Help the Government of Canada organize its website Canada.ca!
Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Ottawa, January 31, 2013
2013-014

Canada Signs Tax Information Exchange Agreement With Liechtenstein

Related Document:


The Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, today announced that Canada has signed a tax information exchange agreement (TIEA) with Liechtenstein. The agreement sets out the legal framework to enable tax authorities in both countries to exchange information relevant to the administration and enforcement of their respective domestic tax laws.

“This agreement is another significant step in our fight against international tax evasion,” said Minister Flaherty. “Our Government remains committed to continuing to implement the international standard for the effective exchange of tax information.”

The standard, developed by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), promotes transparency and fights international tax evasion through the effective exchange of information.

In support of this standard, the Harper Government introduced incentives in Budget 2007 to have non-tax treaty jurisdictions enter into TIEAs with Canada. It also required that all new treaties and revisions to existing treaties include the OECD standard.

Canada has so far brought into force TIEAs with 16 jurisdictions and concluded or updated several tax treaties that include the OECD standard. It is also negotiating TIEAs with more than a dozen other jurisdictions. More information on these negotiations can be found on the Department of Finance website.

For further information, media may contact:

Kathleen Perchaluk
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay connected:

Ottawa, le 31 janvier 2013
2013-014

Archivé - Le Canada signe un accord d’échange de renseignements fiscaux avec le Liechtenstein

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Document connexe :


L’honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances, a annoncé aujourd’hui que le Canada avait signé un accord d’échange de renseignements fiscaux (AERF) avec le Liechtenstein. L’accord établit le cadre juridique qui permet aux administrations fiscales des deux pays d’échanger des renseignements fiscaux aux fins de l’administration et de l’application de leurs lois fiscales nationales.

« La signature de cet accord constitue une autre étape importante de la lutte que nous menons contre l’évasion fiscale internationale, a déclaré le ministre Flaherty. Notre gouvernement demeure déterminé à poursuivre la mise en œuvre de la norme internationale portant sur l’échange efficace de renseignements fiscaux. »

La norme, élaborée par l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE), prône la transparence et la lutte contre l’évasion fiscale à l’échelle internationale grâce à l’échange efficace de renseignements.

Dans le but de promouvoir l’adhésion à cette norme, le gouvernement Harper a annoncé, dans le budget de 2007, des mesures pour encourager les États qui n'ont pas signé une convention fiscale avec le Canada à conclure un AERF. Il a aussi exigé que toutes les nouvelles conventions fiscales ou les révisions aux conventions existantes soient conformes à la norme de l’OCDE.

Jusqu’à maintenant, le Canada a mis en œuvre des AERF avec 16 pays et il a conclu ou a mis à jour plusieurs conventions fiscales conformes à la norme de l’OCDE. Il négocie aussi présentement des AERF avec plus d’une douzaine d’autres pays. On trouve plus de détails sur ces négociations sur le site Web du ministère des Finances.

Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Kathleen Perchaluk
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés :