Ottawa, December 3, 2013
2013-159

Archived - Harper Government Marks International Day of Persons with Disabilities

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

The Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, and the Honourable Jason Kenney, Minister of Employment and Social Development and Minister for Multiculturalism, today marked the International Day of Persons with Disabilities.

“From introducing the Registered Disability Savings Plan in 2007 to the initiatives in this year’s budget supporting job opportunities, our Government continues to support Canadians with disabilities and their families,” said Minister Flaherty. “We recognize that Canadians with disabilities play an important role in our society, and through Canada’s Economic Action Plan, we are committed to helping them achieve a better quality of life.”

“Our Government is hard at work to ensure our country benefits from the talents of Canadians with disabilities. Today, and throughout the year, we will continue to help Canadians with disabilities be active participants in the economy and their communities,” added Minister Kenney.

Since 2006, the Government of Canada has introduced a number of measures to address the needs of people with disabilities, including:

  • Providing $1 billion for renovations and energy retrofits of social housing, including renovations that support people with disabilities.
  • Investing $400 million over two years for the construction of new social housing for seniors, including seniors with disabilities.
  • Investing an additional $75 million over two years for the construction of new social housing units for people with disabilities.
  • Investing $20 million for each of two years to improve the accessibility of federally owned buildings.
  • Introducing the Working Income Tax Benefit (WITB), which includes a supplement for persons with disabilities, and doubling the tax relief provided by the WITB.
  • Increasing the Home Buyers’ Plan withdrawal limit and introducing the First-Time Home Buyers’ Tax Credit, which contain special provisions for persons with disabilities.
  • Increasing access to post-secondary education for students with permanent disabilities, including a new Repayment Assistance Plan for Borrowers with a Permanent Disability.

Economic Action Plan 2013 continued to build on these initiatives by:

  • Introducing a new generation of Labour Market Agreements for Persons with Disabilities by 2014 with an investment of $222 million per year to better meet the employment needs of businesses and improve the employment prospects for persons with disabilities.
  • Maintaining ongoing funding of $40 million per year for the Opportunities Fund for Persons with Disabilities starting in 2015-16, and reforming the program to provide more demand-driven training solutions for persons with disabilities and make it more responsive to labour market needs. Employers and community organizations will be involved in project design and delivery.
  • Extending on an ongoing basis at $15 million per year the Enabling Accessibility Fund. This Fund supports capital costs of construction and renovations to improve physical accessibility for persons with disabilities through projects with demonstrated community support, including workplace accommodation.

The annual observance of the International Day of Persons with Disabilities was proclaimed in 1992 by the United Nations General Assembly resolution 47/3. The observance of the Day aims to promote an understanding of disability issues and mobilize support for the dignity, rights and well-being of persons with disabilities. It also seeks to increase awareness of gains to be derived from the integration of persons with disabilities in every aspect of political, social, economic and cultural life.

For more information on the International Day of Persons with Disabilities, visit the United Nations website.

For information about how Canada’s Economic Action Plan is helping persons with disabilities and their families, visit the Economic Action Plan website.

For further information, media may contact:

Marie Prentice
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Alexandra Fortier
Office of the Minister of Employment and Social Development and Minister for Multiculturalism
819-994-2482

Media Relations Office
Employment and Social Development Canada
819-994-5559

Stay connected:

Ottawa, le 3 décembre 2013
2013-159

Archivé - Le gouvernement Harper souligne la Journée internationale des personnes handicapées

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

L’honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances, et l’honorable Jason Kenney, ministre de l’Emploi et du Développement social et ministre du Multiculturalisme, ont souligné aujourd’hui la Journée internationale des personnes handicapées.

« Grâce aux régimes enregistrés d’épargne-invalidité, instaurés en 2007, ou encore aux initiatives favorisant les possibilités d’emploi prévues dans le budget de cette année, notre gouvernement continue de soutenir les Canadiens handicapés et leur famille, a déclaré le ministre Flaherty. Nous reconnaissons le rôle important des Canadiennes et des Canadiens handicapés dans la société, et nous nous sommes engagés dans le Plan d’action économique du Canada à les aider à améliorer leur qualité de vie. »

« Notre gouvernement s’efforce résolument de faire profiter le pays des talents des Canadiens handicapés, a ajouté le ministre Kenney. Aujourd'hui et tout au long de l’année, nous continuerons d’aider les Canadiens handicapés à participer activement à l’économie et à la vie de leur collectivité. »

Depuis 2006, le gouvernement du Canada a adopté de nombreuses mesures pour répondre aux besoins des personnes handicapées, notamment :

  • Financer, à hauteur de 1 milliard de dollars, des projets de rénovation et de rénovation énergétique des logements sociaux, ce qui comprend les rénovations qui viennent en aide aux personnes handicapées.
  • Investir 400 millions de dollars sur deux ans dans la construction de logements sociaux pour les aînés, dont les aînés handicapés.
  • Investir un montant additionnel de 75 millions de dollars sur deux ans dans la construction de nouveaux logements sociaux pour les personnes handicapées.
  • Investir 20 millions de dollars par année sur deux ans en vue d’améliorer l’accessibilité des immeubles fédéraux pour les personnes handicapées.
  • Instaurer la Prestation fiscale pour le revenu de travail, qui comporte un supplément offert aux personnes handicapées, et ensuite doubler l’allègement fiscal accordé par la Prestation.
  • Augmenter le plafond des retraits effectués dans le cadre du Régime d’accession à la propriété, et instaurer le crédit d’impôt pour l’achat d’une première habitation, qui comporte des modalités spéciales visant les personnes handicapées.
  • Accroître l’accès des personnes ayant une invalidité permanente aux études postsecondaires, notamment grâce au nouveau Programme d’aide au remboursement pour les emprunteurs ayant une invalidité permanente.

Le Plan d’action économique de 2013 a renforcé ce bilan en prévoyant les mesures suivantes :

  • Mettre en place d’ici 2014 une nouvelle génération d’ententes sur le marché du travail visant les personnes handicapées, accompagnées d’un investissement de 222 millions de dollars par année, de manière à mieux combler les besoins des entreprises au chapitre de l’emploi et à améliorer les perspectives d’emploi des personnes handicapées.
  • Maintenir un financement permanent de 40 millions de dollars par année, à compter de 2015-2016, du Fonds d’intégration pour les personnes handicapées, et remanier ce programme afin d’augmenter l’offre de formation axée sur les compétences recherchées dans des domaines d’emploi en forte demande et de mieux répondre aux besoins du marché du travail. Les employeurs et les organismes communautaires participeront à la conception et à la mise en œuvre des projets.
  • Rendre permanent un investissement de 15 millions de dollars par année dans le Fonds pour l’accessibilité, lequel finance le coût en capital de travaux de construction et de rénovation qui visent à améliorer l’accessibilité des immeubles pour les personnes handicapées et qui bénéficient d’un appui communautaire, notamment par l’adaptation de lieux de travail.

La Journée internationale des personnes handicapées a été proclamée en 1992 par l’Assemblée générale des Nations Unies, dans sa résolution 47/3. Cette journée annuelle a pour objet de promouvoir une meilleure compréhension des enjeux touchant les personnes handicapées et de mobiliser les appuis en faveur de la dignité, des droits et du bien-être des personnes handicapées. Elle vise également à sensibiliser la population aux gains découlant de l’intégration des personnes handicapées à tous les aspects de la vie politique, sociale, économique et culturelle.

Pour plus de renseignements sur la Journée internationale des personnes handicapées, voir le site Web des Nations Unies.

Pour plus de renseignements sur le soutien accordé par le Plan d’action économique du Canada aux personnes handicapées et leurs familles, voir le site Web du Plan d’action économique.

Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Marie Prentice
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Alexandra Fortier
Cabinet du ministre de l’Emploi et du Développement social
et ministre du Multiculturalisme
819-994-2482

Bureau des relations avec les médias
Emploi et Développement social Canada
819-994-5559

Restez branchés :