Ottawa, May 23, 2013
2013-072

Archived - Consultations Launched on Phase-Out of the Labour-Sponsored Venture Capital Corporations Tax Credit

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related Document:


The Government of Canada today launched public consultations on the tax rules governing Labour-Sponsored Venture Capital Corporations (LSVCCs) to assist these corporations with an orderly phase-out of the federal LSVCC tax credit. The Government is replacing the LSVCC tax credit with new venture capital programs that experts say will do more to create jobs and economic growth in Canada.

Economic Action Plan 2013 proposes to phase out the federal LSVCC tax credit by 2017. The Government is proposing to eliminate a tax subsidy that independent experts and commentators—such as the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)—say is not working to promote economic growth and jobs:

The LSVCCs have distorted the market for venture capital, lowering the average quality of deals and limiting the supply of equity to non-traditional industries and newer companies….The governance structure of LSVCCs leads to less-skilled fund managers and poorer fund performance….Overall, the damaging effects of the LSVCC tax credits on the financing of innovation along with their fiscal costs present a clear argument for their elimination. (2006 OECD Economic Surveys: Canada)

The Government is seeking public input on potential changes to rules related to investment requirements, wind-ups, redemptions and other rules governing the operation of LSVCCs. This input will be used by the Government as it prepares draft legislation to phase out the tax credit. The draft legislation will be released for public comment at a later date.

Comments can be sent to the Department of Finance at ConsultationsLSVCC-SCRT@fin.gc.ca or to:

Labour-Sponsored Venture Capital Corporations Consultations
Tax Policy Branch
Department of Finance Canada
140 O’Connor Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0G5

Facsimile: 613-943-5597

The closing date for comments is July 23, 2013.

Once received by the Department of Finance, all submissions are subject to the Access to Information Act and may be disclosed in accordance with its provisions. If a request pertaining to your submission is received, you will be consulted as per section 27 of the Act.

For further information, media may contact:

Kathleen Perchaluk
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay connected:

Ottawa, le 23 mai 2013
2013-072

Archivé - Lancement des consultations sur l'élimination graduelle du crédit d'impôt relatif à une société à capital de risque de travailleurs

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Document connexe :


Le gouvernement du Canada a lancé aujourd’hui des consultations publiques au sujet des règles fiscales régissant les sociétés à capital de risque de travailleurs (SCRT), afin de faciliter l’élimination graduelle du crédit d’impôt fédéral relatif à une SCRT pour ces sociétés. Le gouvernement remplacera le crédit d’impôt relatif à une SCRT par des programmes en matière de capital de risque qui, de l’avis des experts, favoriseront davantage la création d’emplois et la croissance économique au Canada.

Le Plan d’action économique de 2013 propose d’éliminer graduellement le crédit d’impôt fédéral relatif à une SCRT d’ici 2017. Le gouvernement propose ainsi de mettre fin à une subvention fiscale que des experts et des observateurs indépendants, comme l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE), ont jugée inefficace pour stimuler la croissance économique et l’emploi.

Notamment, le rapport intitulé Études économiques de l’OCDE : Canada, 2006 signalait que les SCRT avaient faussé le marché du capital de risque en abaissant la qualité moyenne des transactions et en limitant l’offre de capitaux aux industries non traditionnelles et aux nouvelles entreprises. Il ajoutait que la structure de gouvernance des SCRT faisait en sorte que les gestionnaires de fonds y étaient moins qualifiés et que la performance de ces fonds était plus faible. Le rapport mentionnait également qu’étant donné les effets dommageables des crédits d’impôt relatifs aux SCRT pour le financement de l’innovation, ainsi que les coûts budgétaires qui y sont associés, l’élimination de ces crédits paraissait tout à fait justifiée.

Le gouvernement sollicite les points de vue du public sur les éventuels changements qui pourraient être apportés aux règles relatives aux exigences en matière d’investissement, aux liquidations et aux rachats, ainsi qu’aux autres règles régissant l’exploitation des SCRT. Le gouvernement tiendra compte des commentaires reçus au moment d’élaborer un avant-projet de loi prévoyant l’élimination graduelle du crédit d’impôt. L’avant-projet de loi sera publié aux fins de consultation à une date ultérieure.

Les commentaires peuvent être envoyés au ministère des Finances à l’adresse ConsultationsLSVCC-SCRT@fin.gc.ca ou à l’adresse ci-dessous :

Consultations sur les sociétés à capital de risque de travailleurs
Direction de la politique de l’impôt
Ministère des Finances
140, rue O’Connor
Ottawa (Ontario)  
K1A 0G5

Télécopieur : 613-943-5597

La date limite pour l’envoi de commentaires est fixée au 23 juillet 2013.

Une fois reçus par le ministère des Finances, tous les commentaires seront assujettis à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et pourront être communiqués conformément aux dispositions de cette loi. Si nous recevons une demande d’accès à l’information concernant vos commentaires, nous vous consulterons en vertu de l’article 27 de cette loi.

Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Kathleen Perchaluk
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés :