Ottawa, June 22, 2012
2012-071

Archived - Minister of Finance Launches Consultations on Increasing Venture Capital in Canada

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Related Documents:


The Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, today launched consultations on increasing the availability of venture capital for high-growth businesses in Canada.

In Economic Action Plan 2012, the Harper Government announced that it would make available $400 million to help increase private sector investments in early-stage risk capital and to support the creation of large-scale venture capital funds led by the private sector. The Government is seeking to increase the capital and expertise available for growing, innovative firms while focusing resources on companies most likely to become global leaders.

“Our Government recognizes the crucial role played by private sector risk capital in driving business growth and innovation,” said Minister Flaherty. “These new resources will make it easier for entrepreneurs to access needed venture capital investments, helping high-growth firms develop and succeed.”

The Government has engaged Samuel L. Duboc, a successful entrepreneur and business investor, to serve as a special advisor on venture capital.

The consultations will seek input on the financing needs of high-growth firms in Canada, the factors that influence private sector participation in venture capital, and the role that governments can play in developing an environment that supports a sustainable private-sector-led venture capital market. Additional information can be found in the attached discussion paper.

Stakeholders who wish to provide input are invited to submit their comments to the following address or by e-mail to ConsultationsVentureCapital-CapitaldeRisque@fin.gc.ca. The closing date for comments is July 27, 2012.

Consultations on Support for Venture Capital
Economic Development and Corporate Finance
Department of Finance Canada
L’Esplanade Laurier
12th Floor, East Tower
140 O’Connor Street
Ottawa, Canada K1A 0G5
Facsimile: 613-943-5597

For further information, media may contact:

Mary Ann Dewey-Plante
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-996-8080

To receive e-mail notification of all news releases, please register.

Biographical Notes

Samuel L. Duboc

Mr. Samuel L. Duboc is a partner in the private equity firm EdgeStone Capital Partners, a company he founded in 1999. Prior to founding EdgeStone, he served as Managing Director and member of the Deals Review Committee at CIBC Capital Partners, the merchant banking division of CIBC. From 1991 to 1994, he co-founded and developed the Loyalty Group Inc. (Air Miles Reward Program), where he served as Chief Operating Officer. He is a former director of Alliance Films, BFI Canada, Richards Packaging, Trimaster Manufacturing and Solace Systems.

Mr. Samuel L. Duboc holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Chemical Engineering from Tufts University and an M.B.A. from Harvard Business School. In 2000, he was recognized as one of Canada's Top 40 Under 40 and named one of the “Most Influential” alumni of the program in 2005. He was nominated for the Ernst & Young Entrepreneur Of The Year Award in 2006 and 2007.

Mr. Samuel L. Duboc is Chairman of the Board of Pathways to Education Canada and a member of the Toronto City Summit Alliance Steering Committee.

Ottawa, le 22 juin 2012
2012-071

Archivé - Le ministre des Finances amorce des consultations sur l’accroissement du capital de risque au Canada

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Documents connexes :


L’honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances, a lancé aujourd’hui des consultations sur l’accroissement de l’offre de capital de risque pour les entreprises en forte croissance au Canada.

Dans le Plan d’action économique de 2012, le gouvernement Harper a annoncé un financement de 400 millions de dollars afin d’aider à accroître les investissements du secteur privé dans le capital de risque dans les entreprises en démarrage et pour appuyer la création de fonds de capital de risque de grande taille dirigés par le secteur privé. Le gouvernement cherche à augmenter le capital et l’expertise à la disposition des entreprises innovatrices et en expansion, tout en concentrant les ressources sur les sociétés les plus susceptibles de devenir des chefs de file mondiaux.

« Notre gouvernement est conscient du rôle essentiel que joue le capital de risque du secteur privé, par sa contribution à la croissance des entreprises et à l’innovation, a déclaré le ministre Flaherty. Ces nouvelles ressources aideront les entrepreneurs à obtenir les investissements de capital de risque dont ils ont besoin, ce qui contribuera à l’expansion et à la réussite des sociétés en forte croissance. »

Le gouvernement a retenu les services de Samuel L. Duboc, un entrepreneur et investisseur prospère, à titre de conseiller spécial en matière de capital de risque.

Les consultations viseront à recueillir des avis sur les besoins de financement des entreprises en forte croissance au Canada, les facteurs qui influencent la contribution du secteur privé au capital de risque, de même que le rôle que les gouvernements peuvent jouer pour établir un climat propice à l’établissement d’un marché de capital de risque viable dirigé par le secteur privé. Le document de discussion ci-joint fournit des précisions à ce sujet.

Les intervenants qui souhaitent fournir des commentaires sont priés de les faire parvenir à l’adresse suivante ou à l’adresse électronique ConsultationsVentureCapital-CapitaldeRisque@fin.gc.ca. La date limite pour l’envoi de commentaires est fixée au 27 juillet 2012.

Consultations sur l’appui au capital de risque
Direction du développement économique et des finances intégrées
Ministère des Finances du Canada
L’Esplanade Laurier
12e étage, tour Est
140, rue O’Connor
Ottawa, Canada  K1A 0G5
Télécopieur : 613-943-5597

Pour plus de renseignements, les médias peuvent communiquer avec :

Mary Ann Dewey-Plante
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-996-7861

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-996-8080

Pour recevoir un courriel chaque fois qu'un communiqué est publié, inscrivez-vous.

Notice biographique

Samuel L. Duboc

M. Samuel L. Duboc est un associé de la firme de capitaux privés EdgeStone Capital Partners, qu’il a fondée en 1999. Avant de fonder EdgeStone, il a été directeur général et membre du Comité d’examen des transactions de la division des Capitaux d’associés de la CIBC, relevant de la banque d’affaires de la CIBC. Entre 1991 et 1994, il a contribué à la fondation et à l’expansion de Loyalty Group Inc. (Programme de récompenses Air Miles), dont il a été chef de l’exploitation. Il a aussi été administrateur d’Alliance Films, de BFI Canada, de Richards Packaging, de Trimaster Manufacturing et de Solace Systems.

M. Samuel L. Duboc est titulaire d’un baccalauréat ès sciences (génie chimique) de Tufts University et d’une maîtrise en administration des affaires de la Harvard Business School. En 2000, il a été choisi parmi les 40 Canadiens les plus éminents de moins de 40 ans, et au nombre des diplômés les plus influents du programme en 2005. Il a été en nomination pour le prix d’entrepreneur de l’année d’Ernst & Young en 2006 et en 2007.

M. Samuel L. Duboc est président du conseil d’administration de Passeport pour ma réussite Canada et membre du comité directeur de la Toronto City Summit Alliance.