Archived - Harper Government Takes Action to Strengthen Existing Framework for Federally Regulated Private Pension Plans

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

September 19, 2014 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Minister of State (Finance) Kevin Sorenson today proposed new regulations that will, upon approval, build on improvements that the Harper Government initiated in 2009 to modernize and strengthen the framework governing federally regulated private pension plans. Since 2009, many of the improvements introduced under this initiative have already been brought into effect, including measures to enhance protections for pension plan members, reduce funding volatility for defined benefit pension plans, and make it easier for plan participants to negotiate changes to their pension arrangements. Today’s proposed amendments to the Pension Benefits Standards Regulations, 1985 (PBSR) would build on these advances by improving the framework for defined contribution plans, enhancing disclosure and protection for plan members and beneficiaries, and modernizing the pension investment rules.

Quick Facts

Private pension plans provide an important source of retirement income for employees and their families. Employers generally set up pension plans voluntarily; however, once a pension plan is established, it must be funded and administered in compliance with applicable tax and pension laws. Today’s proposed regulations apply to those private and Crown corporation pension plans that are regulated by the federal government under the Pension Benefits Standards Act, 1985,which is applicable to the banking, telecommunications and interprovincial transportation industries. There are currently approximately 1,200 such federally regulated pension plans in Canada.

Today’s proposed amendments would:

  • Improve the framework for defined contribution plans by offering a new type of benefit for those retiring—a variable benefit. This option has already been provided for in legislation but these regulations make the option available to pensioners. These improvements would permit pensioners to withdraw variable amounts from their pension fund each year. The proposed regulations would also set out the information that should be provided by administrators of pension plans that offer investment choices to members. In particular, the administrator will be required to provide written notice of any timing restrictions that would affect investment choices, as well as each option’s investment objective, performance history and fees. This way, Canadians can make the most informed decisions about what to do with their retirement dollars.
  • Enhance disclosure and protection by requiring administrators to provide retirees and other former pension plan members with an annual statement, as currently required for active members. The annual statement will be updated to include information on the plan’s investments, and for defined benefit plans, the value of the plan’s assets and liabilities as well as the employer’s contributions. This will ensure that employees and pensioners are kept informed about the status and well-being of their investments so that they can make informed decisions about their retirement.  
  • Modernize the pension investment rules to help ensure adequate diversification of a pension plan’s investments. The proposed regulations enhance an existing rule that sets the limits for how much a plan can invest in one entity. The amendments will improve the rule prohibiting plan administrators from investing more than 10% of plan assets in one entity by basing the calculation on “market value”, which reflects the change in the value of investments over time, as opposed to the current practice of using “book value”, and clarify that the limit applies to the total of debt and equity. Prohibitions against investing in related parties, such as the employer, will also be tightened. This will help protect pensioners by ensuring that their pensions are invested in a safe and responsible manner.

The proposed regulations also include technical amendments to existing pension regulations to ensure consistency with corresponding provisions in the PBSR, as well as to address some inconsistencies in translations between both official languages. They will be released for public comment with official pre-publication in the Canada Gazette on September 27, 2014. Interested persons may make representations on the proposed amendments within 30 days of publication, prior to final consideration by the Government.

Quotes

"Based on extensive consultations, these improvements to the federally regulated private pension framework will provide enhanced benefit security for workers and retirees, while allowing pension plan sponsors to better manage their funding obligations as part of their overall business operations. They are an important complement to the range of measures the Harper Government has taken to ensure a strong retirement income system for Canadians, including innovative new options like Pooled Registered Pension Plans and Target Benefit Plans."

- Kevin Sorenson, Minister of State (Finance)

Associated Links

Media Contacts

Meagan Murdoch
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of State (Finance)
613-369-3295

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le gouvernement Harper prend des mesures pour renforcer le cadre existant des régimes de retraite privés sous réglementation fédérale

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 19 septembre 2014 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre d’État (Finances), Kevin Sorenson, a proposé aujourd’hui de nouvelles dispositions réglementaires qui, une fois approuvées, s’ajouteraient aux améliorations entreprises par le gouvernement Harper en 2009 dans le but de moderniser et de renforcer le cadre régissant les régimes de retraite privés sous réglementation fédérale. Depuis 2009, plusieurs des améliorations issues de cette initiative sont entrées en vigueur, notamment des mesures visant à améliorer la protection offerte aux participants aux régimes de retraite, à réduire la volatilité de la capitalisation des régimes à prestations déterminées, et à faciliter, pour les participants, la négociation de changements dans les modalités de leur régime de retraite. Les modifications proposées aujourd’hui au Règlement de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pension (« le Règlement ») poursuivraient ces progrès en améliorant le cadre des régimes à cotisations déterminées, en améliorant la divulgation et la protection des participants et des bénéficiaires, et en modernisant les règles de placement des fonds de retraite.

Les faits en bref

Les régimes de retraite privés constituent une importante source de revenu de retraite pour les employés et leur famille. De façon générale, les employeurs mettent volontairement sur pied un régime de retraite. Cependant, dès qu’un régime est établi, il doit être financé et géré conformément à la législation fiscale et aux lois pertinentes relatives aux pensions. Le projet de règlement présenté aujourd’hui s’applique aux régimes de retraite privés ou de sociétés d’État sous réglementation fédérale régis par la Loi de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pension, à laquelle sont assujettis les secteurs des banques, des télécommunications et du transport interprovincial. On compte à l’heure actuelle environ 1 200 de ces régimes de retraite au Canada.

Les modifications proposées aujourd’hui visent à :

  • Améliorer le cadre des régimes à cotisations déterminées en offrant l’option d’un nouveau type de prestations à la retraite : les prestations variables. Cette option est déjà prévue dans la loi, mais ce projet de règlement permettrait aux pensionnés de s’en prévaloir. Chaque année, les pensionnés pourraient retirer des montants variables de leur fonds de pension. Le projet de règlement préciserait également les renseignements que doivent fournir les administrateurs de régimes de retraite qui offrent aux participants des choix en matière de placements. Plus particulièrement, l’administrateur sera tenu de donner un avis écrit de toute restriction temporelle qui aurait une incidence sur les choix de placement et d’indiquer l’objectif et l’historique de chaque option de placement ainsi que les frais afférents. Ainsi, les Canadiennes et les Canadiens pourront prendre les décisions les plus éclairées possible quant à l’utilisation des sommes destinées à leur retraite.
  • Améliorer la divulgation et la protection en exigeant que l’administrateur d’un régime de retraite visé fournisse un relevé annuel aux retraités et aux autres anciens participants, tel qu’on l’exige actuellement pour les participants actifs. Le relevé annuel sera mis à jour de manière à inclure des renseignements sur les placements du régime et, dans le cas des régimes à prestations déterminées, la valeur de l’actif et du passif du régime ainsi que les cotisations de l’employeur. Cette mesure fera en sorte que les employés et les pensionnés seront tenus au courant de la situation de leurs investissements, ce qui leur permettra de prendre des décisions éclairées à propos de leur retraite. 
  • Moderniser les règles de placement des fonds de retraite en vue de garantir une diversification adéquate des placements d’un régime de retraite. Le projet de règlement vient améliorer une règle existante qui plafonne les sommes qui peuvent être investies par un régime dans une seule entité. Ces modifications renforceront la règle qui interdit aux administrateurs de régimes d’investir plus de 10 % de l’actif d’un régime dans une seule entité en stipulant que ce montant devra être calculé selon la « valeur marchande », laquelle tient compte des variations de la valeur des placements au fil du temps, par opposition au calcul actuel fondé sur la « valeur comptable »; les règles préciseront aussi que ce plafond s’applique au total de la dette et des capitaux propres. Les interdictions relatives aux placements dans des parties apparentées, par exemple l’employeur, seront également resserrées. Ces mesures contribueront à protéger les pensionnés en garantissant que leurs fonds de retraite seront placés de façon sûre et responsable.

Le projet de règlement comprend aussi des modifications techniques à d’autres règlements existants en matière de pensions, qui visent à assurer la cohérence de ceux-ci avec les dispositions correspondantes du Règlement et à corriger certaines incohérences entre le libellé des dispositions dans les deux langues officielles. Le projet de règlement fera l’objet d’une publication préalable officielle aux fins de consultation dans la Gazette du Canada du 27 septembre 2014. Les parties intéressées disposeront de 30 jours suivant la date de publication pour faire parvenir leurs observations avant que le gouvernement procède à un examen final.

Citations

« Formulées à la suite de vastes consultations, ces améliorations au cadre des régimes de retraite privés sous réglementation fédérale entraîneront une plus grande sécurité des prestations pour les travailleurs et les retraités, tout en permettant aux répondants des régimes de mieux gérer leurs obligations en matière de capitalisation dans le cadre de l'exploitation générale de leurs entreprises. Ces mesures constituent un complément important à l'éventail de mesures prises par le gouvernement Harper pour assurer la solidité du système de revenu de retraite des Canadiennes et des Canadiens, notamment l'établissement d'options innovatrices comme les régimes de pension agréés collectifs et les régimes à prestations cibles. »

- Kevin Sorenson, ministre d’État (Finances)

Liens connexes

Contacts

Meagan Murdoch
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre d’État (Finances)
613-369-3295

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés