Ottawa, October 9, 2013

Archived - Minister of Finance Announces Appointments to Bank of Canada Board of Directors

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related Document:

The Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, today announced the appointments of Colin Dodds, Monique Jérôme-Forget and Hassan Khosrowshahi to the Board of Directors of the Bank of Canada.

“Dr. Dodds, Ms. Jérôme-Forget and Mr. Khosrowshahi bring significant academic, management and professional expertise and knowledge of finance and economics to the Bank’s board,” said Minister Flaherty. “I would like to extend my congratulations to them on their appointments, and wish them the very best in their new roles.”

The Bank of Canada is the nation’s central bank. Its purpose, as set out in the Bank of Canada Act, is to promote the economic and financial welfare of Canada. It is responsible for Canada’s monetary policy and bank notes, and also has responsibilities relating to the financial system and funds management.

For further information, media may contact:

Marie Prentice
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance

Biographical Notes

Colin Dodds

Dr. J. Colin Dodds is President and Vice Chancellor of Saint Mary’s University and a director on the Board of the Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada.

Dr. Dodds’ teaching career has spanned over 40 years in Financial Economics, Investments and Portfolio Management and Corporate Finance. More recently he has focused on teaching International Capital Markets and International Finance and Banking to graduate students in the Executive MBA and Masters of Finance programs.

He has published many books, journal articles and conference papers, particularly on financial markets.

He is on the Board of the Asia Pacific Foundation of Canada, chairs the Board of the Better Business Bureau for Atlantic Canada and is past-Chair of the Greater Halifax Partnership. He also judges the Canadian Investment Industry Hall of Fame awards through the Investment Industry Association of Canada.

Monique Jérôme-Forget

Ms. Monique Jérôme-Forget is a Special Advisor in the Montréal office of the business law firm of Osler, Hoskin and Harcourt LLP. She also serves as an invited fellow at the Center for Interuniversity Research and Analysis of Organizations (CIRANO), where she actively participates in addressing shortages of skilled workers in order to ensure future economic development.

She was a Member of the Quebec National Assembly from 1998 until April 2009 and served as Minister of Finance, Minister of Government Services, and President of the Treasury Board.

In response to the 2008 financial crisis, she played a key role in developing a joint effort by the Quebec, Alberta, Ontario and federal governments in providing guarantees to holders of asset-backed commercial paper.

In 2010, she was appointed by Minister Flaherty to his Economic Advisory Council.

Ms. Jérôme-Forget is the author of several publications, most recently Women to the Rescue of the Economy: Getting Rid of the Glass Ceiling, which promotes the ascension of women in the higher spheres of the workforce.

Hassan Khosrowshahi

Mr. Hassan Khosrowshahi is an Iranian-born Canadian entrepreneur.

Since settling in Vancouver in 1981, Mr. Khosrowshahi has dedicated much of his time to building businesses in British Columbia and across the country. He is the founder of Future Shop, the largest consumer electronics retailer in Canada, Wesbild Holdings, Ltd., a leading real estate developer in Western Canada, and DRI Capital Inc., a global leader in health care investing specializing in pharmaceutical royalties.

Mr. Khosrowshahi has been appointed a member of the Order of British Columbia and been inducted into the Business Laureates of BC Hall of Fame. He has been the Chairman and is currently a member of the Board of Trustees of the Fraser Institute, and has been a member of the Executive Committee of the Business Council of British Columbia, the Board of Directors of Canada Post, and the Board of the Smithsonian’s Freer Gallery of Art.

Stay connected: