Archived - Frequently Asked Questions

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

2012 Announcement on Measures to Support the Long-Term Stability of Canada’s Housing Market

General

Q. Why is the Government making these changes at this time?

A. These measures will support the long-term stability of the Canadian housing and mortgage markets and promote savings through home ownership. They are intended to be timely, targeted and measured. The measures will reinforce the importance of borrowing responsibly and using home ownership as a savings vehicle. The Government actively monitors developments in the housing market and is committed to taking action when necessary.

Q. What will be the impacts of the adjustments to the rules for government-backed mortgage insurance on the Canadian economy?

A. The adjustments to the rules for government-backed mortgage insurance will provide significant benefits to the Canadian economy by supporting the stability of the housing market and promoting savings through home ownership. The short-term impact on the housing market is expected to be manageable, given that the majority of Canadian families are already taking a prudent approach in managing household debts. In the long term, these measures are expected to have a positive impact on the economy through higher savings and a lower number of financially vulnerable households.

Q. When do these measures take effect?

A. The new measures will take effect on July 9, 2012.

Q. Are further measures expected?

A. The Government actively monitors developments in the housing market, consumer debt and the economy, and is committed to taking action when necessary to support the long-term stability of the housing market and protect the investment of Canadian families.

Q. Do these measures apply to multi-unit buildings?

A. These standards apply to mortgages on residential property with four units or less. 

Q. Why is the Government lowering the limit on refinancing again?

A. The new measure announced today will reduce the maximum amount on refinancing to 80 per cent from 85 per cent of the value of the home. Limiting the amount of refinancing will promote saving through home ownership and limit the shifting of consumer debt into mortgages guaranteed by taxpayers.

Q. Why is the Government lowering the maximum amortization period again?

A. The new measure announced today will reduce the maximum amortization period to 25 years from 30 years. Limiting the maximum amortization period will reduce the total interest payments Canadian families make on their mortgages, helping them build up equity in their homes more quickly and pay off their mortgages sooner.

For example, reducing the amortization period from 30 years to 25 years on a mortgage would result in a moderate increase in the monthly payment. However, over the life of the mortgage, this modest increase would result in a significant reduction in the total interest payments. For a $350,000 mortgage at 4 per cent interest rate, the interest savings could be over $45,000.

Q. Why is the Government limiting the maximum gross debt service (GDS) and total debt service (TDS) ratios?

A. The GDS ratio is the share of the borrower’s gross household income that is needed to pay for home-related expenses, such as mortgage payments, property taxes and heating expenses. The TDS ratio is the share of the borrower’s gross income that is needed to pay for home-related expenses and all other debt obligations, such as credit cards and car loans.

The new measure announced today will set the maximum GDS ratio at 39 per cent and reduce the maximum TDS ratio to 44 per cent. These debt service ratios measure the share of a household’s income that is required to cover payments associated with servicing debt. Both measures are already used by lenders and mortgage insurers to assess a borrower’s ability to pay. Setting a GDS limit and reducing the TDS limit will help prevent Canadian households from getting overextended and reduce the number of households vulnerable to economic shocks or an increase in interest rates.

Q. Why is the Government introducing a maximum allowable price for insured mortgages?

A. The new measure announced today will establish that government-backed mortgage insurance is only available for a new high loan-to-value mortgage if the home purchase price is less than $1 million. Because homes priced at or above $1 million would not be eligible for government-backed high ratio insurance, borrowers for these homes would require a down payment of at least 20 per cent.

Introducing a maximum allowable price will ensure that government-backed mortgage insurance operates the way it was originally intended: to help working families and first-time homebuyers. This measure is expected to have a negligible impact on working families and first-time homebuyers as the vast majority of these borrowers purchase properties priced below the threshold.

Concerns about borrowers

Q. I already have an insured mortgage. How will these changes affect me?

A. Mortgage insurance is good for the life of the mortgage. Borrowers renewing their insured mortgages will not be affected by these changes. For example, if a borrower had a 30-year amortization and there are 27 years remaining on the mortgage, the mortgage can be renewed with a 27-year amortization, as long as no new funds are being added to the mortgage.

Q. What is required to qualify for an exception to the new parameters?

A. The new measures will apply as of July 9, 2012. Exceptions will be made to satisfy a binding purchase and sale, financing or refinancing agreement where a mortgage insurance application has been made before July 9, 2012. While the changes come into force on July 9, 2012, any mortgage insurance applications received after June 21, 2012 and before July 9, 2012 that do not conform to the measures announced today must be funded by December 31, 2012.

Q. Will a purchase and sale agreement dated prior to July 9, 2012 be considered binding if there are outstanding conditions that have not been fulfilled prior to July 9, 2012?

A. Yes, if the date on the purchase and sale agreement is earlier than July 9, 2012, and a mortgage insurance application has been made prior to that date, the new parameters will not apply, even if the conditions of the agreement have not been waived.

Q. Will the new refinancing rules allow a borrower with a mortgage above 80 per cent loan-to-value (LTV) to refinance by extending the amortization period?

A. No. Effective July 9, 2012, borrowers will not be permitted to refinance a mortgage above an 80 per cent LTV, unless the borrower has a binding refinance agreement dated prior to July 9, 2012, and a mortgage insurance agreement has been made prior to that date. 

Q. I have a written mortgage pre-approval from a lender, dated before July 9, 2012 with a 30-year amortization. Will I still be eligible for a 30-year amortization if I don’t sign an agreement of purchase and sale until July 9, 2012 or later?

A. No, a mortgage pre-approval without an agreement of purchase and sale is not sufficient to qualify for a 30-year amortization. You may have a 30-year amortization only if your agreement of purchase and sale is dated before July 9, 2012 and you have made a mortgage insurance application before July 9, 2012. You may wish to discuss with your lender to revise your mortgage pre-approval using the new parameters announced today.

Q. Will the new parameters apply to assignment (“switch” or transfer) of a previously insured loan from one approved lender to another?

A. No. As long as the loan amount and amortization period are not increased, the new parameters will not apply to a switch/transfer/assignment of the mortgage to a different lender.

Q. If I sell my current home and buy another, will the new parameters apply if I transfer the outstanding balance of my insured mortgage to the new home?

A. As long as the outstanding balance of the insured loan, the LTV ratio and the remainder of the amortization period are not increased, the new parameters will not apply when the mortgage insurance is transferred from one home to another.

Q. What if I need to increase the amount of my insured loan when I sell my current home and buy another?

A. In this situation, the new parameters will apply for any insured loan.

Q. If I bought a condo that is not expected to be built for another two years, will the new parameters apply?

A. If you bought a condo and have made a mortgage insurance application on or before June 21, then the new parameters would not apply.

If you buy a condo and make a mortgage insurance application after June 21, the new parameters will apply if the mortgage loan is not funded by December 31, 2012.

Archivé - Foire aux questions

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Annonce de 2012 de mesures appuyant la stabilité à long terme du marché canadien du logement

Généralités

Q. Pourquoi le gouvernement apporte-t-il ces changements maintenant?

R. Ces mesures soutiendront la stabilité à long terme du marché du logement et du marché hypothécaire au Canada et favoriseront l’épargne au moyen de la propriété résidentielle. Il s’agit de mesures qui se veulent ciblées, modérées et appliquées en temps opportun. Elles mettent en relief l’importance d’emprunts responsables et du recours à la propriété résidentielle comme mécanisme d’épargne. Le gouvernement suit de près l’évolution du marché du logement et il est déterminé à intervenir au besoin.

Q. Quel sera l’impact du rajustement des règles de l’assurance hypothécaire garantie par le gouvernement sur l’économie canadienne?

R. Le rajustement des règles de l’assurance hypothécaire garantie par le gouvernement comporte des avantages appréciables pour l’économie canadienne puisqu’il soutiendra la stabilité du marché du logement et l’utilisation de la propriété résidentielle comme mécanisme d’épargne. Les répercussions à court terme des changements sur le marché du logement devraient être gérables, puisque la plupart des ménages canadiens gèrent déjà leurs emprunts de façon prudente. On prévoit que ces mesures auront une incidence positive sur l’économie à long terme grâce à une augmentation de l’épargne et à la diminution du nombre de ménages financièrement vulnérables.

Q. Quand les mesures entrent-elles en vigueur?

R.  Les nouvelles mesures entreront en vigueur le 9 juillet 2012.

Q. Doit-on s’attendre à d’autres mesures?

R. Le gouvernement suit de près l’évolution du marché du logement, de l’endettement des consommateurs et de l’économie, et il est déterminé à intervenir au besoin pour appuyer la stabilité à long terme du marché du logement et pour protéger l’investissement des familles canadiennes.

Q. Ces mesures s’appliquent-elles aux immeubles à logements multiples?

R. Ces normes s’appliquent aux hypothèques visant des immeubles résidentiels de quatre logements ou moins. 

Q. Pourquoi le gouvernement abaisse-t-il une fois encore la limite de refinancement?

R.  La mesure annoncée aujourd’hui fera baisser le montant maximal pouvant être emprunté lors du refinancement, qui passera de 85 % à 80 % de la valeur de l’habitation. Ce changement favorisera l’épargne grâce à la propriété résidentielle et limitera la transformation de dettes à la consommation en prêts hypothécaires garantis par les contribuables.

Q. Pourquoi le gouvernement réduit-il une autre fois la période maximale d’amortissement des prêts hypothécaires?

R. La mesure annoncée aujourd’hui ramènera la période maximale d’amortissement de 30 ans à 25 ans. Cela réduira le montant total des intérêts que paient les familles canadiennes sur leur hypothèque et les aidera à faire croître plus rapidement la valeur nette de leur habitation et à rembourser intégralement leur hypothèque plus tôt.

Par exemple, la réduction de 30 ans à 25 ans de la période d’amortissement d’une hypothèque se traduit par une hausse modérée des mensualités. Toutefois, sur la durée du prêt, cette augmentation modeste réduit nettement le montant total des intérêts versés. Pour une hypothèque de 350 000 $ à un taux d’intérêt de 4 %, l’économie d’intérêt peut dépasser 45 000 $.

Q. Pourquoi le gouvernement plafonne-t-il le ratio de remboursement brut et le ratio de remboursement total?

R. Le ratio de remboursement brut (« ratio brut ») représente le pourcentage du revenu brut du ménage de l’emprunteur qui est requis pour payer les frais reliés à l’habitation, notamment les versements hypothécaires, l’impôt foncier et les frais de chauffage. Le ratio de remboursement total (« ratio total ») représente le pourcentage du revenu brut de l’emprunteur qui est requis pour payer les frais relatifs à l’habitation et toutes les autres créances comme les soldes de cartes de crédit et les prêts automobiles.

Les mesures annoncées aujourd’hui comprennent l’établissement d’un plafond du ratio brut de 39 % et l’abaissement du ratio total à 44 %. Ces ratios de remboursement mesurent la part du revenu du ménage nécessaire pour couvrir les paiements associés au service de sa dette. Les prêteurs et les assureurs hypothécaires utilisent déjà ces deux ratios pour évaluer la capacité des emprunteurs à rembourser leurs prêts. L’établissement de ces nouveaux plafonds aidera les ménages canadiens à éviter le surendettement et réduira le nombre de ménages vulnérables aux chocs économiques ou à une hausse des taux d’intérêt.

Q. Pourquoi le gouvernement fixe-t-il un prix d’achat maximal admissible à l’assurance hypothécaire garantie?

R. La mesure annoncée aujourd’hui limite l’offre de l’assurance hypothécaire garantie par le gouvernement sur les nouveaux prêts hypothécaires dont le ratio prêt-valeur est élevé aux cas où le prix d’achat de l’habitation est inférieur à 1 million de dollars. Étant donné que les habitations dont le prix d’achat est égal ou supérieur à 1 million ne seront pas admissibles à une assurance hypothécaire garantie par le gouvernement, les acheteurs de telles habitations devront verser une mise de fonds d’au moins 20 %.

Le plafonnement du prix d’achat admissible fait en sorte que l’assurance hypothécaire garantie par le gouvernement réponde à l’objectif prévu au départ, soit d’aider les familles de travailleurs et les acheteurs d’une première habitation. Cette mesure devrait avoir une incidence négligeable sur les familles de travailleurs et les acheteurs d’une première habitation puisque la grande majorité de ces emprunteurs achètent une habitation dont le prix est inférieur au plafond.

Préoccupations des emprunteurs

Q. J’ai déjà un prêt hypothécaire assuré. En quoi ces changements me toucheront-ils?

R. L’assurance hypothécaire est valide pour toute la durée du contrat hypothécaire. Les emprunteurs qui renouvellent un emprunt hypothécaire assuré ne seront pas touchés par ces changements. Par exemple, s’il reste 27 ans d’amortissement sur les 30 ans prévus au contrat d’un emprunteur, celui-ci peut être renouvelé sur une période d’amortissement de 27 ans, pourvu qu’aucun nouveau montant ne soit ajouté au prêt.

Q. Qui peut bénéficier d’une exception aux nouveaux paramètres?

R. Les nouvelles mesures entreront en vigueur le 9 juillet 2012. Des exceptions sont prévues dans le cas de conventions exécutoires d’achat-vente ou de conventions de financement ou de refinancement pour lesquelles une demande d’assurance hypothécaire a été présentée au plus tard le 9 juillet 2012. Bien que ceux-ci prennent effet le 9 juillet 2012, toute demande d’assurance hypothécaire reçue après le 21 juin et avant le 9 juillet 2012 qui ne sera pas conforme aux mesures annoncées aujourd’hui devra être financée avant le 31 décembre 2012.

Q. Une convention d’achat-vente datée d’avant le 9 juillet 2012 sera-t-elle considérée comme exécutoire s’il y a des conditions en suspens qui n’ont pas été remplies avant le 9 juillet 2012?

R. Oui, si la date inscrite sur la convention d’achat-vente est antérieure au 9 juillet 2012 et qu’une demande d’assurance hypothécaire a été faite avant cette date, les nouveaux paramètres ne s’appliqueront pas, même s’il n’a pas été renoncé aux conditions de l’entente.

 Q. Les nouvelles règles visant les prêts de refinancement permettront-elles qu’un emprunteur dont le prêt hypothécaire comporte un rapport prêt-valeur de plus de 80 % obtienne un prêt de refinancement en prolongeant la période d’amortissement?

R. Non. À compter du 9 juillet 2012, les emprunteurs ne pourront plus refinancer un emprunt hypothécaire dont le rapport prêt-valeur est supérieur à 80 %, sauf si l’emprunteur a une entente de refinancement exécutoire datée antérieurement au 9 juillet 2012 et qu’une entente d’assurance hypothécaire a été conclue avant cette date. 

Q. J’ai une préapprobation écrite de mon emprunt hypothécaire par le prêteur, datée d’avant le 9 juillet 2012, avec une période d’amortissement de 30 ans. Serai-je toujours admissible à une période d’amortissement de 30 ans si je ne signe pas une convention d’achat-vente avant le 9 juillet 2012?

R. Non, la préapprobation d’un emprunt hypothécaire amorti sur 30 ans n’est pas suffisante si elle n’est pas suivie d’une convention d’achat-vente. Vous ne pouvez bénéficier d’une période d’amortissement sur 30 ans que si votre convention d’achat-vente est datée d’avant le 9 juillet 2012 et que vous avez fait une demande d’assurance hypothécaire avant cette date. Vous pouvez discuter avec votre prêteur afin de réviser la préapprobation de votre emprunt en y appliquant les nouveaux paramètres annoncés aujourd’hui.

Q. Les nouveaux paramètres s’appliqueront-ils à la cession (au transfert) d’un prêt déjà assuré d’un prêteur agréé à un autre?

R. Non. Pourvu que le montant du prêt et la période d’amortissement n’augmentent pas, les nouveaux paramètres ne s’appliqueront pas au transfert ni à la cession d’un prêt hypothécaire d’un prêteur agréé à un autre.

Q. Si je vends ma maison pour en acheter une autre et que je transfère le solde impayé de mon prêt hypothécaire à la nouvelle maison, les nouveaux paramètres s’appliqueront-ils?

R. Dans la mesure où le solde impayé du prêt hypothécaire assuré, le rapport prêt-valeur et la période d’amortissement restante n’augmentent pas, les nouveaux paramètres ne s’appliqueront pas si un prêt hypothécaire est transféré d’une propriété à une autre.

Q. Qu’advient-il si je dois augmenter le montant de mon prêt assuré lorsque je vends ma maison pour en acheter une autre?

R. Dans ce cas, les nouveaux paramètres s’appliqueront à tout prêt assuré.

Q. Si j’ai acheté un logement en copropriété qui ne sera pas construit avant deux ans, les nouveaux paramètres s’appliqueront-ils?

R. Si vous avez acheté un condominium et fait une demande d’assurance hypothécaire avant le 21 juin, les nouveaux paramètres ne s’appliqueront pas.

Par contre, si vous achetez un condominium et que vous faites la demande d’assurance hypothécaire après le 21 juin, les nouveaux paramètres s’appliqueront dans le cas où l’emprunt hypothécaire n’est pas financé avant le 31 décembre 2012.