Ottawa, December 21, 2012
2012-175

Archived - Harper Government Releases Income Tax Technical Amendments for Public Comment

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related Document:


The Department of Finance today released for public comment a package of draft legislative proposals relating to a number of technical changes to the Income Tax Act and the Income Tax Regulations.

Many of these proposals respond to issues brought to the attention of the Department by taxpayers and their representatives. This release is part of an ongoing effort to ensure that tax legislation is clear and reflects the underlying policy intent.

The proposals include technical changes relating to:

  • the computation of adjusted taxable income for the purposes of the alternative minimum tax;
  • the prohibited investment and advantage rules for registered plans, including the changes set out in the letter dated June 12, 2012 to the Joint Committee on Taxation of the Canadian Bar Association and the Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants;
  • a simplified method for determining the Canadian-source income of non-resident pilots employed by Canadian airlines, as was suggested by the Tax Court of Canada in Price v. The Queen, 2011 TCC 449; and
  • a number of amendments to sections 55 and 88 of the Income Tax Act related to comfort letters issued to taxpayers by the Department of Finance, along with a change to section 88 to ensure that a parent corporation cannot benefit from an inappropriate step-up in cost base on the winding-up of a subsidiary corporation. 

Full explanatory notes are included with the draft legislation. References to “Announcement Date” in the draft legislation and explanatory notes refer to today’s date.

Interested parties are invited to provide comments on the draft legislation by February 19, 2013 to:

Tax Policy Branch
Department of Finance
140 O’Connor Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0G5

or by email: consultationTA2012-MT@fin.gc.ca

For further information, media may contact:

Kathleen Perchaluk
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay connected:

Ottawa, le 21 décembre 2012
2012-175

Archivé - Le gouvernement Harper publie, aux fins de consultation, des modifications techniques relatives à l’impôt sur le revenu

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Document connexe :


Le ministère des Finances a rendu publiques aujourd’hui aux fins de consultation un ensemble de propositions législatives apportant des modifications techniques à la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu et au Règlement de l’impôt sur le revenu.

Bon nombre de ces propositions font suite à des questions portées à l’attention du ministère par les contribuables et leurs représentants. Cette publication s’inscrit dans les activités courantes du ministère visant à faire en sorte que la législation fiscale soit claire et qu’elle reflète la politique sous-jacente.

Les propositions comprennent des modifications techniques concernant :

  • le calcul, pour l’application de l’impôt minimum de remplacement, du revenu imposable modifié;
  • les règles sur les placements interdits et les avantages applicables aux régimes enregistrés, notamment les modifications exposées dans la lettre du 12 juin 2012 au Comité mixte sur la fiscalité de l’Association du Barreau canadien et de l’Institut canadien des comptables agréés;
  • une méthode simplifiée de calcul du revenu de source canadienne de pilotes non-résidents au service de compagnies aériennes canadiennes, comme l’a proposé la Cour canadienne de l’impôt dans l’affaire Price c. la Reine, 2011 CCI 449;
  • certaines modifications aux articles 55 et 88 de la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu qui font suite à des lettres d’intention envoyées à des contribuables par le ministère des Finances ainsi qu’une modification à l’article 88 visant à éviter qu’une société mère puisse bénéficier d’une majoration injustifiée du prix de base d’un bien lors de la liquidation de sa filiale.

Des notes explicatives détaillées accompagnent les propositions législatives. Il est à noter que la mention de la date de publication dans ces documents vaut mention de la date d’aujourd’hui.

Les parties intéressées sont invitées à faire parvenir leurs commentaires sur les propositions législatives d’ici le 19 février 2013 à l’adresse suivante :

Direction de la politique de l’impôt
Ministère des Finances
140, rue O’Connor
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0G5

ou par courriel à l’adresse consultationTA2012-MT@fin.gc.ca

Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Kathleen Perchaluk
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés :