Panama City, Panama, March 17, 2013
2013-037

Canada Partners With Panama to Fight International Tax Evasion

The Honourable Diane Ablonczy, Minister of State of Foreign Affairs (Americas and Consular Affairs), on behalf of the Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, was in Panama today where she announced that Canada has signed a tax information exchange agreement (TIEA) with the Central American country.

“As part of Canada’s foreign policy priority of deepening engagement in the Americas, our Government is committed to cooperating with our neighbours toward our common interests,” said Minister Ablonczy. “This agreement will help us to build a more transparent, rules-based environment with one of Canada’s key trading partners in Central America.”

The agreement sets out the legal framework to enable tax authorities in both countries to exchange information relevant to the administration and enforcement of their respective domestic tax laws.

“This agreement supports our fight against international tax evasion,” said Minister Flaherty. “Our Government remains committed to continuing to implement the international standard for the effective exchange of tax information.”

The standard, developed by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), promotes transparency and fights international tax evasion through the effective exchange of information.

In support of this standard, the Harper Government introduced incentives in Budget 2007 to have non-tax treaty jurisdictions enter into TIEAs with Canada. It also required that all new treaties and revisions to existing treaties include the OECD standard.

Canada has so far brought into force TIEAs with 16 jurisdictions and concluded or updated several tax treaties that include the OECD standard. It is also negotiating TIEAs with several other jurisdictions. More information on these negotiations can be found on the Department of Finance website.

For further information, media may contact:

Kathleen Perchaluk
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay connected:

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web Canada.ca!
Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

Panama, le 17 mars 2013
2013-037

Le Canada forme un partenariat avec le Panama pour lutter contre l’évasion fiscale internationale

L’honorable Diane Ablonczy, ministre d’État des Affaires étrangères (Amériques et Affaires consulaires), au nom de l’honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances, a annoncé aujourd’hui au Panama la signature d’un accord d’échange de renseignements fiscaux (AERF) entre le Canada et ce pays d’Amérique centrale.

« Conformément à la priorité de la politique étrangère du Canada qui consiste à approfondir notre engagement dans les Amériques, notre gouvernement est résolu à collaborer avec nos voisins pour faire avancer nos intérêts communs, a affirmé la ministre Ablonczy. Cet accord nous aidera à établir un climat de plus grande transparence et de plus grand appui sur les règles dans nos relations avec l’un des importants partenaires commerciaux du Canada en Amérique centrale. »

L’accord établit le cadre juridique qui permet aux administrations fiscales des deux pays d’échanger des renseignements fiscaux aux fins de l’administration et de l’application de leurs lois fiscales nationales.

« Cet accord vient appuyer la lutte que nous menons contre l’évasion fiscale internationale, a déclaré le ministre Flaherty. Notre gouvernement demeure déterminé à poursuivre la mise en œuvre de la norme internationale sur l’échange efficace de renseignements fiscaux. »

La norme, élaborée par l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE), favorise la transparence et la lutte contre l’évasion fiscale à l’échelle internationale grâce à l’échange efficace de renseignements.

Dans le but de promouvoir l’adhésion à cette norme, le gouvernement Harper a annoncé, dans le budget de 2007, des mesures pour encourager les États qui n’ont pas signé une convention fiscale avec le Canada à conclure un AERF. Cette annonce indiquait aussi que toutes les nouvelles conventions fiscales ou les révisions aux conventions existantes devraient être conformes à la norme de l’OCDE.

Jusqu’à maintenant, le Canada a mis en œuvre des AERF avec 16 pays et il a conclu ou a mis à jour plusieurs conventions fiscales conformes à la norme de l’OCDE. Il négocie également des AERF avec plusieurs autres États. On trouve plus de détails sur ces négociations sur le site Web du ministère des Finances.

Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Kathleen Perchaluk
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés :