Washington, DC, April 21, 2012
2012-046

Archived - Statement Prepared for the Development Committee of the Boards of Governors of the World Bank and International Monetary Fund

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

The Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance for Canada, on behalf of Antigua and Barbuda, the Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Canada, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Ireland, Jamaica, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines

I want to begin by thanking President Robert Zoellick for his leadership of the World Bank Group over the past five years through what has proven to be a critical and challenging time in the global economy. During his tenure, the World Bank Group has been an important partner to all of its member countries, including our constituency, providing a critical multilateral channel to support the poor, boost growth and leverage the private sector. He and the Bank have been instrumental in helping middle- and low-income countries respond to and recover from the global financial crisis. President Zoellick has also strengthened the governance and legitimacy of the World Bank Group and enhanced its responsiveness and relevance to countries’ progress towards the achievement of the Millennium Development Goals.

Following Through on Recapitalization and Replenishment Commitments

Our constituency fully recognizes the challenges that remain in the fragile global recovery and commends the World Bank Group for its ongoing role in helping low- and middle-income countries develop the capacity to address these challenges in an efficient and flexible manner. Our commitment to support the World Bank Group remains strong. As part of our five-year recapitalization commitments, the first such recapitalization of the World Bank since 1988, members of our constituency have increased their investments in the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD) by $1 billion this year. Canada has accelerated nearly 60 per cent of its recapitalization, understanding that the Bank needs this support today. Furthermore, Canada, Ireland, the Bahamas and Barbados have also begun following through on commitments to the latest replenishment round of the World Bank’s International Development Association (IDA).

Strengthening Governance and Accountability

We commend the World Bank Group’s efforts to improve its capacity to measure, report on and learn from results. Accountability to stakeholders is essential. The Bank’s new Corporate Scorecard and IDA’s Results Measurement System, introduced last year, are critical components of this accountability. We will provide oversight and strategic guidance to ensure that targeted outputs and outcomes are being achieved. We encourage the process of continual improvement in order that lessons are being learned and best practices are shared.

The World Bank has made an important shift away from being solely an investment lending institution to actively taking on a global policy leadership role. The creation of linkages between individuals and groups working to address similar development challenges is welcomed. The Bank operates most effectively when it is able to disseminate its accumulated knowledge and make relevant connections on the ground between practitioners to ensure development solutions are tailored to local needs.

Key Objectives for the Coming Year

Our constituency will be signalling to President-Designate Jim Yong Kim a number of key issues that we view as being priorities for the Bank over the coming year.

Leveraging the Private Sector to Create Secure and Well-Paying Jobs

The private sector has become a dominant driver of international development through its central role in creating secure and well-paying jobs, increasing productivity and driving innovation. We want the World Bank Group to harness the private sector’s contribution to sustainable poverty reduction, which must involve close cooperation between the International Finance Corporation and IBRD/IDA to implement strategies that strengthen the environment for private sector investment. We look forward to the contribution that the next World Development Report, focused on jobs, will make towards this important goal.

Supporting the Deauville Partnership

The Arab Spring provides evidence of the importance of the creation of secure and well-paying jobs and finding ways to promote inclusive growth. The World Bank Group, together with other partner multilateral institutions, is making significant efforts to support the countries of the Deauville Partnership. In the coming year, we would encourage these institutions to continue working together to provide strong and coordinated support to countries in transition in the Middle East and North Africa. Similarly, we look forward to seeing the Bank’s new Global Center for Conflict, Security, and Development in Nairobi, Kenya, actively engage in mitigating and managing crises.

Laying the Groundwork for the IDA 17 Replenishment

By this time next year, we will once again be engaged in negotiations to replenish IDA. Given the importance of our replenishment contributions, we must begin now to lay the groundwork for a successful replenishment round in 2013. We will be working to identify structural and procedural best practices that can set the stage for success, and will also be working with the Bank to identify the substantive themes on which to focus discussions. A robust evaluation of IDA’s progress against the agreed-upon Results Measurement System will be a key element of this work.

Protecting the Most Vulnerable

Even as sustainable development can only occur through economic growth, it is important that the Bank continue to work with developing countries to ensure the most vulnerable are assisted both in times of crisis and on an ongoing basis. A prime example of the Bank’s ability to collect, produce and disseminate practical knowledge for development is its recent work in the area of social safety nets. This work convincingly shows that well-targeted and well-designed social safety nets can be both affordable and effective and should be a basic component of a government’s overall social protection programming and development strategy. This can be complemented by inclusive growth strategies which would facilitate a transition from social safety nets to jobs or entrepreneurship.

Safety nets are an important mechanism to improve food security and child nutrition in vulnerable communities. The World Bank Group has also played an important role in addressing food security through its leadership role on the Multilateral Development Bank Action Plan. We look forward to the continuing engagement of the Bank in contributing to innovative policy solutions in this critical area of vulnerability.

Beyond the fight against hunger and under-nutrition, safety nets can also make important contributions to climate adaptation, building climate resilience and women’s empowerment. Canada and Ireland have extensive experience with social safety nets in a number of African countries. On the ground we have greatly benefitted from our partnerships with the World Bank.

Building Resilience Within Small Island States

Small island states, including those in our constituency, face unique challenges. The majority of these Caribbean countries have attained middle-income status. However, their structural and geographic characteristics make them highly vulnerable to a number of macroeconomic shocks and natural disasters, which can severely constrain their ability to finance growth and development. The resulting effect is a vicious cycle of high debt, low growth and marginal developmental gains. These countries have been advocating for treatment that reflects these vulnerabilities, and we hope to continue to raise awareness on this issue going forward. The Bank’s work on disaster risk management and risk-pooling in the Caribbean, particularly through the Caribbean Catastrophe Risk Insurance Facility, should be applied to other disaster-prone areas.

Tackling Climate Change

Climate change is having a serious effect on developing countries, including the small island states in our constituency, putting at risk important gains in the fight against poverty, hunger and disease. Canada is increasing its contributions towards climate change activities as part of its $1.2-billion contribution towards supporting developing countries with their climate change mitigation and adaptation efforts under the 2009 Copenhagen Accord, including contributions to the Climate Investment Funds administered by IBRD.

The Smart Economics of Gender

The World Development Report 2012 (WDR 2012) focused on gender and the empowerment of women as an important element of development policy and “smart economics.” The momentum generated by WDR 2012 must be maintained and strengthened. Improving access, retention and completion rates for girls in education is critically important. Protecting women and girls from gender-based violence in all its forms, particularly in conflict and post-conflict societies, is a constant challenge. Establishing labour, property and business entitlements of women will raise growth, productivity and employment and reduce poverty. As implied in WDR 2012, the gender dimension must inform all World Bank activities and policies.

Continuing Support for the Bank’s Modernization Agenda

In a rapidly changing world, the Bank needs to pursue the modernization agenda agreed upon by Governors in 2010 to ensure it remains relevant and responsive to developing and transition countries. The World Bank needs to maintain the momentum in results and results measurement, transparency and openness. It also needs to maintain its strength as a centre of global development knowledge, recognizing that the Bank’s knowledge and expertise are often in as much demand from client states as its financial resources. We call on the Bank to continue to champion aid effectiveness, transparency and accountability, in line with the Busan Partnership for Effective Development Cooperation.

Welcoming President-Designate Jim Yong Kim

On behalf of our constituency, I would like to congratulate President-Designate Jim Yong Kim as the World Bank Group’s new President effective July 1, 2012. Mr. Kim is a noted physician and global health professional who has proven himself to be a capable leader in the not-for-profit and international public sectors and academia, devoting his career to championing the cause of global health. His experience as co-founder of the Global Health Delivery Project, the purpose of which is to systematically gather and analyze health-related knowledge and disseminate this knowledge to practitioners around the world, will no doubt provide the Bank with valuable insights as it continues its transformation into a knowledge institution. Mr. Kim’s record of achievement will serve the Bank and its clients well.

This is an important time of transition for the World Bank Group and its incoming President. The members of our constituency will fully support President-Designate Kim in order that together we meet with success as we continue to navigate the development challenges ahead.

Washington, le 21 avril 2012
2012-046

Archivé - Déclaration préparée à l’intention du Comité du développement des conseils des gouverneurs de la Banque mondiale et du Fonds monétaire international

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

L’honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances du Canada pour le compte d’Antigua-et-Barbuda, des Bahamas, de la Barbade, du Belize, du Canada, de la Dominique, de la Grenade, du Guyana, de l’Irlande, de la Jamaïque, de Saint-Kitts-et-Nevis, de Sainte-Lucie et de Saint-Vincent-et-les-Grenadines.

Je veux d’abord remercier le président, M. Robert Zoellick, d’avoir dirigé le Groupe de la Banque mondiale au cours des cinq dernières années, période qui a été névralgique et éprouvante pour l’économie mondiale. Au cours de son mandat, le Groupe de la Banque mondiale a été un partenaire clé de chacun de ses pays membres, y compris ceux que je représente, en mettant en place un mécanisme multilatéral essentiel pour venir en aide aux pauvres, stimuler la croissance et mobiliser le secteur privé. De concert avec la Banque, il a joué un rôle de premier plan afin d’aider les pays à revenu moyen et faible à réagir à la crise financière mondiale et à s’en remettre. Le président Zoellick a également renforcé la gouvernance et la légitimité du Groupe de la Banque mondiale, de même que la capacité d’adaptation et la pertinence de celle-ci relativement à la réalisation des Objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement par les pays membres.

Mener à terme les engagements de recapitalisation et de reconstitution des ressources

Les pays que je représente sont pleinement conscients des défis qui continuent de peser sur la fragile reprise de l’économie mondiale, et nous remercions le Groupe de la Banque mondiale de continuer d’aider les pays à revenu faible et moyen à développer la capacité de relever ces défis de manière efficiente et souple. Notre engagement de soutenir le Groupe de la Banque mondiale demeure ferme. Dans le cadre de nos engagements de recapitalisation sur cinq ans, le premier exercice semblable de recapitalisation de la Banque depuis 1988, les pays que je représente ont investi près de 1 milliard de dollars de plus cette année dans la Banque internationale pour la reconstruction et le développement (BIRD). Le Canada a devancé près de 60 % de sa contribution à la recapitalisation puisque la Banque a besoin de ce soutien dès aujourd’hui. De plus, le Canada, l’Irlande, les Bahamas et la Barbade ont aussi commencé à donner suite à leur engagement au titre de la plus récente reconstitution des ressources de l’Association internationale de développement (IDA) de la Banque mondiale.

Renforcer la gouvernance et la reddition de comptes

Nous félicitons le Groupe de la Banque mondiale pour ses efforts en vue d’accroître sa capacité de mesurer les résultats, d’en rendre compte et d’en tirer des enseignements. La responsabilisation envers les parties prenantes est essentielle. La nouvelle fiche de rendement institutionnel de la Banque et le système de mesure des résultats de l’IDA, mis en place l’an dernier, sont des rouages clés de cette responsabilisation. Nous assurerons une supervision et nous fournirons des conseils stratégiques pour garantir la production des extrants et des résultats souhaités. Nous encourageons le processus d’amélioration continue afin que des enseignements soient tirés et que les pratiques exemplaires soient mises en commun.

La Banque mondiale a opéré un important changement de cap, cessant d’être uniquement une institution de financement des investissements pour faire activement preuve de leadership au chapitre des politiques d’envergure mondiale. Il est heureux que des liens se créent entre les particuliers et les groupes qui s’efforcent de régler des problèmes de développement similaires. La Banque a une efficacité optimale lorsqu’elle peut diffuser le savoir qu’elle a accumulé et établir des liens pertinents sur le terrain entre les praticiens, de manière à ce que les solutions de développement soient adaptées aux besoins locaux que la 

Principaux objectifs de la prochaine année

Les pays que je représente attireront l’attention du président désigné, M. Kim, sur un certain nombre de questions importantes que la Banque devrait, à notre avis, considérer comme des priorités au cours de la prochaine année. 

Mobiliser le secteur privé afin de créer des emplois durables et bien rémunérés

Le secteur privé est devenu un rouage important du développement international de par son rôle de premier plan dans la création d’emplois durables et bien rémunérés, l’accroissement de la productivité et la propulsion de l’innovation. Nous voulons que le Groupe de la Banque mondiale tire parti de la contribution du secteur privé au soulagement viable de la pauvreté, qui doit faire appel à une étroite collaboration entre la Société financière internationale, la BIRD et l’IDA afin d’exécuter des stratégies qui améliorent le climat d’investissement du secteur privé. Nous misons sur la contribution à cet objectif primordial que fera le prochain Rapport sur le développement dans le monde, lequel sera axé sur l’emploi.

Appuyer le partenariat de Deauville

Le Printemps arabe traduit l’importance de créer des emplois durables et bien rémunérés et de trouver des façons de promouvoir une croissance inclusive. De concert avec d’autres institutions multilatérales partenaires, le Groupe de la Banque mondiale déploie des efforts significatifs pour aider les pays du partenariat de Deauville. Au cours de la prochaine année, nous encouragerons ces institutions à continuer de travailler ensemble pour assurer un soutien ferme et coordonné aux pays en transition du Moyen-Orient et d’Afrique du Nord. Nous comptons également voir le nouveau centre d’excellence sur les conflits, la sécurité et le développement que la Banque a établi à Nairobi, au Kenya, participer activement à l’atténuation et à la gestion des crises.

Jeter les bases de la Dix-septième reconstitution des ressources de l’IDA

À pareille date l’an prochain, nous serons à nouveau en train de négocier la reconstitution des ressources de l’IDA. Vu l’ampleur de nos contributions à cet exercice, nous devons commencer dès maintenant à préparer le succès de la ronde de reconstitution qui se déroulera en 2013. Nous travaillerons en vue de recenser les pratiques structurelles et procédurales exemplaires qui assureront le succès de nos efforts, et nous collaborerons avec la Banque afin de cerner les questions de fond sur lesquelles devraient porter nos discussions. Une évaluation solide des progrès de l’IDA à la lumière du système de mesure des résultats dont il a été convenu pourra jouer un rôle clé à cet égard.

Protéger les plus vulnérables

Même si le développement durable passe nécessairement par la croissance économique, il importe que la Banque continue de travailler avec les pays en développement pour veiller à ce que les plus vulnérables bénéficient d’un soutien, en temps de crise comme de façon continue. Les récents travaux dans le domaine des filets de sécurité sociale illustrent clairement la capacité de la Banque de recueillir, de produire et de disséminer des connaissances concrètes sur le développement. Ces travaux démontrent clairement que des filets de sécurité sociale bien conçus et bien ciblés peuvent être abordables et efficaces, et qu’ils devraient être un élément clé de l’ensemble des programmes de protection sociale et de la stratégie de développement des gouvernements. À cela peuvent s’ajouter des stratégies de croissance inclusives qui faciliteraient la transition des filets de sécurité sociale à l’emploi ou à l’entrepreneuriat.

Les filets de sécurité sont d’importants mécanismes pour accroître la sécurité alimentaire et la nutrition des enfants dans les collectivités vulnérables. Le Groupe de la Banque mondiale a aussi joué un rôle notable pour assurer la sécurité alimentaire par l’entremise de son leadership à l’égard du plan d’action des banques multilatérales de développement. Nous comptons sur l’engagement soutenu de la Banque de contribuer à des mesures stratégiques innovatrices à l’égard de cette source critique de vulnérabilité.

Outre la place qu’ils occupent dans la lutte contre la faim et la sous-alimentation, les filets de sécurité peuvent aussi contribuer de façon importante à l’adaptation aux changements climatiques, au renforcement de la résilience face aux changements climatiques et à l’habilitation des femmes. Le Canada et l’Irlande ont une vaste expérience des filets de sécurité sociale dans un certain nombre de pays d’Afrique. Sur le terrain, nous avons grandement bénéficié de notre partenariat avec la Banque mondiale.

Bâtir la résilience des petits États insulaires

Les petits États insulaires, y compris ceux que nous représentons, sont aux prises avec des défis particuliers. La plupart de ces pays des Caraïbes ont maintenant le statut de pays à revenu moyen. Par contre, leurs caractéristiques structurelles et géographiques font qu’ils sont très vulnérables à un certain nombre de chocs macroéconomiques et de désastres naturels qui peuvent nettement miner leur capacité de financer la croissance et le développement. Il en résulte un cercle vicieux de lourd endettement, de faible croissance et de progression marginale du développement. Ces pays réclament un traitement qui tient compte de ces vulnérabilités, et nous espérons pouvoir continuer d’attirer l’attention sur cette question. Les travaux de la Banque au chapitre de la gestion des risques liés aux désastres et de la mise en commun des risques dans les Caraïbes, plus particulièrement grâce au Mécanisme d’assurance contre les risques de catastrophe dans les Caraïbes, devraient être étendus à d’autres secteurs sujets aux désastres.

Lutter contre les changements climatiques

Les changements climatiques ont un impact marqué sur les pays en développement, y compris sur les petits États insulaires que nous représentons; ils mettent en péril les progrès importants accomplis dans la lutte contre la pauvreté, la faim et la maladie. Le Canada accroît sa participation aux activités axées sur les changements climatiques dans le cadre de sa contribution de 1,2 milliard de dollars pour aider les pays en développement à atténuer les changements climatiques et à s’y adapter aux termes de l’Accord de Copenhague de 2009, notamment en contribuant aux Fonds d’investissements climatiques qu’administre la BIRD.

L’égalité entre les sexes, une bonne mesure économique

Le Rapport sur le développement dans le monde 2012 porte sur l’égalité entre les sexes et l’habilitation des femmes comme important élément de la politique de développement et à titre de bonne mesure économique. L’élan engendré par le Rapport doit être soutenu et renforcé. Il est primordial d’améliorer les taux d’amorce, de poursuite et d’achèvement des études chez les filles. La protection des femmes et des filles contre la violence à leur endroit sous toutes ses formes, mais plus particulièrement dans les sociétés touchées par un conflit ou qui émergent d’un conflit, demeure un défi de tous les instants. L’attribution aux femmes de droits liés au travail, à la propriété et à l’exploitation d’une entreprise stimulera la croissance, la productivité et l’emploi, en plus de réduire la pauvreté. Comme le laisse entendre le Rapport, la question de l’égalité entre les sexes doit guider toutes les activités et les politiques de la Banque.

Continuer d’appuyer le programme de modernisation de la Banque

Dans ce monde en rapide évolution, la Banque doit poursuivre le programme de modernisation adopté par les gouverneurs en 2010 afin de demeurer pertinente et sensible aux besoins des pays en développement et en transition. La Banque mondiale doit soutenir l’élan au chapitre des résultats et de leur mesure, ainsi que de la transparence et de l’ouverture. Elle doit aussi conserver sa force à titre de centre de savoir sur le développement dans le monde, sachant que les États clients font autant appel à son savoir et à son expertise qu’à ses ressources financières. Nous invitons la Banque à continuer de promouvoir l’efficacité, la transparence et la responsabilisation de l’aide, conformément au Partenariat de Busan pour une coopération efficace au service du développement.

Accueil du président désigné, M Jim Yong Kim

Au nom des pays que nous représentons, je tiens à féliciter le président désigné, M. Jim Yong Kim, qui deviendra le nouveau président du Groupe de la Banque mondiale le 1er juillet 2012. M. Kim est un médecin éminent et un spécialiste de la santé dans le monde qui a fait la preuve de ses compétences de dirigeant dans les secteurs des organismes à but non lucratif et de l’administration publique internationale, de même que dans le milieu universitaire; il a consacré sa carrière à la promotion de la santé dans le monde. Son expérience à titre de cofondateur du Global Health Delivery Project, qui vise à recueillir, à analyser et à diffuser systématiquement des connaissances en santé aux praticiens du monde entier, fournira sûrement à la Banque un précieux soutien à la Banque en marge de sa transformation en une institution du savoir. La Banque et ses clients profiteront des réalisations de M. Kim.

Le Groupe de la Banque mondiale et son nouveau président traversent une importante période de transition. Les pays que nous représentons accoreront leur plein appui à M. Kim pour qu’ensemble, nous puissions continuer de relever avec succès les défis qui nous attendent en matière de développement.