Archived - Backgrounder: Strengthening the Housing Finance System

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

The Harper Government has taken a responsible and measured approach to ensure Canada’s housing market remains strong and stable.

To that end, it has taken a series of proactive steps since 2008 to protect and strengthen the housing market and help prevent Canadian households from getting overextended.

Economic Action Plan 2012 includes measures to enhance the governance and oversight framework for Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation (CMHC). These proposed changes are part of the Government’s continuous efforts to strengthen the housing finance system. They will contribute to the stability of the housing market and benefit all Canadians.

CMHC’s commercial activities, particularly its mortgage insurance and securitization programs, play an important role in the housing market and the financial system.

The legislative amendments in the Jobs, Growth and Long-term Prosperity Act tabled today will strengthen oversight of CMHC, and ensure its commercial activities are managed in a manner that promotes the stability of the financial system. These changes will contribute to improving governance and oversight of mortgage lending practices in Canada.

The proposed legislative enhancements include:

  • Additional objectives for CMHC to ensure its commercial activities promote and contribute to the stability of financial system, including the housing market.
  • Legislative and regulatory authorities for the Minister of Finance in respect of CMHC’s securitization programs and any new commercial programs.
  • Authorities for the Superintendent of Financial Institutions to review and monitor the safety and soundness of CMHC’s commercial activities and report to the CMHC board of directors and the Ministers of Finance and Human Resources and Skills Development.
  • The addition of the Deputy Minister of Human Resources and Skills Development and the Deputy Minister of Finance to CMHC’s board of directors as ex-officio members.

Archivé - Fiche d’information : Renforcer le système de financement du logement

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le gouvernement Harper a adopté une approche responsable et mesurée pour faire en sorte que le marché canadien du logement demeure vigoureux et stable.

Dans cette optique, il a instauré une série de mesures proactives depuis 2008 afin de protéger et de renforcer le marché du logement et de prévenir le surendettement des ménages canadiens.

Le Plan d’action économique de 2012 prévoit des mesures qui amélioreront le cadre de gouvernance et de surveillance de la Société canadienne d’hypothèques et de logement (SCHL). Les modifications proposées s’inscrivent dans les efforts constants du gouvernement de renforcer le système de financement du logement; elles contribueront à la stabilité du marché du logement, dans l’intérêt de tous les Canadiens.

Les activités commerciales de la SCHL, en particulier ses programmes d’assurance hypothécaire et de titrisation, jouent un rôle important dans le marché du logement et le système financier.

Les modifications législatives contenues dans la Loi sur l’emploi, la croissance et la prospérité durable qui est déposée aujourd’hui renforceront le cadre de surveillance de la SCHL et feront en sorte que ses activités commerciales soient gérées de manière à promouvoir la stabilité du système financier. Ces changements contribueront à améliorer le cadre de gouvernance et de surveillance des pratiques liées aux prêts hypothécaires au Canada.

Parmi les améliorations législatives proposées, mentionnons :

  • Des objectifs additionnels pour la SCHL afin que ses activités commerciales favorisent la stabilité du système financier, y compris le marché du logement, et qu’elles y contribuent.
  • Des pouvoirs législatifs et réglementaires attribués au ministre des Finances à l’égard des programmes de titrisation de la SCHL et de tout nouveau programme commercial.
  • Des pouvoirs conférés au surintendant des institutions financières pour l’examen et la surveillance de la sécurité et de la solidité des activités commerciales de la SCHL de même que pour la présentation de rapports au conseil d’administration de la SCHL ainsi qu’aux ministres des Finances et des Ressources humaines et du Développement des compétences (RHDC).
  • L’ajout du sous-ministre des RHDC et du sous-ministre des Finances au conseil d’administration de la SCHL à titre de membres d’office.