Ottawa, November 27, 2013
2013-153

Archived - The Department of Finance Releases Technical Proposals to Assist With the Orderly Phase-Out of the Federal Labour-Sponsored Venture Capital Corporations Tax Credit

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related Documents:


The Department of Finance today released for consultation a package of draft technical legislative proposals for changes to the Income Tax Act and Income Tax Regulations to assist with the orderly phase-out of the federal Labour-Sponsored Venture Capital Corporations (LSVCC) tax credit.

The 2013 federal budget announced the phase-out of the federal LSVCC tax credit by 2017. In order to assist with the orderly phase-out, public consultations on the tax rules governing LSVCCs were launched on May 23, 2013 and concluded on July 23, 2013. The Department of Finance sought public input on potential technical changes to the rules related to investment requirements, wind-ups, redemptions, and other rules governing the operation of LSVCCs.

Based on the feedback received during the consultations, the Government is proposing technical transition rules to facilitate the orderly exit of federally registered LSVCCs from the LSVCC tax credit program. The Government is proposing to:

  • Remove investment requirements and penalties for federally registered LSVCCs that give notice of their intent to exit the program. 
  • Subject to the approval of the Minister of Finance, allow federally registered LSVCCs to issue new classes of shares that would not be subject to the investment rules applicable to LSVCCs but would not attract the federal LSVCC tax credit.    

In addition, the Department of Finance will accommodate any technical, coordinating changes to provincial legislation meant to facilitate the orderly phase-out of the federal LSVCC tax credit. 

The attached backgrounder outlines the key measures proposed in today’s package. 

References to “Announcement Date” in the draft legislative proposals and the accompanying explanatory notes are to be read as references to today’s date.  

Interested parties are invited to provide comments on the draft legislative proposals by January 27, 2014. The Government will introduce legislation at an early opportunity to implement the legislative proposals, taking into account comments received.

Comments can be sent to LSVCC-SCRT@fin.gc.ca or to:

Tax Policy Branch
Department of Finance
140 O’Connor Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0G5

For further information, media may contact:

Marie Prentice
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay connected:

Ottawa, le 27 novembre 2013
2013-153

Archivé - Le ministère des Finances publie des propositions techniques pour faciliter l’élimination graduelle du crédit d’impôt fédéral relatif à une société à capital de risque de travailleurs

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Documents connexes :


Le ministère des Finances a rendu public aujourd’hui aux fins de consultation un ensemble de propositions législatives techniques qui visent à modifier la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu et le Règlement de l’impôt sur le revenu en vue de faciliter l’élimination graduelle du crédit d’impôt fédéral relatif à une société à capital de risque de travailleurs (SCRT).

Il a été annoncé dans le budget fédéral de 2013 que le crédit d’impôt fédéral relatif à une SCRT serait éliminé graduellement d’ici 2017. Afin de faciliter l’élimination graduelle de ce crédit, des consultations publiques au sujet des règles fiscales régissant ces sociétés ont été tenues du 23 mai au 23 juillet 2013. Dans le cadre de ces consultations, le ministère des Finances a sollicité les observations du public sur les changements techniques qui pourraient être apportés aux règles relatives aux exigences en matière d’investissement, aux liquidations et aux rachats ainsi qu’aux autres règles régissant l’exploitation des SCRT.

S’inspirant de la rétroaction reçue lors des consultations, le gouvernement propose des règles transitoires techniques pour faciliter le retrait graduel des SCRT sous régime fédéral du programme de crédit d’impôt relatif à une SCRT. Le gouvernement propose ainsi :

  • de supprimer les exigences en matière d’investissement et les pénalités applicables aux SCRT sous régime fédéral qui donnent avis de leur intention de se retirer du programme;
  • de permettre aux SCRT sous régime fédéral d’émettre, sous réserve de l’approbation du ministre des Finances, de nouvelles catégories d’actions qui ne seraient pas assujetties aux règles en matière d’investissement applicables à ces sociétés, mais qui ne donneraient pas droit au crédit d’impôt fédéral relatif à une SCRT.

De plus, les changements techniques de coordination qu’il pourrait être nécessaire d’apporter aux lois provinciales pour faciliter l’élimination graduelle du crédit d’impôt fédéral relatif à une SCRT seront pris en compte par le ministère des Finances.

Les principales mesures proposées aujourd’hui sont exposées dans le document d’information qui figure en annexe.

La mention de la date de publication dans les propositions législatives et dans les notes explicatives qui les accompagnent vaut mention de la date d’aujourd’hui.

Les parties intéressées sont invitées à faire part de leurs commentaires sur les propositions législatives d’ici le 27 janvier 2014. Par la suite, le gouvernement déposera un projet de loi à la première occasion afin de mettre en œuvre les propositions législatives, compte tenu des commentaires reçus.

Prière d’envoyer les commentaires par courriel à LSVCC-SCRT@fin.gc.ca ou à l’adresse suivante :

Direction de la politique de l’impôt
Ministère des Finances
140, rue O’Connor
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0G5

Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Marie Prentice
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés :