Archived - British Columbia, Ontario, Saskatchewan, New Brunswick and Canada Strengthen Their Commitment to the Cooperative Capital Markets Regulatory System

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

September 8, 2014

The Honourable Michael de Jong, British Columbia’s Minister of Finance, the Honourable Charles Sousa, Ontario’s Minister of Finance, the Honourable Gordon Wyant, Saskatchewan’s Minister of Justice and Attorney General, the Honourable Troy Lifford, New Brunswick’s Minister of Justice, and the Honourable Joe Oliver, Canada’s Minister of Finance, have signed a Memorandum of Agreement formalizing the terms and conditions of the Cooperative Capital Markets Regulatory System.  Consultation drafts of uniform provincial capital markets legislation and complementary federal legislation are also being released for public comment.

On September 19, 2013, the Governments of British Columbia, Ontario and Canada announced their agreement in principle to jointly establish a Cooperative Capital Markets Regulatory System.  Subsequently, on July 9, 2014, Saskatchewan and New Brunswick agreed to join the Cooperative System with the signing of an Amended Agreement in Principle, which ensures a more balanced and inclusive governance structure for all participating jurisdictions.  Today’s announcement builds on those agreements and also renews the invitation to all provinces and territories to participate in the Cooperative System.

The release of the consultation drafts of the proposed provincial and federal legislation marks another important milestone in the transition towards the Cooperative System.  The completion of the consultation draft of the uniform provincial legislation represents a significant achievement in the harmonization of current provincial capital markets legislation.  The consultation draft of the complementary federal legislation, addressing systemic risk in national capital markets, national data collection, and criminal law matters, is responsive to and consistent with the direction provided by the Supreme Court of Canada.  Together, the Memorandum of Agreement and the consultation drafts of proposed provincial and federal legislation demonstrate the ongoing commitment of the parties to work together in a collaborative manner to strengthen and streamline the capital markets regulatory framework.

The implementation of the Cooperative System will continue through a number of phases.  The participating jurisdictions will work to complete draft initial regulations and the means of establishing the Capital Markets Regulatory Authority.  As work continues toward the operationalization of the Capital Markets Regulatory Authority targeted by fall 2015, the participating jurisdictions reiterate their invitation to the governments of other provinces and territories to participate in the Cooperative System, which will better protect investors, support and foster efficiency, and manage systemic risk in national capital markets.

Quotes

“We continue to make steady progress towards establishing the Cooperative Capital Markets Regulatory System and improving the regulation of capital markets in Canada. I encourage all capital market participants to review the proposed provincial and federal legislation, and provide us with your input. This consultation period provides all participants with an opportunity to have input into shaping this new cooperative system.”

- Michael de Jong, Minister of Finance of British Columbia

“Today marks another bold step forward in a cooperative initiative to improve our competitiveness and shared prosperity.  We’re continuing to build on the talent and expertise that each of our regulators bring to their work every day. I encourage all provinces and territories to join us in moving forward towards stronger capital markets, sustained job creation, and long-term economic growth.”

- Charles Sousa, Minister of Finance of Ontario

“The release of this agreement and draft legislation is an important milestone in the implementation of the Cooperative System. We invite capital market participants across Canada to review and comment on the framework.”

- Gordon Wyant, Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Saskatchewan

“The New Brunswick government was an early adopter of the Cooperative Capital Markets Regulatory System. It is fully supportive of a self-funded system that will reduce red tape for businesses while it considers the needs of local jurisdictions and provides reform on a national scale.”

- Troy Lifford, Minister of Justice of New Brunswick

“Canada needs a cooperative system that will strengthen our capital markets, reduce red tape for businesses, and attract more capital investment. Furthermore, it will enhance investor protection and improve the oversight of systemic risk. This is key to creating jobs, growth, and long-term prosperity for Canadians, while respecting the guidance provided by the Supreme Court. Today’s agreement and the release of the consultation drafts of proposed legislation for the Cooperative System will provide all stakeholders with a clear understanding of how the framework is intended to work.”

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance of Canada

Related Products

Additional Links

Media Contacts

Jamie Edwardson
Communications Director
British Columbia Ministry of Finance
250-356-2821

Susie Heath
Communications
Office of Ontario’s Minister of Finance
416-325-3645

Scott Blodgett
Ontario Ministry of Finance
416-325-0324

Matt Barton
Financial and Consumer Affairs Authority of Saskatchewan
306-536-8702

Lori-Jean Wallace
Director of Communications
New Brunswick’s Justice and Office of the Attorney General
506-444-2501

Melissa Lantsman
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance of Canada
613-996-7861

Stéphanie Rubec
Media Relations
Department of Finance Canada
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Archivé - La Colombie-Britannique, l’Ontario, la Saskatchewan, le Nouveau-Brunswick et le Canada renforcent leur engagement à l’égard du régime coopératif en matière de réglementation des marchés des capitaux

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 8 septembre 2014

L’honorable Michael de Jong, ministre des Finances de la Colombie-Britannique, l’honorable Charles Sousa, ministre des Finances de l’Ontario, l’honorable Gordon Wyant, ministre de la Justice et procureur général de la Saskatchewan, l’honorable Troy Lifford, ministre de la Justice du Nouveau-Brunswick et l’honorable Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances du Canada, ont signé un protocole d’accord qui officialise les modalités du régime coopératif en matière de réglementation des marchés des capitaux. Des ébauches aux fins de consultation de la législation provinciale uniforme portant sur les marchés des capitaux et de la législation fédérale complémentaire sont également rendues publiques dans le but de recueillir des commentaires.

Le 19 septembre 2013, les gouvernements de la Colombie-Britannique, de l’Ontario et du Canada ont annoncé une entente de principe visant à établir conjointement un régime coopératif en matière de réglementation des marchés des capitaux. Par la suite, soit le 9 juillet 2014, la Saskatchewan et le Nouveau-Brunswick ont accepté de se joindre au régime coopératif en signant une entente de principe modifiée, laquelle assure une structure de gouvernance plus équilibrée et inclusive pour toutes les administrations participantes. L’annonce d’aujourd’hui s’appuie sur ces ententes et renouvelle aussi l’invitation faite à toutes les provinces et tous les territoires de participer au régime coopératif.

La publication des ébauches aux fins de consultation de la législation provinciale et fédérale proposée marque une autre étape importante de la transition vers le régime coopératif. La réalisation des ébauches aux fins de consultation de la législation provinciale uniforme représente une réalisation de taille dans l’harmonisation de la législation provinciale actuelle sur les marchés des capitaux. Pour sa part, l’ébauche aux fins de consultation de la législation fédérale complémentaire, portant sur le risque systémique dans les marchés des capitaux nationaux, la collecte de données à l’échelle nationale et les questions de droit criminel, tient compte de l’orientation donnée par la Cour suprême du Canada et la respecte. Ensemble, le protocole d’accord et les ébauches de la législation provinciale et fédérale proposée démontrent l’engagement continu des parties à travailler en collaboration dans le but de renforcer et de rationaliser le cadre réglementaire des marchés des capitaux.

La mise en œuvre du régime coopératif se poursuivra suivant un certain nombre d’étapes. Les administrations participantes travailleront à l’élaboration des règlements initiaux et définiront les moyens d’établir l’Autorité de réglementation des marchés des capitaux. Tandis que le travail se poursuit en vue de l’entrée en activité de l’Autorité de réglementation des marchés des capitaux prévue d’ici l’automne 2015, les administrations participantes réitèrent leur invitation aux gouvernements des autres provinces et territoires de participer au régime coopératif, lequel  améliorera la protection des investisseurs, favorisera l’efficacité et permettra de gérer le risque systémique dans les marchés des capitaux nationaux.

Citations

« Nous réalisons des progrès constants dans la mise sur pied du régime coopératif de réglementation des marchés des capitaux et dans l’amélioration de la réglementation des marchés des capitaux au Canada. J’invite tous les participants à ces marchés à examiner la législation provinciale et fédérale proposée et à nous faire part de leurs commentaires. Cette période de consultation offre à tous les participants l’occasion de donner leurs idées pour façonner ce nouveau régime coopératif. »

- Michael de Jong, ministre des Finances de la Colombie-Britannique

« Nous franchissons aujourd’hui une autre étape audacieuse vers une initiative de collaboration visant à améliorer notre compétitivité et notre prospérité commune. Nous continuons à miser sur le talent et l’expertise que chacun de nos organismes de réglementation apporte chaque jour à son travail. J’incite toutes les provinces et tous les territoires à se joindre à nous afin de progresser dans la réalisation de marchés de capitaux plus forts, une création d’emplois soutenue et une croissance économique à long terme. »

- Charles Sousa, ministre des Finances de l’Ontario

« La publication de cet accord et des ébauches des lois constitue un jalon important dans la mise en œuvre du régime coopératif. Nous invitons les participants aux marchés des capitaux du Canada à examiner et à commenter le cadre proposé. »

- Gordon Wyant, ministre de la Justice et procureur général de la Saskatchewan

« Le gouvernement du Nouveau-Brunswick a été l’un des premiers à adopter le régime coopératif en matière de réglementation des marchés des capitaux. Il soutient entièrement un régime autofinancé, qui réduira les formalités administratives pour les entreprises, tout en tenant compte des besoins des administrations locales, en plus de présenter une réforme à l’échelle nationale. »

- Troy Lifford, ministre de la Justice du Nouveau-Brunswick

« Le Canada a besoin d’un régime coopératif qui viendra renforcer nos marchés des capitaux, qui réduira les formalités administratives pour les entreprises et qui attirera plus d’investissements en capital. Ce régime permettra de mieux protéger les investisseurs et d’améliorer la surveillance du risque systémique. Cela est essentiel afin de créer des emplois et d’assurer la croissance et la prospérité à long terme au profit des Canadiennes et des Canadiens, et ce, tout en respectant l’orientation donnée par la Cour suprême. L’entente d’aujourd’hui et la publication des ébauches à des fins de consultation de la législation proposée pour le régime coopératif permettront à tous les intervenants de comprendre clairement la façon dont le cadre est censé fonctionner. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances du Canada

Produits connexes

Liens connexes

Contacts

Jamie Edwardson
Directeur des communications
Ministère des Finances de la Colombie-Britannique
250-356-2821

Susie Heath
Communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances de l’Ontario
416-325-3645

Scott Blodgett
Ministère des Finances de l’Ontario
416-325-0324

Matt Barton
Financial and Consumer Affairs Authority de la Saskatchewan
306-536-8702

Lori-Jean Wallace
Directrice des communications
Ministère de la Justice et Cabinet du procureur général du Nouveau-Brunswick
506-444-2501

Melissa Lantsman
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances du Canada
613-996-7861

Stéphanie Rubec
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances du Canada
613-369-4000

Restez branchés