Ottawa, August 23, 2013
2013-105

Archived - Government Invites Comments on Legislative Proposals to Modernize the Life Insurance Policy Exemption Test

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related Document:


The Government today released for public comment draft legislative proposals that would implement changes to modernize the exemption test and other life insurance policyholder taxation rules.

Economic Action Plan 2012 proposed to implement changes to update the rules that determine whether a life insurance policy is an exempt policy (the so-called “exemption test”) and to recalibrate, where appropriate, the investment income tax levied on life insurers. Economic Action Plan 2012 also announced that the Government would undertake consultations with key stakeholders on the proposed changes.

Following the completion of these consultations, Economic Action Plan 2013 confirmed the Government’s intention to proceed with legislative proposals implementing the proposed changes to the exemption test, as modified to take into account input from public stakeholders.

Comments on the attached draft legislation can be submitted to the Department of Finance at exemptiontest-criteredexoneration@fin.gc.ca or to the address below. The closing date for comments is November 6, 2013.

Tax Policy Branch
Department of Finance
140 O’Connor Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0G5

For further information, media may contact:

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay connected:

Ottawa, le 23 août 2013
2013-105

Archivé - Le gouvernement invite les intéressés à commenter les propositions législatives visant la modernisation du critère d’exonération des polices d’assurance-vie

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Document connexe :


Le gouvernement a rendu public aujourd’hui à des fins de consultation un ensemble de propositions législatives visant à mettre en œuvre des modifications pour moderniser le critère d’exonération et d’autres règles fiscales applicables aux titulaires de polices d’assurance-vie.

Le Plan d’action économique de 2012 envisageait des modifications pour mettre à jour les règles qui permettent de déterminer si une police d’assurance-vie est une police exonérée (le « critère d’exonération ») et pour recalibrer, au besoin, l’impôt sur le revenu de placement auquel les assureurs sur la vie sont assujettis. Il indiquait également que le gouvernement consulterait les principaux intervenants au sujet des modifications proposées.

À la suite de ces consultations, le Plan d’action économique de 2013 a confirmé l’intention du gouvernement d’élaborer des propositions législatives pour mettre en œuvre les modifications visant le critère d’exonération, compte tenu des commentaires des intervenants du secteur public.

Les parties intéressées sont invitées à faire part de leurs commentaires sur les propositions législatives au ministère des Finances d’ici le 6 novembre 2013 par courriel à l’adresse exemptiontest-criteredexoneration@fin.gc.ca ou à l’adresse suivante :

Direction de la politique de l’impôt
Ministère des Finances
140, rue O’Connor
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0G5

Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés :