Ottawa, July 25, 2012
2012-082

Archived - Harper Government Releases Draft Legislation to Strengthen Tax Fairness for Canadians

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related Documents:


The Department of Finance today released two sets of draft legislative proposals to strengthen and create greater fairness in Canada’s tax system.

The first set of proposals would implement measures announced on July 20, 2011 relating to the taxation of specified investment flow-through entities (SIFTs), real estate investment trusts (REITs) and publicly-traded corporations.

The Department of Finance also released proposals responding to the Tax Court of Canada decision in Richard Lewin Re: The J.J. Herbert Family Trust #1 v. The Queen, 2011 TCC 476. In the absence of today’s proposals, the decision would make it more difficult to enforce the withholding tax rule that applies to payments from Canadian resident trusts to non-resident beneficiaries in circumstances where a trust emigrates from Canada.

These proposals address situations in which a Canadian resident trust makes an amount payable to a non-resident beneficiary of the trust but only actually pays or credits the amount in the beneficiary’s favour at some later time after the trust has ceased to be resident in Canada. In these circumstances, the amount will be deemed to have been paid or credited before the trust became non-resident.

Full explanatory notes are included with the draft legislation. Interested parties are invited to provide comments on the draft legislation by September 25, 2012 to ConsultationsSSWT-TARI@fin.gc.ca or:

SIFT and TCC Proposals
Tax Legislation Division - Tax Policy Branch
Department of Finance
140 O’Connor Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0G5

For further information, media may contact:

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

To receive e-mail notification of all news releases, please register.

Ottawa, le 25 juillet 2012
2012-082

Archivé - Le gouvernement Harper rend publiques des propositions législatives afin de renforcer l’équité fiscale pour les Canadiens

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Documents connexes :


Le ministère des Finances a rendu publiques aujourd’hui deux séries de propositions législatives qui visent à renforcer le régime fiscal canadien et à accroître l’équité fiscale.

La première série mettrait en œuvre les mesures annoncées le 20 juillet 2011 concernant le régime d’imposition des entités intermédiaires de placement déterminées, des fiducies de placement immobilier et des sociétés cotées en bourse.

Le ministère des Finances a également rendu publiques des propositions qui font suite à la décision de la Cour canadienne de l’impôt dans l’affaire Richard Lewin, concernant la première fiducie familiale de J. J. Herbert, c. La Reine, 2011 CCI 476. En l’absence des propositions annoncées aujourd’hui, la décision ferait en sorte qu’il soit plus difficile, dans les circonstances où une fiducie quitte le Canada, d’appliquer la règle sur la retenue d’impôt qui vise les paiements que les fiducies résidant au Canada font à des bénéficiaires non-résidents.

Les propositions portent sur le cas où une fiducie résidant au Canada fait en sorte qu’une somme soit payable à l’un de ses bénéficiaires non-résidents, mais ne verse ou ne crédite la somme en faveur du bénéficiaire qu’à une date ultérieure après avoir cessé de résider au Canada. Dans ces circonstances, la somme sera réputée avoir été payée ou créditée avant que la fiducie ne devienne un non-résident.

Les propositions s’accompagnent de notes explicatives. Les intéressés peuvent envoyer leurs commentaires sur les propositions législatives d’ici le 25 septembre 2012 à l’adresse ConsultationsSSWT-TARI@fin.gc.ca ou à l’adresse suivante :

Propositions sur les EIPD et la CCI
Division de la législation de l’impôt – Direction de la politique de l’impôt
Ministère des Finances
140, rue O’Connor
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0G5

Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Pour recevoir un courriel chaque fois qu'un communiqué est publié, inscrivez-vous.