Ottawa, January 16, 2013

Archived - Minister of Finance Meets with Chair of the Special Committee on Process for the Appointment of the Governor of the Bank of Canada

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

The Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, met with David Laidley, Chair of the Special Committee of the Board of Directors of the Bank of Canada designated to develop a list of qualified candidates for the position of Governor of the Bank of Canada.

As a matter of course, this meeting affords both the Minister and the Chair an opportunity to review procedure and to discuss timelines to ensure a smooth transition.

The position of Governor was advertised on January 7, 2013 by the recruitment firm Odgers Berndtson, at the direction of the Special Committee. The mandate of the Bank of Canada is to conduct monetary policy to keep inflation low, stable and predictable and to promote the integrity of Canadian currency. The Governor has responsibility for the oversight of all aspects of the work of the Bank of Canada. With the recruitment process now underway, the Special Committee, in close consultation with the Minister, will review the list of initial candidates put forward by the recruitment firm.

Once fully vetted, the Special Committee will then recommend a roster of qualified candidates to the Minister for him to interview. The appointment of the Governor by the Directors is subject to the approval of the Governor in Council.

For further information, media may contact:

Kathleen Perchaluk
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance

Stay connected:

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web Canada.ca!
Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

Ottawa, le 16 janvier 2013
2013-006

Le ministre des Finances rencontre le président du comité spécial sur le processus de nomination du gouverneur de la Banque du Canada

L'honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances, a rencontré David Laidley, président du comité spécial du Conseil d’administration de la Banque du Canada chargé d'établir une liste de candidats qualifiés au poste de gouverneur de la Banque du Canada.

Cette réunion offre au ministre et au président une occasion d'examiner la procédure et de discuter des échéanciers en vue d'assurer une transition en douceur.

Le poste de gouverneur a été annoncé le 7 janvier 2013 par l'agence de recrutement Odgers Berndtson, à la demande du comité spécial. La Banque du Canada a pour mandat de mettre en œuvre la politique monétaire de manière à ce que l'inflation demeure faible, stable et prévisible, et de manière à favoriser l'intégrité de la monnaie canadienne. Pour sa part, le gouverneur surveille tous les aspects du travail de la Banque du Canada. Le processus de recrutement est en cours et le comité spécial, qui consultera étroitement le ministre, examinera la liste initiale de candidats présentée par l'agence de recrutement.

Une fois que cet examen sera achevé, le comité spécial recommandera au ministre une liste de candidats qualifiés aux fins d'entrevue par celui-ci. La nomination du gouverneur par les administrateurs sera ensuite soumise à l'approbation du gouverneur en conseil.

Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Kathleen Perchaluk
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés :