Archived - Government of Canada and City of Calgary Announce P3 Canada Fund Investment to Support Stoney Compressed Natural Gas Bus Storage and Transit Facility

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

July 30, 2014 – Calgary, Alberta – Department of Finance

On behalf of Finance Minister Joe Oliver, Devinder Shory, Member of Parliament for Calgary Northeast, today announced that the Government of Canada will help fund the Stoney Compressed Natural Gas Bus Storage and Transit Facility in the City of Calgary. Mr. Shory was joined at the event by Calgary Mayor Naheed Nenshi and Malcolm Logan, Calgary's General Manager of Transportation.

Through the P3 Canada Fund, the Government of Canada will provide an investment of up to $48.4 million toward the construction of the facility.

The new facility will provide storage and maintenance space for the City of Calgary's new fleet of Compressed Natural Gas buses as well as diesel buses that are currently stored outside of the city's other bus garages. The facility will be capable of housing up to 400 Compressed Natural Gas buses, including indoor vehicle storage, 40 maintenance bays, two steam bays, on-site natural gas compression, and Compressed Natural Gas storage distribution infrastructure, and administrative facilities. The new facility will allow for the servicing of existing diesel buses until the Compressed Natural Gas bus fleet is large enough to occupy the entire facility.

A private sector partner will be competitively selected to design, build, finance and maintain the facility. City staff will continue to service and maintain the buses. Throughout the maintenance phase, the private partner will be responsible for janitorial services, routine facility and landscape maintenance, as well as major maintenance and rehabilitation of the facility for the duration of the 30-year contract.

Quick Facts

  • This is the P3 Canada Fund’s first project with the City of Calgary.
  • A Request for Qualifications is scheduled for release in December 2014. The 30-month construction period is expected to begin in June 2016, and the facility opening is expected in November 2018.
  • The $1.25-billion P3 Canada Fund is managed by PPP Canada, a Crown corporation responsible for advancing Canadian P3s through the provision of expert advice and support to all levels of government.    


"Our Government is proud to see cities like Calgary adopting a modern and innovative approach to infrastructure development. The Stoney Compressed Natural Gas Bus Maintenance Facility is a forward-thinking project that will provide long-term value for Calgarians."

- Devinder Shory, Member of Parliament for Calgary Northeast

"This is an important investment in Calgary transit that will have significant benefits for Calgarians. Natural gas can be less expensive and have a lower environmental impact than diesel fuel, and natural gas buses can be quieter and more reliable than their diesel counterparts. Moreover, this is a great opportunity to showcase Canada's natural gas industry right here in Calgary."

- Naheed Nenshi, Mayor of Calgary

Associated Links

Media Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance

Conrad Hild
Communications Strategist, Transportation Infrastructure
City of Calgary

PPP Canada Media Inquiries or

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le gouvernement du Canada et la Ville de Calgary annoncent un investissement du Fonds PPP Canada pour soutenir la construction du garage Stoney pour le stationnement et l'entretien des autobus du transport en commun alimentés au gaz naturel comprimé

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 30 juillet 2014 – Calgary (Alberta) – Ministère des Finances

Au nom du ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, le député de Calgary-Nord-Est, Devinder Shory, a annoncé aujourd’hui que le gouvernement du Canada contribuera au financement du garage Stoney pour le stationnement et l’entretien des autobus du transport en commun alimentés au gaz naturel comprimé, lequel garage sera construit à Calgary. Lors de cette annonce, M. Shory était accompagné du maire de Calgary, Naheed Nenshi, et du directeur général des services de transports de la Ville, Malcolm Logan.

Par l’entremise du Fonds PPP Canada, le gouvernement du Canada investira un montant pouvant atteindre 48,4 millions de dollars en vue de la construction de ces installations.

Les nouvelles installations comporteront un stationnement intérieur et une aire d’entretien pour le nouveau parc d’autobus alimentés au gaz naturel comprimé de la Ville de Calgary, ainsi que pour les autobus à moteur diesel qui sont actuellement garés à l’extérieur des autres garages d’autobus de la Ville. Les installations pourront accueillir jusqu’à 400 autobus alimentés au gaz naturel comprimé, et comprendront notamment des places de stationnement intérieur, 40 stations d’entretien, deux stations de nettoyage à vapeur, du matériel de compression du gaz naturel, une infrastructure de stockage et de distribution de gaz naturel comprimé, et des locaux administratifs. Les nouvelles installations permettront d’effectuer des travaux d’entretien et de réparation sur les autobus à moteur diesel existants, et ce, jusqu’à ce que la taille du parc d’autobus alimentés au gaz naturel comprimé soit suffisamment importante pour occuper tout l’espace disponible.

Un partenaire du secteur privé, qui sera sélectionné dans le cadre d’un processus d’appel d’offres concurrentiel, se verra confier le mandat de concevoir, de construire, de financer et d’entretenir les installations. Les employés municipaux continueront d’assumer l’entretien et la maintenance des autobus. Tout au long de l’étape de l’entretien, le partenaire privé sera responsable du nettoyage, des travaux courants d’entretien et d’aménagement extérieur, ainsi que des grands travaux d’entretien et de rénovation pour la durée du contrat de 30 ans.

Les faits en bref

  • Il s’agit du premier projet du Fonds PPP Canada à être réalisé conjointement avec la Ville de Calgary.
  • La publication de la demande de qualification est prévue pour décembre 2014. Les travaux de construction des installations, qui devraient s’échelonner sur une période de 30 mois, devraient débuter en juin 2016, et l'on prévoit que l’inauguration des installations aura lieu en novembre 2018.
  • Le Fonds PPP Canada, doté de 1,25 milliard de dollars, est géré par PPP Canada, une société d’État chargée de promouvoir les PPP canadiens grâce à la prestation de conseils spécialisés et d’un soutien à tous les ordres de gouvernement.

Citations

« Notre gouvernement est fier de voir que des villes comme Calgary adoptent une approche moderne et novatrice en matière de développement de l'infrastructure. Le garage Stoney pour le stationnement et l'entretien des autobus du transport en commun alimentés au gaz naturel comprimé constitue un projet axé sur l'avenir qui procurera de la valeur à long terme pour les Calgariens. »

- Devinder Shory, député fédéral de Calgary-Nord-Est

« Cet important investissement dans le transport en commun de Calgary apportera des avantages considérables pour les citoyens de notre ville. Le gaz naturel peut représenter une solution moins coûteuse et avoir une incidence environnementale plus faible que le carburant diesel, et les autobus alimentés au gaz naturel peuvent être moins bruyants et plus fiables que ceux alimentés au carburant diesel. En outre, il s'agit d'une excellente occasion de mettre en valeur l'industrie canadienne du gaz naturel, ici même à Calgary. »

- Naheed Nenshi, maire de Calgary

Liens connexes

Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Conrad Hild
Stratège en communications, Infrastructure des transports
Ville de Calgary
403-268-3249

PPP Canada
Demandes de renseignements des médias
media@p3canada.ca ou
613-947-9480 / 1-877-947-9480

Restez branchés