Help the Government of Canada organize its website Canada.ca!
Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Ottawa, November 27, 2012
2012-155

Archived - Harper Government Releases Draft Legislative Proposals Concerning Income Tax Rules Applicable to Canadian Banks With Foreign Affiliates

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related Document:


The Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, today released for consultation a package of draft legislative proposals relating to the Income Tax Act and Income Tax Regulations concerning the taxation of Canadian-based banks with foreign affiliates.

The package includes the revisions to the so-called “base erosion” rules in the Income Tax Act’s foreign accrual property income regime that were announced in Economic Action Plan 2012. Consistent with the announcement, the legislative proposals being released today are intended to alleviate the tax cost to Canadian-based banks of using excess liquidity of their foreign affiliates in their Canadian operations. The proposals also include amendments to ensure that certain securities transactions undertaken in the course of a bank’s business of facilitating trades for arm’s length customers are not inappropriately caught by the base erosion rules.

These measures are generally proposed to be effective for taxation years that begin after October 31, 2012. Explanatory notes are included with the draft legislative proposals.

Interested parties may submit comments until December 27, 2012. The Government will then proceed with legislation at an early opportunity to implement the amendments, taking into account comments received.

For further information, media may contact:

Kathleen Perchaluk
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

Stay connected:

Ottawa, le 27 novembre 2012
2012-155

Archivé - Le gouvernement Harper rend publiques des propositions législatives concernant les règles fiscales applicables aux banques canadiennes ayant des sociétés étrangères affiliées

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Document connexe :


L'honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances, a rendu publiques aujourd'hui, à des fins de consultation, un avant-projet de modification de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu et du Règlement de l'impôt sur le revenu concernant le régime d'imposition des banques canadiennes ayant des sociétés étrangères affiliées.

Cet avant-projet comprend les révisions aux règles contre l'érosion de l'assiette fiscale relatives au régime d'imposition du revenu étranger accumulé, tiré de biens, prévu par la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu, qui ont été annoncées dans le Plan d'action économique de 2012. Conformément à cette annonce, les propositions législatives rendues publiques aujourd'hui ont pour but d'alléger le coût fiscal que les banques canadiennes doivent assumer relativement à l'utilisation des liquidités excédentaires de leurs sociétés étrangères affiliées dans le cadre de leurs activités au Canada. Les propositions comprennent également des modifications qui veillent à ce que certaines opérations sur titres effectuées dans le cadre des activités des banques qui consistent à faciliter les opérations de clients sans lien de dépendance ne soient pas assujetties indûment aux règles contre l'érosion de l'assiette fiscale.

Il est proposé que ces mesures s'appliquent, de façon générale, aux années d'imposition commençant après le 31 octobre 2012. Des notes explicatives accompagnent les propositions législatives.

Les intéressés peuvent envoyer leurs commentaires sur les propositions d'ici le 27 décembre 2012. Par la suite, le gouvernement déposera un projet de loi afin de mettre les modifications en œuvre, compte tenu des commentaires reçus.

Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Kathleen Perchaluk
Attachée
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés :