’hui représente une bonne nouvelle pour les Canadiens à la recherche d’options d’épargne-retraite. Elle a pour effet de rapprocher les régimes de pension agréés collectifs du moment où ils deviendront réalité partout au pays, dans la mesure où les gouvernements provinciaux agiront rapidement afin de permettre aux institutions financières de les offrir. En fait, nous avons récemment conclu une entente avec la Standard Life au Québec, première province à avoir adopté RPAC, afin que les petites entreprises membres de notre fédération puissent offrir à leurs employés la possibilité de se prévaloir de ces régimes à participation volontaire. »

- Dan Kelly, président, Fédération canadienne de l’entreprise indépendante

Contacts

Meagan Murdoch
Communications
Cabinet du ministre d’État (Finances)
613-369-5659

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés