Help the Government of Canada organize its website Canada.ca!
Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Victoria, November 30, 2012
2012-157

Archived - Minister Flaherty Launches Pre-Budget Consultations in Victoria

Related Document:


The Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, today initiated this year’s pre-budget consultations in Victoria with a roundtable discussion with community and business leaders. This roundtable marks the launch of a series of events in communities across the country aimed at engaging Canadians in discussions about their priorities and ideas for achieving the best use of taxpayers’ dollars in the lead-up to the 2013 budget.

“Our Government’s top priority is jobs, growth and long-term prosperity,” said Minister Flaherty. “In the face of a fragile global economy, we will maintain our focus on supporting a strong economy, building on our pro-growth initiatives and returning to balanced budgets before the end of this Parliament. With these consultations, I am looking forward to hearing from Canadians on how best to achieve these objectives.”

In addition to the roundtables, which will be hosted by Minister Flaherty, Minister of State (Finance) Ted Menzies and Parliamentary Secretary Shelly Glover, Canadians are also invited to submit their views online beginning today.

“We will be asking Canadians what concrete actions can be taken to strengthen our economy in the face of global economic threats, to solidify our economic recovery and position Canada to compete and prosper over the long term,” said Minister Flaherty. “We need to hear more specifics from Canadians in terms of how to further encourage private sector growth and leadership in the economy. These are challenging questions for challenging times and I look forward to engaging Canadians in discussing them.”

The Minister reiterated that the Government will not engage in dangerous and risky new spending schemes or endless spending that will increase deficits and will not increase the tax burden on Canadians.

Those interested in participating in the online consultations may do so by following the link at the top of this page. Details on subsequent regional roundtables will be released as they become available.

For further information, media may contact:

Kathleen Perchaluk
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay connected:

Victoria, le 30 novembre 2012
2012-157

Archivé - Le ministre Flaherty lance les consultations prébudgétaires à Victoria

Document connexe :


L’honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances, a amorcé aujourd’hui à Victoria les consultations prébudgétaires de cette année en participant à une table ronde réunissant des chefs de file communautaires et des chefs d’entreprises. Cette table ronde fait partie d’une série d’événements qui seront organisés un peu partout au Canada pour que les Canadiennes et les Canadiens prennent part aux discussions et fassent connaître leurs priorités et leurs idées sur l’utilisation optimale de l’argent des contribuables au cours de la période précédant le budget de 2013.

« La grande priorité de notre gouvernement consiste à favoriser l’emploi, la croissance et la prospérité à long terme, a déclaré le ministre Flaherty. Compte tenu de la fragilité de l’économie mondiale, nous maintiendrons nos efforts visant à appuyer une économie solide, à tirer parti de nos initiatives favorables à la croissance et à rétablir l’équilibre budgétaire avant la fin de la présente législature. Au cours de ces consultations, c’est avec plaisir que je prendrai connaissance des suggestions que les Canadiens exprimeront sur la meilleure façon dont nous pouvons atteindre ces objectifs. »

En plus des tables rondes qui seront animées par le ministre Flaherty, le ministre d’État (Finances) Ted Menzies et la secrétaire parlementaire Shelly Glover, il y aura des consultations en ligne auxquelles les Canadiens peuvent participer dès aujourd’hui.

« Nous demanderons aux Canadiens de nous faire connaître les mesures concrètes qui peuvent être adoptées pour renforcer notre économie face aux menaces économiques, consolider notre reprise économique et permettre au Canada d’être concurrentiel et prospère à long terme, a ajouté le ministre Flaherty. Nous devons obtenir plus de précisions de la part des Canadiens afin de savoir comment favoriser davantage la croissance du secteur privé et son leadership dans l’économie. Ce sont des questions difficiles à résoudre en cette période difficile et j’espère que les Canadiens se mobiliseront pour en discuter. »

Le ministre a répété que le gouvernement ne mettra pas en place de nouveaux programmes de dépenses risqués et dangereux et ne se lancera pas dans des dépenses interminables qui augmenteraient les déficits. Il a de plus affirmé que le gouvernement n’augmentera pas le fardeau fiscal des Canadiens.

Toutes les personnes désireuses de participer aux consultations en ligne sont invitées à utiliser le lien qui se trouve en haut de la page. De plus amples renseignements sur les prochaines tables rondes seront communiqués dès qu’ils seront disponibles.

Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Kathleen Perchaluk
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés :