Help the Government of Canada organize its website Canada.ca!
Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Ottawa, December 21, 2012
2012-177

Archived - Harper Government Launches Review of Canada’s Tariff Regime for Developing Countries

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related Documents:


The Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, today announced the launch of consultations on Canada’s tariff regime for developing countries as part of the comprehensive review of the regime announced in Economic Action Plan 2012.

“Our aim is to ensure that the tariff regime focuses on the countries most in need of Canada’s assistance to help promote their economic growth and increase their exports,” said Minister Flaherty. “We want to ensure that this type of development assistance is focused on those countries most in need of tariff preferences for trade and economic growth.”

Since 1974, Canada has granted unilateral preferential tariff concessions to imports from developing countries through the General Preferential Tariff (GPT) to assist those countries’ economic development. The last comprehensive review of the GPT took place almost 20 years ago. Since then, the global economy has changed considerably and has seen significant shifts in the income levels and trade competitiveness of a number of developing countries. The review of the GPT is intended to better reflect the current global economy and to ensure that the GPT aligns with Canada’s international development objectives.

As part of this review, the Government is seeking comments from all interested parties on proposed changes to the various elements of the GPT. Details of the proposed changes are outlined in a notice published in the December 22, 2012 edition of the Canada Gazette, Part I. Submissions are due by February 15, 2013 and can be sent to:

General Preferential Tariff Consultations
Department of Finance Canada
International Trade Policy Division, 14th Floor, East Tower
140 O’Connor Street
Ottawa, ON
K1A 0G5
Tariff-Tarif@fin.gc.ca

For further information, media may contact:

Kathleen Perchaluk
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay connected:

Ottawa, le 21 décembre 2012
2012-177

Archivé - Le gouvernement Harper entreprend un examen du régime tarifaire applicable aux pays en développement

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Documents connexes :


L’honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances, a annoncé aujourd’hui le début des consultations sur le régime tarifaire applicable aux pays en développement dans le cadre d’un examen exhaustif du régime annoncé dans le Plan d’action économique du Canada de 2012.

« Nous avons comme objectif de nous assurer que le régime tarifaire s’adresse aux pays qui ont le plus besoin de l’aide du Canada afin de les aider à promouvoir leur croissance économique et à augmenter leurs exportations, a déclaré le ministre Flaherty. Nous désirons nous assurer que ce type d’aide au développement s’adresse aux pays qui ont vraiment besoin de préférences tarifaires pour le commerce et la croissance économique. »

Depuis 1974, le Canada a accordé unilatéralement des concessions tarifaires préférentielles aux importations en provenance des pays en développement par l’entremise du tarif de préférence général (TPG) afin de favoriser leur développement économique. Le dernier examen exhaustif du TPG a eu lieu il y a près de 20 ans. Le contexte économique mondial a considérablement changé depuis cette époque, y compris en ce qui concerne les niveaux de revenu et la compétitivité commerciale d’un certain nombre de pays en développement. L’examen du TPG a pour objectif de mieux représenter l’état actuel de l’économie mondiale et de faire en sorte que le TPG soit conforme aux objectifs du développement international du Canada.

Dans le cadre du présent examen, le gouvernement désire connaître l’opinion des parties intéressées sur les modifications proposées à divers éléments du TPG. On trouve des précisions à ce sujet dans un avis paru dans l’édition du 22 décembre 2012 de la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada. Les observations doivent être transmises d’ici le 15 février 2013, à l’adresse suivante :

Consultations sur le tarif de préférence général
Ministère des Finances
Division de la politique commerciale internationale, 14e étage, tour Est
140, rue O’Connor
Ottawa, ON
K1A 0G5
Tariff-Tarif@fin.gc.ca

Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Kathleen Perchaluk
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés :