Archived - Minister of State (Finance) Announces Appointment of Canada’s First Financial Literacy Leader

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Expert in domestic and international financial literacy chosen to chart course

April 15, 2014 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Minister of State (Finance) Kevin Sorenson today announced the appointment of Jane Rooney, a seasoned policy maker in domestic and international financial literacy issues, as Canada’s first-ever Financial Literacy Leader, building on the Harper Government’s ongoing initiatives to protect consumers. Minister Sorenson made the historic announcement at a local Ottawa school where he helped mark Talk With Our Kids About Money Day, a day created by the Canadian Foundation of Economic Education and sponsored by BMO Financial Group.

Canada is recognized worldwide as a leader in financial literacy. From the creation of the Task Force on Financial Literacy, to the dedication of November as Financial Literacy Month thanks to a Private Member’s bill by James Rajotte, Member of Parliament (Edmonton–Leduc), the Harper Government continues to lead with today’s appointment of a Financial Literacy Leader. The Task Force on Financial Literacy provided a number of recommendations, including the appointment of a Financial Literacy Leader, in an effort to help ensure Canadians are fully equipped with the knowledge and skills necessary to make responsible financial decisions.

The Financial Literacy Leader Act provides for the appointment of a Financial Literacy Leader within the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada. The Financial Literacy Leader’s mandate will be to collaborate and coordinate activities with stakeholders to contribute to and support initiatives that strengthen the financial literacy of Canadians.

The Harper Government has endeavoured to improve financial literacy by engaging stakeholders to better understand the unique challenges faced by seniors, and under the leadership of the Financial Literacy Leader it will consult on the development of a national financial literacy strategy that specifically responds to the needs of seniors.

Quick Facts

  • The position of Financial Literacy Leader was established through the Financial Literacy Leader Act in March 2013, thus implementing the top recommendation of the Task Force on Financial Literacy. 
  • The Leader’s mandate is to collaborate and coordinate activities with stakeholders to contribute to and support initiatives that strengthen the financial literacy of Canadians.
  • In addition to creating the Financial Literacy Leader, the Government has designated November as Financial Literacy Month, with the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada playing a lead role in this area, in addition to its enforcement and monitoring mandate in financial consumer protection.
  • The Government has also taken steps to update the existing financial consumer protection framework with several key measures:
    • Mandating an effective minimum 21-day, interest-free grace period on all new credit card purchases when a customer pays the outstanding balance in full and introducing a fee summary box;
    • Reducing the maximum cheque hold period to four days from seven days for cheques of less than $1,500 and providing consumers with timelier access to the first $100;
    • Banning unsolicited credit card cheques;
    • Requiring that federally regulated financial institutions offer products and services on an opt-in basis only, where consumers have sufficient disclosure about the terms and conditions before accepting; and
    • Introducing new requirements for prepaid cards issued by federally regulated financial institutions requiring them to disclose to consumers relevant information at appropriate points in time (the regulations come into force on May 1, 2014).


“In today’s global and complex financial world, financial literacy is more important than ever. The appointment of Jane Rooney will allow her to chart a course to better coordinate the efforts of all partners working to help improve Canadians’ financial decision-making abilities.”       

- Kevin Sorenson, Minister of State (Finance)

“As consumers of financial products and services ranging from credit cards and mortgages to a wide array of banking services, Canadians must be equipped to make informed decisions that strengthen their own personal finances and support the economy as a whole. I am honoured to accept this important task which will begin with consultations on the development of a new national financial literacy strategy that will place seniors front and centre.”

- Jane Rooney, Canada’s Financial Literacy Leader

“Over a number of years, I have come to know Jane Rooney as an exceptionally capable person and one who is strongly dedicated to helping Canadians achieve a higher level of financial literacy. I am sure she will excel in this new national role and I look forward to working with her as Canada’s Financial Literacy Leader.”

- James Rajotte, Chair, House of Commons Standing Committee on Finance, Member of Parliament (Edmonton–Leduc)

“There are many organizations in Canada doing great work to help improve financial literacy. However, the efforts lack coordination and common goals—and there is great opportunity for collaboration, showcasing excellence, and learning from the experiences of others. The new Financial Literacy Leader will be uniquely positioned to effect change in these areas and the appointment is welcomed by all of us involved in financial literacy.”

- Gary Rabbior, Canadian Foundation for Economic Education

“Investor Education Fund supports a coordinated national financial education policy led by a national literacy leader and we congratulate the new appointee. It is extremely important that we continue to develop independent, unbiased financial education programs that reach people in time to help them make better financial decisions. We look forward to sharing our expertise and working together closely.”

- Tom Hamza, President, Investor Education Fund

“Credit Canada is very pleased at the announcement of a Financial Literacy Leader in Canada. It is certainly wonderful to see this important recommendation from the Financial Literacy Task Force come to realization. This will pave the way for all of us to come together to ensure a more financially literate Canadian population who are able to make sound, educated decisions about their money.”

- Laurie Campbell, CEO, Credit Canada Debt Solutions and Member, Task Force on Financial Literacy

“Ensuring that Canadians have the information that they need to make informed financial decisions has been a long-time commitment of the banking industry. We congratulate the government on this appointment and look forward to working with the new Financial Literacy Leader and other partners on this important initiative. A dedicated Financial Literacy Leader will help achieve better coordination among the many financial literacy programs in place today and will help ensure that more Canadians have access to the skills and tools necessary to better manage their finances.”

- Terry Campbell, President, Canadian Bankers Association

“BMO has a longstanding commitment to fostering financial literacy and making money make sense—which in today’s economy has never been more important for youth. Jim Flaherty made the expansion of financial literacy a key priority during his tenure as finance minister. Today, we pay tribute to his efforts and his legacy. Congratulations to Jane Rooney, Canada’s new Financial Literacy Leader—a position that represents a part of Mr. Flaherty’s legacy.”

- L. Jacques Ménard, Chairman, BMO Nesbitt Burns and Vice-Chair, Task Force on Financial Literacy

“Scotiabank applauds the Government of Canada as they move forward with the recommendations from the Task Force on Financial Literacy and appoint a Financial Literacy Leader. Scotiabank is committed to providing access to education, resources and advice that enable individuals to make knowledgeable, responsible financial decisions, while giving them the confidence they need to save and invest for a bright future. We look forward to meeting with the Financial Literacy Leader and sharing Scotiabank’s experience supporting financial literacy in Canada and internationally.”

- Kaz Flinn, Vice President, Corporate Social Responsibility, Scotiabank

“Financial education is a top priority at TD and we believe strongly that all Canadians win with improved financial education, which is why we’re delighted to see Minister Sorenson’s announcement of a Financial Literacy Leader. It is important that the private sector and the public sector work together effectively, to ensure that Canadians are empowered to make good financial decisions through all the stages of their life.”

- Linda MacKay, Senior Vice President, TD Bank Group

“I am pleased the Financial Literacy Task Force’s recommendation to have a Financial Literacy Leader in Canada has finally come to fruition. This is an extremely important role and one that will benefit Canadians for generations to come. I can still recall when Finance Minister Jim Flaherty called me to take part in the Financial Literacy Task Force. The creation of the position of a National Financial Literacy Leader is another major contribution that Mr. Flaherty has made to Canada. It is thanks to his foresight on the importance of financial literacy for all Canadians that this position now exists.”

- Pat Foran, Consumer Advocate, CTV News and Member, Task Force on Financial Literacy

“With today’s announcement, it’s another step forward to making Canada as a whole more financially literate. Having a Financial Literacy Leader as a focal point will not only make it easier for consumers but for entrepreneurs as well to access and leverage resources.”

- Victoria Lennox, CEO, Startup Canada

“This is a critical first step to achieving a collaborative effort to help Canadians become better money managers. We believe that while many organizations are working toward a common goal of improved financial literacy for Canadians, no one organization can effectively address all of the challenges on its own.”

- Cairine Wilson, Vice-President, Chartered Professional Accountants of Canada

“ABC Life Literacy Canada looks forward to collaborating with the new Financial Literacy Leader and the financial literacy community to set defined goals and strategies to grow the financial literacy skills of Canadians. This new role will be critical to the continued growth of robust financial literacy programming and resources that can reach new priority audiences and lead the way to ensuring all Canadians can take control of their money management skills.”

- Gillian Mason, President, ABC Life Literacy Canada

“Providing Canadians with the right knowledge and tools will help them to take control of their financial destinies. The life and health insurance industry looks forward to working with Jane Rooney and to supporting her initiatives towards strengthening the financial literacy of Canadians.”

- Frank Swedlove, President, Canadian Life and Health Insurance Association

“Visa is pleased with the appointment of Jane Rooney as Canada’s new Financial Literacy Leader. The government’s commitment to promoting financial literacy is essential and timely. The new Leader will play a key role promoting greater industry cooperation to achieve better financial literacy for all Canadians.”

- Michelle Michalak, Head of Financial Literacy, Visa Canada

“Financial skills training is the missing piece to creating skilled, mobile workers that are able to compete in the 21st century. The new Financial Literacy Leader will be a key figure that will promote access to proper financial literacy programs, services and information for all Canadians regardless of location.”

- Meaghan Daly, President, Forward Vision Games

Related Products

Media Contacts

Meagan Murdoch
Office of the Minister of State (Finance)

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance

Stay Connected

Biographical Note

Jane Rooney

Ms. Rooney joined the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada (FCAC) in 2002, and since 2008 has been Director, Financial Literacy and Consumer Education. In this role she directed and implemented two national, separately funded education programs—one with a focus on financial literacy that helps Canadians increase their financial knowledge and confidence in managing their personal finances; the second on consumer education which aims to increase consumers’ knowledge and awareness of financial products and services, as well as their rights and responsibilities in this area. 

The innovative approach taken by Ms. Rooney and her financial literacy team earned them a 2010 Public Service Award of Excellence for the successful development of the popular The City: A Financial Life Skills Resource, a simulated online world that offers an interactive, engaging and fun way for students to learn about money.

Ms. Rooney is a member of a number of committees working on financial literacy within Canada and abroad. She is the Chair of the Government of Canada’s Interdepartmental Committee on Financial Literacy. She is also Canada’s representative on the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development’s (OECD) International Financial Education Network and on the OECD’s Advisory Board for the International Network on Financial Education.

Her previous work experience includes almost eight years as a policy analyst at the Canadian Payments Association, the organization that developed and operates the Canadian payments system. In that capacity, Ms. Rooney was a member of a number of Canadian committees that examined payment policy issues.

Ms. Rooney holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Economics from Carleton University.

Archivé - Le ministre d’État (Finances) annonce la nomination de la première chef du développement de la littératie financière du Canada

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Une experte des questions nationales et internationales de littératie financière tracera la voie à suivre

Le 15 avril 2014 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre d’État (Finances), Kevin Sorenson, a annoncé aujourd’hui la nomination de Mme Jane Rooney, une responsable chevronnée des politiques nationales et internationales en matière de littératie financière, à titre de toute première chef du développement de la littératie financière du Canada. Cette nomination pousse plus loin les initiatives en cours du gouvernement Harper en matière de protection des consommateurs. Le ministre Sorenson a fait cette annonce historique lors de la visite d’une école d’Ottawa où il a aidé à souligner la journée « Parlons d’argent avec nos enfants », créée par la Fondation canadienne d’éducation économique et commanditée par BMO Groupe financier.

Le Canada est reconnu dans le monde entier comme un chef de file en matière de littératie financière. Après avoir mis sur pied le Groupe de travail sur la littératie financière, puis désigné le mois de novembre « Mois de la littératie financière » en vertu d’un projet de loi d’initiative parlementaire déposé par James Rajotte, député d’Edmonton-Leduc, le gouvernement Harper continue de faire preuve de leadership en nommant aujourd’hui un chef du développement de la littératie financière. Le Groupe de travail sur la littératie financière a formulé un certain nombre de recommandations, dont la nomination d’un chef de la littératie financière, dans le but d’aider à faire en sorte que les Canadiennes et les Canadiens disposent de toutes les connaissances et des compétences requises pour prendre des décisions financières responsables.

La Loi sur le chef du développement de la littératie financière prévoit la nomination d’un chef du développement de la littératie financière au sein de l’Agence de la consommation en matière financière du Canada. Le chef du développement de la littératie financière aura pour mandat de collaborer avec les intervenants du domaine et de coordonner des activités à l’appui d’initiatives qui renforcent la littératie financière des Canadiens et d’y contribuer.

Le gouvernement Harper s’est efforcé de rehausser la littératie financière en mobilisant les intervenants afin de mieux comprendre les défis particuliers que doivent relever les aînés. Sous la direction de la chef du développement de la littératie financière, il tiendra des consultations sur l’élaboration d’une stratégie nationale en matière de littératie financière qui répondra précisément aux besoins des aînés.

Les faits en bref

  • Le poste de chef du développement de la littératie financière a été créé en vertu de la Loi sur le chef du développement de la littératie financière en mars 2013, faisant suite à la principale recommandation du Groupe de travail sur la littératie financière.
  • Le chef du développement de la littératie financière a pour mandat de collaborer avec les intervenants et de coordonner les initiatives qui contribuent à accroître la littératie financière des Canadiens et d’appuyer ces initiatives.
  • En plus de créer le poste de dirigeant de la littératie financière, le gouvernement a désigné le mois de novembre « Mois de la littératie financière ». L’Agence de la consommation en matière financière du Canada joue un rôle clé dans ce domaine, lequel s’ajoute à son mandat de surveillance et d’application de la loi en matière de protection des consommateurs de produits et services financiers.
  • Le gouvernement a également pris des mesures pour mettre à jour le cadre de protection des consommateurs de produits et services financiers, notamment:
    • Imposer un délai de grâce minimum effectif de 21 jours sans intérêt pour tous les nouveaux achats réglés par carte de crédit, lequel s’applique lorsque le consommateur paie son solde en entier, et exiger la présentation d’un encadré récapitulatif des frais.
    • Réduire de 7 jours à 4 jours la période maximale de retenue des chèques dont le montant ne dépasse pas 1 500 $ et donner aux consommateurs un accès plus rapide à la première tranche de 100 $ du montant déposé.
    • Interdire les chèques non sollicités sur cartes de crédit;
    • Exiger que les institutions financières sous réglementation fédérale offrent les produits et services uniquement selon le principe de l’abonnement volontaire et que les consommateurs soient suffisamment informés des modalités avant de les accepter.
    • Mettre en place de nouvelles exigences concernant les cartes prépayées émises par les institutions financières sous réglementation fédérale, qui obligent les institutions à divulguer aux consommateurs les renseignements pertinents à des moments appropriés. Cette réglementation entrera en vigueur le 1er mai 2014.

Citations

« Dans le contexte financier actuel, qui est complexe et mondialisé, la littératie financière revêt plus d’importance que jamais. Dans ses nouvelles fonctions, Jane Rooney pourra tracer la voie à suivre pour mieux coordonner les efforts de tous les partenaires qui tentent d’aider les Canadiens à améliorer leurs capacités de prendre des décisions financières. »  

- Kevin Sorenson, ministre d’État (Finances)

« À titre de consommateurs de produits et de services financiers, qu’il s’agisse de cartes de crédit, de prêts hypothécaires ou de l’un ou l’autre de la vaste gamme des services bancaires, les Canadiens doivent disposer des moyens nécessaires pour prendre des décisions éclairées qui les aideront à consolider leurs finances personnelles tout en appuyant l’économie en général. J’accepte avec plaisir ce mandat important, qui prévoit d’abord la tenue de consultations en prévision de l’élaboration d’une nouvelle stratégie nationale qui sera avant tout axée sur les besoins des aînés. »

- Jane Rooney, chef du développement de la littératie financière du Canada

« Au fil des ans, j’ai pu constater que Jane Rooney est une personne exceptionnellement compétente, qui se dévoue sans cesse pour aider les Canadiens à accroître leur niveau de littératie financière. Je suis convaincu qu’elle s’acquittera de son rôle de portée nationale avec brio, et je suis impatient de travailler avec elle dans son rôle de chef du développement de la littératie financière du Canada. »

- James Rajotte, président du Comité permanent des finances de la Chambre des communes et député d’Edmonton-Leduc

« Bon nombre d’organisations au Canada font d’excellents efforts pour relever le niveau de littératie financière. Ces efforts manquent toutefois de coordination et d’objectifs communs. Voici une excellente occasion de faire preuve de collaboration, de mettre en valeur l’excellence et d’apprendre des expériences des autres. La nouvelle chef du développement de la littératie financière sera exceptionnellement bien placé pour opérer des changements dans ces domaines, et tous les intervenants en matière de littératie financière se réjouissent de cette nomination. »

- Gary Rabbior, Fondation canadienne d’éducation économique

« Le Fonds pour l’éducation des investisseurs soutient une politique nationale d'éducation financière, coordonnée par un chef du développement de la littératie financière, et nous félicitons la nouvelle titulaire. Il est extrêmement important de continuer à mettre au point des programmes d'éducation financière indépendants et impartiaux qui rejoignent les personnes à temps pour les aider à prendre de meilleures décisions financières. Nous sommes impatients de partager notre savoir-faire et de travailler en étroite collaboration avec la titulaire. »

- Tom Hamza, président, Fonds pour l’éducation des investisseurs

« Credit Canada est très heureuse de la nomination d’un chef du développement de la littératie financière au Canada. C’est tout simplement magnifique de constater que cette importante recommandation du Groupe de travail sur la littératie financière s’est concrétisée. Cette nomination nous permettra de veiller tous ensemble à ce que la population canadienne acquière davantage de connaissances financières et puisse ainsi prendre des décisions saines et éclairées en ce qui concerne son argent. »

- Laurie Campbell, chef de la direction, Credit Canada Debt Solutions et membre du Groupe de travail sur la littératie financière

« L’industrie bancaire poursuit depuis longtemps l’engagement de veiller à ce que les Canadiens aient l’information dont ils ont besoin pour prendre des décisions financières éclairées, Nous félicitons le gouvernement de cette nomination et sommes impatients de collaborer avec la nouvelle chef du développement de la littératie financière et d’autres partenaires à cette importante initiative. Un chef du développement qui se consacre exclusivement à la littératie financière permettra d’assurer une meilleure coordination entre les nombreux programmes de littératie financière existants et permettra de faire en sorte qu’un plus grand nombre de Canadiens aient accès aux compétences et aux outils nécessaires pour mieux gérer leurs finances. »

- Terry Campbell, président de l’Association des banquiers du Canada

« BMO s’est engagé de longue date à favoriser la littératie financière et la connaissance du domaine financier dans l’ensemble, ce qui n’a jamais été plus important pour les jeunes que dans l’économie d’aujourd’hui. Jim Flaherty a fait de l’expansion de la littératie financière une priorité au cours de son mandat de ministre des Finances. Aujourd’hui, nous rendons hommage à ses efforts et à son héritage. Félicitations à Jane Rooney, notre nouvelle chef du développement de la littératie financière du Canada, un poste qui représente une partie de l’héritage de M. Flaherty. »

- L. Jacques Ménard, président du conseil d’administration, BMO Nesbitt Burns, et vice-président du Groupe de travail sur la littératie financière

« La Banque Scotia se réjouit de la décision du gouvernement du Canada de donner suite aux recommandations du Groupe de travail sur la littératie financière en annonçant la nomination d’un chef du développement de la littératie financière. La Banque Scotia s'engage à fournir l'accès à l'éducation, aux ressources et aux conseils qui permettent aux particuliers de prendre des décisions financières responsables et éclairées, tout en leur donnant la confiance nécessaire pour épargner et investir en prévision d’un bel avenir. Nous avons hâte de rencontrer la chef du développement de la littératie financière et de partager l'expérience de la Banque Scotia à l’appui de la littératie financière au Canada et à l'étranger. »

- Kaz Flinn, vice-présidente, Responsabilité sociale, Banque Scotia

« L'éducation financière est une priorité absolue à la TD, et nous croyons fermement que tous les Canadiens y gagnent à accroître leurs connaissances financières, et c'est pourquoi nous sommes ravis de voir l'annonce par le ministre Sorenson de la nomination d'un chef du développement de la littératie financière. Il est important que le secteur privé et le secteur public travaillent ensemble de manière efficace, afin que les Canadiens soient habilités à prendre de bonnes décisions financières à toutes les étapes de leur vie. »

- Linda MacKay, vice-présidente principale, Groupe Banque TD

 « Je suis heureux que la recommandation du Groupe de travail sur la littératie financière consistant à nommer un chef du développement de la littératie financière du Canada se concrétise enfin. C’est un rôle extrêmement important qui profitera aux Canadiens pour les générations à venir. Je me souviens du moment où le ministre des Finances, Jim Flaherty, m’a demandé de faire partie du Groupe de travail sur la littératie financière. La création d’un poste de chef du développement national de la littératie financière est une autre contribution majeure de M. Flaherty pour le Canada. C’est grâce à sa clairvoyance quant à l’importance de la littératie financière pour tous les Canadiens que ce poste existe maintenant. »

- Pat Foran, défenseur des droits des consommateurs, CTV News, et membre du Groupe de travail sur la littératie financière

 « L’annonce d’aujourd’hui constitue un autre pas en vue d’accroître la littératie financière dans l’ensemble du Canada. Le fait d’avoir un chef du développement de la littératie financière comme point central permettra non seulement aux consommateurs, mais également aux entrepreneurs, d’accéder aux ressources et d’en profiter pleinement. »

- Victoria Lennox, PDG de Startup Canada

 « Il s’agit là d’une première étape essentielle à la réalisation d’un effort de collaboration pour aider les Canadiens à devenir de meilleurs gestionnaires financiers. Nous croyons que même si de nombreuses organisations travaillent vers l’objectif commun qui consiste à améliorer la littératie financière des Canadiens, aucune organisation ne peut à elle seule relever tous les défis. »

- Cairine Wilson, vice-présidente, Comptables professionnels agréés (CPA) Canada

« ABC Alpha pour la vie Canada est impatiente de collaborer avec la nouvelle chef du développement de la littératie financière et avec la communauté de la littératie financière en vue de fixer des objectifs et d’élaborer des stratégies pour développer les compétences en littératie financière des Canadiens. Ce nouveau rôle sera essentiel à la croissance continue de solides programmes et ressources de littératie financière qui peuvent atteindre de nouveaux publics prioritaires et faire en sorte que tous les Canadiens puissent exercer un contrôle total sur leurs compétences dans la gestion de leurs finances. »

- Gillian Mason, présidente, ABC Alpha pour la vie Canada

« Offrir aux Canadiens les bons outils et connaissances les aidera à assumer le contrôle de leur avenir financier. L'industrie de l'assurance de personnes se réjouit de pouvoir collaborer avec Jane Rooney et d’appuyer ses initiatives en vue de renforcer la littératie financière des Canadiens. »

- Frank Swedlove, président, Association canadienne des compagnies d'assurances de personnes

« Visa est heureuse de la nomination de Jane Rooney en tant que nouvelle chef du développement de la littératie financière au Canada. L'engagement du gouvernement à promouvoir la littératie financière est essentiel et il tombe à point nommé. La nouvelle chef aura un rôle clé à jouer afin de promouvoir une plus grande collaboration de l'industrie en vue d’améliorer la littératie financière de tous les Canadiens.»

- Michelle Michalak, chef de la littératie financière, Visa Canada

 « L’acquisition de compétences financières est la pièce manquante à la création d’un bassin de travailleurs qualifiés et mobiles qui sont en mesure de faire leur place dans le XXIe siècle. La nouvelle chef du développement de la littératie financière sera une personne clé qui favorisera l'accès aux bons programmes de littératie financière, et aux services et aux renseignements connexes pour tous les Canadiens, où qu’ils se trouvent. »

- Meaghan Daly, présidente, Forward Vision Games

Produits connexes

Contacts

Meagan Murdoch
Communications
Cabinet du ministre d’État (Finances)
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés


Notice biographique

Jane Rooney

Mme Rooney est entrée en fonctions à l’Agence de la consommation en matière financière du Canada (ACFC) en 2002. Elle y occupe depuis 2008 le poste de directrice, Littératie financière et éducation des consommateurs. À ce titre, elle a dirigé et mis en œuvre deux programmes nationaux d’éducation financés de façon distincte : le premier met l'accent sur la littératie financière pour aider les Canadiens à accroître leurs connaissances et leur confiance dans la gestion de leurs finances personnelles; l’autre programme est axé sur l'éducation des consommateurs et vise à mieux leur faire connaître les produits et les services financiers ainsi que leurs droits et responsabilités dans ce domaine. 

La démarche novatrice adoptée par Mme Rooney et son équipe de littératie financière leur a valu en 2010 un Prix d’excellence de la fonction publique pour avoir mis au point avec succès La Zone : une ressource éducative en matière financière, un populaire outil de simulation en ligne qui présente une façon interactive, stimulante et amusante d’apprendre les rudiments des questions d’argent et des finances.

Mme Rooney est membre d’un certain nombre de comités qui s’occupent de littératie financière, au pays comme à l’étranger. Elle préside le Comité interministériel du gouvernement du Canada sur la littératie financière. Elle représente aussi le Canada auprès du Réseau international sur l’éducation financière de l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques et auprès du conseil consultatif de ce réseau.

Mme Rooney a occupé pendant près de huit années le poste d’analyste des politiques à l’Association canadienne des paiements, l’organisation qui a mis au point et qui gère le système canadien de paiements. À ce titre, Mme Rooney a fait partie d’un certain nombre de comités nationaux ayant examiné les questions liées aux politiques sur les paiements.

Mme Rooney est titulaire d’un baccalauréat ès arts en économie de l’Université Carleton.