Ottawa, October 26, 2012

Archived - Harper Government Pre-Publishes Second and Final Tranche of Pooled Registered Pension Plan Regulations

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related Documents:

The Honourable Ted Menzies, Minister of State (Finance), today announced that the Harper Government has pre-published for public comment the second and final tranche of regulatory proposals to address provisions of the Pooled Registered Pension Plans Act (Bill C-25).

“As soon as this last package of regulations is finalized, the federal Pooled Registered Pension Plans Act (PRPP Act) and regulations will be brought into force,” said Minister Menzies. “PRPPs will then be available to the millions of Canadians without access to a workplace pension option as soon as provinces and territories implement their respective sides of the framework.”

The proposed regulations will address provisions of the PRPP Act respecting:

  • General requirements with respect to providing information;
  • The circumstances in which a member may withdraw funds from their PRPP account;
  • The circumstances in which a member may receive variable payments from the funds in their account;
  • The transfer options available to members and the conditions on the vehicles to which a member’s funds may be transferred;
  • The use of electronic means to satisfy requirements under the Act for communications with plan members; and
  • Other technical rules related to the implementation of the framework.

“As with the first tranche, the development of these regulatory proposals benefitted from an extensive review process and collaboration with provincial-territorial officials,” said Minister Menzies. “I also extend my thanks to Canadians from across the country, including all the associations representing small businesses, employees, pension funds and financial institutions, who provided their views and contributed towards ensuring a sound regulatory framework for PRPPs.”

The proposed regulations will be pre-published in the Canada Gazette on October 27 for a 15-day public comment period, prior to final consideration by the Government.

For further information, media may contact:

Bram Sepers
Office of the Minister of State (Finance)

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance

Stay connected:

Ottawa, le 26 octobre 2012
2012-132

Archivé - Le gouvernement Harper procède à la publication préalable de la deuxième et dernière tranche du projet de règlement sur les régimes de pension agréés collectifs

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Documents connexes :


L’honorable Ted Menzies, ministre d’État (Finances), a annoncé aujourd’hui que le gouvernement Harper avait procédé à la publication préalable, aux fins de consultation publique, de la deuxième et dernière tranche de propositions réglementaires visant certaines dispositions de la Loi sur les régimes de pension agréés collectifs (projet de loi C-25).

« Dès que cette dernière série de dispositions réglementaires sera définitive, la loi ainsi que la réglementation régissant les régimes de pension agréés collectifs (RPAC) prendront effet, a déclaré le ministre Menzies. Les millions de Canadiennes et de Canadiens qui n’ont aucun accès à un régime de retraite au travail pourront alors se prévaloir des RPAC au moment où leur province ou territoire aura instauré son volet du cadre. »

Le projet de règlement concerne certaines dispositions de la Loi relativement aux éléments suivants :

  • les exigences générales sur la fourniture de renseignements;
  • les circonstances dans lesquelles un participant peut retirer des fonds du compte de son RPAC;
  • les circonstances dans lesquelles un participant peut recevoir des paiements variables sur les fonds qu’il détient dans son compte;
  • les options de transfert à la disposition des participants et les conditions régissant les véhicules auxquels les fonds d’un participant peuvent être transférés;
  • le recours à des moyens électroniques pour respecter les exigences de la Loi visant les communications avec les participants;
  • d’autres règles techniques liées à la mise en œuvre du cadre.

« Tout comme la première tranche de propositions réglementaires, ces propositions ont fait l’objet d’un processus d’examen approfondi et d’une collaboration soutenue de la part des représentants des provinces et des territoires, a indiqué le ministre Menzies. Je remercie également les Canadiens de toutes les régions du pays, notamment les associations qui représentent les petites entreprises, les employés, les fonds de pension et les institutions financières, qui ont fait part de leurs points de vue et ainsi contribué à la solidité du cadre de réglementation des RPAC. »

Le projet de règlement fera l’objet d’une publication préalable dans la Gazette du Canada le 27 octobre assortie d’un délai de 15 jours au cours duquel le public pourra faire des observations, après quoi le gouvernement procédera à un examen final.

Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Bram Sepers
Communications
Cabinet du ministre d’État (Finances)
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Restez branchés :