Archived - Minister Oliver Discusses the State of the Canadian Economy and Medium-Term Priorities With Provincial and Territorial Finance Ministers

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Meeting focuses on balanced budgets and sustainable financing as basis for supporting job creation and long-term growth

June 18, 2014 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver and Minister of State (Finance) Kevin Sorenson today took part in a telepresence meeting with provincial and territorial finance ministers to discuss concrete options to support job creation and long-term growth for Canadians in the current economic environment.

Minister Oliver encouraged his provincial and territorial counterparts to return to budgetary balance, which the Harper Government will achieve in 2015. He also stressed the importance of keeping taxes low and government spending in check.

Quick Facts

  • Since the Government first introduced its Economic Action Plan to respond to the global recession, Canada has recovered both more than all of the output and all of the jobs lost during the recession.
  • The Canadian economy has posted one of the strongest job creation records in the Group of Seven (G-7) over the recovery, with more than 1 million jobs created since July 2009.
  • Over 80% of all jobs created since July 2009 are full-time positions, about 80% are in the private sector and over 60% are in high-wage industries.
  • Real gross domestic product is significantly above pre-recession levels—the best performance in the G-7.
  • Major federal transfers to provinces and territories have grown by 55% under the Harper Government, and will continue to grow from the current all-time high of almost $65 billion, offering sustainable and predictable support for the provision of health care, education and social services.

Quotes

“Today Canada’s finance ministers discussed our respective priorities and shared ideas on how best to maximize Canada’s tremendous potential for strong, sustained economic growth that benefits us all. Canada derives its strength from all its regions. I encouraged my counterparts to keep taxes low and return to budgetary balance in order to keep more dollars in the pockets of Canadians, which will support job creation and long-term economic growth. I look forward to working cooperatively with them in building an even stronger, more prosperous Canada.”

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

Additional Links

Media Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le ministre Oliver discute de la situation de l’économie canadienne et des priorités à moyen terme avec les ministres des Finances provinciaux et territoriaux

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Une réunion axée sur le rôle central de l’équilibre budgétaire et du financement viable dans le soutien de la création d’emplois et de la croissance à long terme

Le 18 juin 2014 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, et le ministre d’État (Finances), Kevin Sorenson, ont participé aujourd’hui à une réunion par téléprésence avec les ministres des Finances des provinces et des territoires pour discuter des options concrètes pour appuyer la création d’emplois et la croissance à long terme au profit des Canadiennes et des Canadiens dans le contexte économique actuel.  

Le ministre Oliver a incité ses homologues provinciaux et territoriaux à rétablir l’équilibre budgétaire, équilibre que le gouvernement Harper atteindra en 2015. Il a également souligné l’importance de maintenir des impôts peu élevés et de contenir les dépenses gouvernementales. 

Les faits en bref

  • Depuis que le gouvernement a mis de l’avant son Plan d’action économique en réaction à la récession mondiale, le Canada a plus que récupéré la perte de production et d’emplois survenue pendant la récession.
  • L’économie canadienne a affiché l’une des plus fortes créations d’emploi parmi les pays du Groupe des Sept (G-7) au cours de la reprise, grâce à plus de 1 million d’emplois crées depuis juillet 2009.
  • Plus de 80 % des emplois créés depuis juillet 2009 sont des postes à temps plein, près de 80 % ont été créés dans le secteur privé et plus de 60 % ont été créés dans des industries à rémunération élevée.
  • Le produit intérieur brut réel du Canada dépasse nettement les niveaux enregistrés avant la récession; il s’agit de la meilleure performance parmi les pays du G-7.
  • Les principaux transferts fédéraux aux provinces et aux territoires ont crû de 55 % sous le gouvernement Harper. Ces transferts poursuivront leur croissance par rapport au montant record actuel de près de 65 milliards de dollars, offrant ainsi un financement viable et prévisible pour les soins de santé, l’éducation et les services sociaux.

Citations

« Les ministres des Finances du Canada ont discuté aujourd’hui de leurs priorités respectives et des meilleures façons dont on peut maximiser l’énorme potentiel du Canada à réaliser une croissance économique forte et durable qui bénéficiera à chacun d’entre nous. La force du Canada découle de l’apport de chacune de ses régions. J’ai incité mes homologues à maintenir des impôts peu élevés et à rétablir l’équilibre budgétaire afin que les Canadiens puissent conserver une plus grande part de l’argent qu’ils gagnent. De telles mesures appuieront la création d’emplois et la prospérité économique à long terme. Je suis impatient d’unir mes efforts à ceux de mes homologues dans la réalisation d’un pays encore plus fort et prospère. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

Liens connexes

Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés